Ma Chi speed

Mllcg

well........we will never know if it is the witness faking amnesia or the inquiry board by design omit testimony of the witness.

but i do say i smell a rat that they announce there were traces of medicine in his blood stream. i think many of us would have driven while under medication and still drive perfectly ok. if he is really not well, why would he tell his wife he is going out to spin in his car at such unearthly hour and then pick up a ktv gal to send her home?

If one indeed dozes off under the influence of drugs, he would have eased the pressure on the accelerator. As such speeds, engine brake would kick in and slow the car down, but instead he accelerated. Therefore, he is definitely not knocked out by the medicine.

Trying taking the toy off a sleeping child that he was holding tightly and see how easy he lets go.

On the acceleration before the collision, another possibility is the girl cheer him on to beat the red lights.

well........we will never know if it is the witness faking amnesia or the inquiry board by design omit testimony of the witness.

but i do say i smell a rat that they announce there were traces of medicine in his blood stream. i think many of us would have driven while under medication and still drive perfectly ok. if he is really not well, why would he tell his wife he is going out to spin in his car at such unearthly hour and then pick up a ktv gal to send her home?

This case looks fishy but we hv to wait till over. Ins co is also very strong hor. Ty wil dig n dig unless got private settlement fm ma chi estate then ty dun lose money ty might let go.

His father is big shot in china hor. Dunno how far his connections go in china n sg.

I think that would depend on the nature of the medicine. Driving under influence of drugs carried same penalty as drink driving, as stated in the basic theory book. This applies to both illegal drugs and medication (which is why medication that causes drowsiness carries a warning label). Like i stated earlier in the thread, would be interesting to know what type of the medication he had in his system, whether got drowsy or non-drowsy formula and whether the quantity is considered sufficient to impare his ability to drive. But i doubt that angle will be scrutinized unless AXA's lawyers push it, or maybe they are consulting with doctors on it now that the information is available. He's already dead so TP not gonna charge him with anything.

We also do not know how stringent TP is about this type of enforcement, although i do believe there are previous cases where accidents have occured and it was then discovered the driver was under medication. Don't talk about those take drug and kena caught, i'm sure there are lots of those.

Wonder how this guy got his license (and approved by Singapore)...maybe TP should update the video with the crash of this bloody Ferrari.

The more I see this guy, the more I feel angry about the poor taxi driver, and his family whom he left behind (that had to suffer)

Then must get 007 device which will self-destruct in 10 seconds when activated by front passenger airbag. [laugh]

:) Or have a remote placed on your wrist for you to activate to wipe memory in the event it is required.

Yeah - I think most would agree that what Ma Chi did is tantamount to deliberately causing an accident by ramming someone.

What I am most scared of though, if this case succeeds, then where will the boundary lie between "accident" and "collision"?

At 100km over the limit?

At 50?

Or maybe it will go by visibility?

Basically the slippery slope argument.

For the average careful driver, should not have to worry. Just obey traffic rules and one should be fine. Don't have to be worried about not being covered.

Edited by Pangarans

why is it that until now they never ask that girl what really happened!

his passenger! :blink:

although the case is closed, but I feel that girl needs to let the public know what really happened. [knife]

What information do you need from her that will help the case? How will it help Ma Chi family or the public in general?

Yes, maybe they can dig some 'interesting' information, but its such things are secondary & good for media like Manchester Times.

The speed is in excess of 150 on a city road, & video evidence shows the lights can be seen for about 2 sec, & he is not slowing down by any means.

If this information is not enough to end the conclusion if he is a fault, then our court can close shop liao.

Regarding the medication he had in his system, i wonder if it's the "cause drowsiness" type. Quick research indicates that drowsiness is one of the side effects but sometimes there are drowsy and non-drowsy formulas. From what i know, the penalties whilst driving under the influence of drugs (both illegal and medical) are the same as drink driving if you get involved in an accident. Although in this case everyone's focusing on the speed thing and the medication is just getting a cursory mention.

This is a very good observation! From what I know, the doctors or nurses would most probably warn their patients not to drive after consuming drowsy medicine when they prescribe it.

I don't condone this act of blatant speeding, but as far as physics go, if the Ferrari was travelling over 200kph he might have cleared the junction without hitting anything.

Ma was probably thinking the same thing after he crossed the Bugis light at 168kph...

He lost that bet at the next junction.

Not smart. [thumbsdown]

today newspaper got say the transmission was in [knife]RACE MODE [knife]

mcb family not present [thumbsdown] , poor teksi lau wife broke down and cried!!!! [furious]

A pretty girl in car and you expect it in "FAMILY" mode?? [blush]