13177 Hypersonic December 18, 2016 Share December 18, 2016 no lah, basically just the 250km per day thingy. and you take taxi at midnight why ? Uber made them rethink. Right or wrong, dunno. Just see how things play out. Actually not sure whether the 250km thingy was effective in the first place in meeting public transportation needs. The 250km thingy indeed quite effective, cause nowadays i see so many empty taxi on the road. And it seems quite easy to hail a taxi along the road. Think it is the effect from uber/grab lo. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 18, 2016 Share December 18, 2016 With so many rules and ever changing rules not only frustrates our overworked taxi drivers but also passengers. Eg when I take a taxi ride I truly don't know if I had been taken for a ride with so many level of surcharges. It seems a real problem or habit for authorities to implement something then quickly change. They don't realize that they are playing with people's lives. Even then with so many rules and added new rules, the problem still exist. The need for taxi services steps from the following: 1. genuine need like transporting emergency use, elderly, physically challenged individuals 2. Inadequate public transport service including buses and mrt which does not connect well 3. Operating hours of our public transport, people working in service industry have grave yard shift and not every body can afford their own BMW 5 series to collect bodies. 4. Others finding owning a private car just too expensive and need to rely on taxi 5. Some just adhoc use I cannot understand why authorities keep imposing financial penalties to solve our transport problem such as satellite ERP soon. These systems cost billions to install and maintain. Why don't they use these money to invest in a good comprehensive net work of our public transport system. I truly wondered what is the impetus to spend a one off major upgrade to our public transport system so the citizens would or will use them on a daily basis for almost everything. Thus making it a second nature. If you think about the amount of money spend on our new express highway (servicing just how many % of our population which cost billions), electricity cost of our garden by the Bay (tens of millions) and military spending etc. Personally I believe an efficiency public transportation system in any city is important because it is the life line for everything that goes on in the city. Nowadays our breed a bunch of elite who lose touch with what's happening on the ground. I had gave up on relying on them. I solve my own problem. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged December 18, 2016 Share December 18, 2016 With so many rules and ever changing rules not only frustrates our overworked taxi drivers but also passengers. Eg when I take a taxi ride I truly don't know if I had been taken for a ride with so many level of surcharges. It seems a real problem or habit for authorities to implement something then quickly change. They don't realize that they are playing with people's lives. Even then with so many rules and added new rules, the problem still exist. The need for taxi services steps from the following: 1. genuine need like transporting emergency use, elderly, physically challenged individuals 2. Inadequate public transport service including buses and mrt which does not connect well 3. Operating hours of our public transport, people working in service industry have grave yard shift and not every body can afford their own BMW 5 series to collect bodies. 4. Others finding owning a private car just too expensive and need to rely on taxi 5. Some just adhoc use I cannot understand why authorities keep imposing financial penalties to solve our transport problem such as satellite ERP soon. These systems cost billions to install and maintain. Why don't they use these money to invest in a good comprehensive net work of our public transport system. I truly wondered what is the impetus to spend a one off major upgrade to our public transport system so the citizens would or will use them on a daily basis for almost everything. Thus making it a second nature. If you think about the amount of money spend on our new express highway (servicing just how many % of our population which cost billions), electricity cost of our garden by the Bay (tens of millions) and military spending etc. Personally I believe an efficiency public transportation system in any city is important because it is the life line for everything that goes on in the city. Agree 100% Nowadays our breed a bunch of elite who lose touch with what's happening on the ground. I had gave up on relying on them. I solve my own problem. Problem is they don't solve problems but they give us even more problems. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 18, 2016 Share December 18, 2016 Agree 100% Problem is they don't solve problems but they give us even more problems. They only know how to create problems? Lol. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic December 18, 2016 Share December 18, 2016 250km is seriously easy to reach. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic December 20, 2016 Share December 20, 2016 (edited) My layman brain is thinking - WTF is this ministar saying? Got use brain to think or not ? Simply removing these 2 conditions reduce cost ???? SIMI cost ? Even have, will be minimal. Every taxi hirer gets 10cents rebate siboh ? "More importantly, perhaps the taxi companies, without (some of the requirements under the) regulatory framework, can pass on some of their reduced costs to the taxi drivers to ease their burden," said Mr Ng, who is also the Minister for Education (Schools). Edited December 20, 2016 by Othello 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 20, 2016 Share December 20, 2016 My layman brain is thinking - WTF is this ministar saying? Got use brain to think or not ? Simply removing these 2 conditions reduce cost ???? SIMI cost ? Even have, will be minimal. Every taxi hirer gets 10cents rebate siboh ? "More importantly, perhaps the taxi companies, without (some of the requirements under the) regulatory framework, can pass on some of their reduced costs to the taxi drivers to ease their burden," said Mr Ng, who is also the Minister for Education (Schools). Wait long long 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged December 28, 2016 Share December 28, 2016 https://youtu.be/OzTQ1mHF5l0 Taxi rental slashed. Taxi companies buay tahan liao with so many empty taxis lying around collecting dust. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 29, 2016 Share December 29, 2016 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 29, 2016 Share December 29, 2016 lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic December 29, 2016 Share December 29, 2016 Uber steady poon pi pi ... all car owners should turn uber the we have 600k more taxi on the road must teach the greedy taxi companies a lesson 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic December 29, 2016 Share December 29, 2016 Finally. These taxi companies have been so well protected by the government.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged December 29, 2016 Share December 29, 2016 waiting for price war... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 29, 2016 Share December 29, 2016 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 29, 2016 Share December 29, 2016 Finally. These taxi companies have been so well protected by the government.... But funny is why govt dont ban uber/grab here if it affected taxi companies so much? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 29, 2016 Share December 29, 2016 But funny is why govt dont ban uber/grab here if it affected taxi companies so much? cos gahmen has a vested interest too, in providing ammo to uber/grab, COE, petrol, taxes etc etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 29, 2016 Share December 29, 2016 (edited) If and only if the public transport is really world class and not world crass. For a country with heavy punitive measures against car ownership and usage, in relative terms, little is done to public transport. But funny is why govt dont ban uber/grab here if it affected taxi companies so much? Edited December 29, 2016 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear December 29, 2016 Share December 29, 2016 If and only if the public transport is really world class and not world crass. For a country with heavy punitive measures against car ownership and usage, in relative terms, little is done to public transport. ....I have mentioned before if they are seriously thinking of solving the traffic conggestion...they can reduce the numbers of vehicles to 600-700k in this island..confirm we will have alot less traffic jam. But then again, miw is a always thinkg of squeezing more $$ from the peasant.....Sighhh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...