COE solutions??

Wind30

bro mustard, this morning i take cab to town instead of driving, wah i enjoy chantting with the carb driver and so relax, reached destination so fresh. price ? only $10.90 niah, i gave $12 and asked him to keep the change. Really make me consider switching to public transport.

when i started working, i supported my younger brother who was still in uni as our parents are poor [grouphug] , i wear long sleeves ride one lao pork bicycle to mrt to save time and marnie (as compared to feeder bus), 2 ah lians laughed at me [:(] , but i beh kiah pai seh [sunny]

i take bus/train/walk 10 min to my office, i do it on alternate day and i would like to do it more often.

ok i dun have to ferry kids to school or rushing to meet clients, or have a quickie with mistress, so i can afford to do so :D

you stay bukit merah, work shenton way issit :D

i take bus/train/walk 10 min to my office, i do it on alternate day and i would like to do it more often.

ok i dun have to ferry kids to school or rushing to meet clients, or have a quickie with mistress, so i can afford to do so :D

wow thats good exercise. for me have to ferry kid and also if i brisk walk to office takes 15 to 20 minutes. you dont have mistress anyway so thats out of the question. [laugh]

when i started working, i supported my younger brother who was still in uni as our parents are poor [grouphug] , i wear long sleeves ride one lao pork bicycle to mrt to save time and marnie (as compared to feeder bus), 2 ah lians laughed at me [:(] , but i beh kiah pai seh [sunny]

you have my deep respect. what is there to laugh at ? only superficial people do that.

LTA has announced a year back that they have tweaked their formula for determining the number of COE available for bidding to reduce large fluctuations in COE numbers.

In recent months, Liu Tuck Yew gave hint that LTA may implement some kind of buffer system to moderately the bumper crop of COE deregistration in 2015-2019 so that the prices do not crash and that in the years after 2019, COE prices will not see the same rise as what we see today.

You have ideas why not feedback to LTA? As far my logical mind can deduce, pegging COE to an individual doesn't help with price fluctuation.

You mention that you have a car that comes with a $10k COE, is this the reason why you are proposing COE rebate be peg to current COE level? Why should a small segment of car owners benefit from the current high COE level? It is not right for the government to rebate on taxes (COE) more than what was paid for in the first place.

If your intention of the original post if to moderate COE price fluctuation, rest assure that LTA has a new formula that will do just that. The bad news is that prices may not move more than 50% from current price levels therefore the era of $2 or even $10,000 COE may never return.

Uncle my COE bought 5 years ago cost around $10k. I am not talking about month to month fluctuations. I am talking about 2-3 YEARS of boom followed by a few years of famine.

As I said, now price does not go low because there is no COEs expiring in 2012 and 2013.... That is the freaking problem with the COE system. The supply is all over the shop. Some years like now has close zero supply.

Mark my words, the COE prices WILL drop in late 2015 because that marks the start of the cheap COE years.

There is like 5500 COEs every bidding during that time. Now there is 1000 COEs every bidding. Out of these 5500 car owners, how many of them can afford to renew COE at 80k? Half of them? If half of them drop out, it will more than triple the number of COE available for bidding.

Frankly all these does not involve me personally as my COE still got 5 more years and I am 100% sure COE will drop in 2015 if LTA does not change policy.

There is still the used car market. You should be able to find a car that meet your needs. Not many current car owners are able to walk away from the convenience of having a private car.

I tried it for 3 days (bus, MRT, walk) and on the 4th day, I went straight to a used car dealer, paid for the car in cash and drove away. That is how world class our public transport system is or how world classly pampered I am.

your experience is most fretting. :huh:

What's wrong with riding a bicycle? I don't just ride to the MRT station, I ride to my destination. After having had enough with the "world class" transportation system in Singapore. But that was like more than 10 years back, I was younger and fitter then and I do not mind arriving in sweaty T-shirts.

I am contemplating riding the bicycle to work which is a good 25km away from home but the problem is the lack of shower faciilities at work. I have to be considerate to my co-workers and not have them endure my BO all day..

you have my deep respect. what is there to laugh at ? only superficial people do that.

Edited by Civicblade

no need respect, if i got marnie, i buy biggest suv show off, but since i no marnie, i LLST, facts of life [laugh]

one life only, see open a bit! ha ha ha :D

that is the problem. a lot of people are expecting that rights to a more high standard of living be extended to people all walks of life and they expect govt to deliver such rights to them.

while kid having a family car to grow up with is good for kids development, it is not a basic need that oughts to be extended to all family with kids.

most of us grew up without a car in the family. even for current generation, only the luckier ones are born in a family able to afford a family car.

we are all just too pampered now

i am pretty sure, you are laughing at them now

bro mustard, this morning i take cab to town instead of driving, wah i enjoy chantting with the carb driver and so relax, reached destination so fresh. price ? only $10.90 niah, i gave $12 and asked him to keep the change. Really make me consider switching to public transport.

don't spoil market hor

and you call mustank a mustard [laugh][laugh]

Edited by Galantspeedz

What's wrong with riding a bicycle? I don't just ride to the MRT station, I ride to my destination. After having had enough with the "world class" transportation system in Singapore. But that was like more than 10 years back, I was younger and fitter then and I do not mind arriving in sweaty T-shirts.

I am contemplating riding the bicycle to work which is a good 25km away from home but the problem is the lack of shower faciilities at work. I have to be considerate to my co-workers and not have them endure my BO all day..

if there is a safe way to ride bicyle from woodlands to shenton way, i jit tao buy motorised bicycle :D[sly][sly][sly][sly]

TP catching liao hor.... i saw quite a few kena at geylang

As long as inspection centre seal, no issue lah. Those kena caught in Geylang are illegal one (faster than 20km/h & no inspection centre seal).

i am pretty sure, you are laughing at them now

ai yah maybe they doing better than me [:p] laugh here laugh there, no point lah, at the end of the day, we all just mere frial humans, all still suffer the same fate, at the end of the day, we still [grouphug] each other and [bigcry]

Edited by Mustank

the main problem is that the COE prices fluctuates way too much. The market for COE is not implemented correctly. High prices reduces demand and reduces supply which is wrong. In such a scenario, COE prices tend to shoot up too fast.

I am looking for a COE price with less fluctuations throughout the years, not necessarily a cheaper COE. I think EVERYONE can agree that it is stupid and wrong to have a few years of $10k COE and a few years of $80k COE.

Are you comfortable with economics?

COE supply is fixed, regardless of the price. In a demand supply curve, the supply curve would be vertical. The wild swings in prices can thus be explained by the following changes in the demand curve:

1. Shifting of the demand curve to the right - This is probably due to general increases in income, increase in prices of alternative modes of transport, increase number of people who want to own cars, ease of obtaining loans, expectations that car prices will go up.

2. Increased elasticity of demand curve - This is probably due to more less well off people wanting a car. As the COE price would form a large part of their income/budget, the demand curve for them is more steep.

The solution to high COE prices is in fixing the above changes.