Darryn Turbocharged December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 Actually, the COE premium is quite stable now. It shows continuous steady uptrend; there is no topsy-turvy (did we see half year ago, the COE was $15K, now is $80K, nor did we see month-to-month roller coaster ride - NO right???) To have a stagnant COE premium throughout all the years show something is wrong too! If you want cheap COE (read not necessary cheap car price), prepare to camp out. The situation now is, the uptrend is like slowly boiling a frog in a pot of water. What was the price at the start of the year compared to the price now? What was the price 3 months ago compared to now? Its pretty damn topsy turvy when you look at these sort of changes in such a short time-span. I have owned for 6.5 years, my COE was $10k, now it is going for about $95k - thats pretty volatile, even over a 6 year time frame. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 What was the price at the start of the year compared to the price now? What was the price 3 months ago compared to now? Its pretty damn topsy turvy when you look at these sort of changes in such a short time-span. I have owned for 6.5 years, my COE was $10k, now it is going for about $95k - thats pretty volatile, even over a 6 year time frame. Yes, it did raised, by substantial amount, but it's not roller coaster. Rather, it's a continuous uptrend. The hint given and amount of COE released is a good indication of things to come. Problem is, too many people are waiting for it to crash (which did not happen, and obviously will not happen). So, the disappointment and frustrations now! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyhawk 1st Gear December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 this really gets my goat. giving priority to families to own a car only helps those who want to buy a car. the very low income, who (imo) require more help in many other areas, dont benefit at all besides, it almost encourages small families to buy a car, even if they didnt want or can ill-afford one. i'd much prefer the govt GIVING families $$, in the form of more baby bonus or the like. that way, families can prioritize on what they want to spend on. A car should hardly be a priority. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 this really gets my goat. giving priority to families to own a car only helps those who want to buy a car. the very low income, who (imo) require more help in many other areas, dont benefit at all besides, it almost encourages small families to buy a car, even if they didnt want or can ill-afford one. i'd much prefer the govt GIVING families $$, in the form of more baby bonus or the like. that way, families can prioritize on what they want to spend on. A car should hardly be a priority. In the first place why is COE a national issue? Car is not a necessity in my opinion...but many r addicted to it and want cheap COE... I agree more money should go into subsidies instead... LTA can collect more monies from COEs and they shld channel more budget into healthcare and help the less fortunate families... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiario 5th Gear December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 In the first place why is COE a national issue? Car is not a necessity in my opinion...but many r addicted to it and want cheap COE... I agree more money should go into subsidies instead... LTA can collect more monies from COEs and they shld channel more budget into healthcare and help the less fortunate families... that will never happen Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyhawk 1st Gear December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 What was the price at the start of the year compared to the price now? What was the price 3 months ago compared to now? Its pretty damn topsy turvy when you look at these sort of changes in such a short time-span. I have owned for 6.5 years, my COE was $10k, now it is going for about $95k - thats pretty volatile, even over a 6 year time frame. i remember vaguely that it was around 2003-4 when LHL loosened the vehicle growth rate. this led to the subsequent dive in COE prices. fortunately, they soon realised that the growth rate wasnt sustainable, and was leading to overcrowding, which prompted the about turn in policy. frankly, from the governments perspective, the issues were self-inflicted. but at least they have have the balls to do whats right today. Or do they? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 Another one who thinks that COE is an entitlement....WTF!!! Take taxi lah...knn dun understand these ppl....really. Families, first-timers should have a chance to own a car at reasonable prices I HOPE the Government conducts a major review and overhaul of the certificate of entitlement (COE) system as soon as possible. The current COE prices have skyrocketed to a preposterous level that is beyond the reach of an average family with young children ("Car buyers want COE system reviewed"; Tuesday). In 2010, I had to quit my job due to complications related to my pregnancy, so my husband and I did not buy a car then as we were a single-income family, with a baby on the way. Two years down the road, we still do not own a car. My primary mode of transport is the MRT, where I face difficulty in pushing my pram into the trains. Now that I am pregnant with my second child and am in my third trimester, owning a car is really a need. I can no longer carry my toddler, should I need to take the bus instead of the train, and waiting for a cab can be a nightmare. But with the high COE prices and no indication that they would ever come down to a reasonable level, it seems that owning a car has become a far-fetched dream for my family. I cannot imagine how I will be able to take a newborn and a toddler out while taking public transport. Our visits to grandparents will not be as frequent, as it is almost impossible for me to take public transport with two young children. Being able to own a car also means that my spouse can cut down on travelling time and most likely reach home earlier to spend more time with the two children, freeing up much needed time for me to catch a breather or to spend more time together as a family. I feel that the Government should, in looking at the COE system, review how it would affect families, rather than just trying to curb the number of cars on the road. Perhaps a ballot system for first-timers or families with young children can be introduced, under which families get a chance to own a car at a reasonable and affordable price. Ong Shi Yee (Ms) yah man. they think what, getting car is like getting hdb flat! ballor is an inferior solution compared to closed bidding pay as you bid coe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 No! the problem with COE is that there is still too many cars on the road. either COE continues to increase till majority cannot afford or slowly abolish it while introducing usage based system what you want is affordability which is counter to what COE is supposed to do, which is to make a car less affordable But using low affordability is not the best way seal with limiting vehicle population. This is having an adverse effect on the population. Many may argue no car can take taxi or public transport true but how many people want to do that nowadays? Especially with a pram and familyof little kids in tow? Youngsters dont live the way we did before theres no denying it. As such affordability of alternative transport has become a national and social issue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 yah man. they think what, getting car is like getting hdb flat! ballor is an inferior solution compared to closed bidding pay as you bid coe. Can but but then ppl will have less kids then ppl will kpkb again then eventually we all die out from low fertility? The environment is not conducive for child rearing anymore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 I think the main grouse of many people is that coe has become too expensive. Correct ? When coe price was low, no one was complaining of congestion or affordability. got lar, last time coe very cheap, many people buy car, mcf people kpkb, say how come so cheap, how come road so jam, so now up up and away lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 that will never happen can they privatise LTA and list it? I wan to buy their shares... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 i remember vaguely that it was around 2003-4 when LHL loosened the vehicle growth rate. this led to the subsequent dive in COE prices. fortunately, they soon realised that the growth rate wasnt sustainable, and was leading to overcrowding, which prompted the about turn in policy. frankly, from the governments perspective, the issues were self-inflicted. but at least they have have the balls to do whats right today. Or do they? Lifecycle of ownership based charging and usage based charging Step 1: nong nong ago, coe very exp, people kpkb, people ask for usage based charging, zhong eh say ho lah ho lah, i release more coe, impose erp (those who buy high coe car lampar keh tio, bo pian go can scrap car and buy a new car with lower coe: ) step: 2: everywhere jam, people kpkb, how come so many car, how come coe so cheap, zhong eh say ok ok lah, i dont sell so many coe (those holding cheap coe car: huat ah!!! ) step 3: coe cheong, people kpkb, wtf how come coe so exp, (coming soon : zhong eh say ok ok, i release more coe, impose erp ) (those who buy high coe car lampar keh tio, bo pian go can scrap car and buy a new car with lower coe ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 can they privatise LTA and list it? I wan to buy their shares... that's why must buy quasi govt gongsee shares like dbs, capitland, smrt huat ahhhhh!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged December 27, 2012 Author Share December 27, 2012 (edited) Actually, the COE premium is quite stable now. It shows continuous steady uptrend; there is no topsy-turvy (did we see half year ago, the COE was $15K, now is $80K, nor did we see month-to-month roller coaster ride - NO right???) To have a stagnant COE premium throughout all the years show something is wrong too! If you want cheap COE (read not necessary cheap car price), prepare to camp out. The situation now is, the uptrend is like slowly boiling a frog in a pot of water. Uncle my COE bought 5 years ago cost around $10k. I am not talking about month to month fluctuations. I am talking about 2-3 YEARS of boom followed by a few years of famine. As I said, now price does not go low because there is no COEs expiring in 2012 and 2013.... That is the freaking problem with the COE system. The supply is all over the shop. Some years like now has close zero supply. Mark my words, the COE prices WILL drop in late 2015 because that marks the start of the cheap COE years. There is like 5500 COEs every bidding during that time. Now there is 1000 COEs every bidding. Out of these 5500 car owners, how many of them can afford to renew COE at 80k? Half of them? If half of them drop out, it will more than triple the number of COE available for bidding. Frankly all these does not involve me personally as my COE still got 5 more years and I am 100% sure COE will drop in 2015 if LTA does not change policy. Edited December 27, 2012 by Wind30 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 (edited) Siao liao....Ppl are getting desperate, coming up with all sorts of excuse and self-centered suggestions.... page1 http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/...225-391580.html Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 The Straits Times Car buyers want COE system reviewed By Hoe Pei Shan SINGAPORE - With certificates of entitlement (COEs) for small cars breaching the $80,000 mark, some are renewing the call for the current quota system to be reviewed. Suggestions include using measures other than engine capacity to distinguish the COE categories for car ownership and a bidding system that gives preferential treatment to first-time owners. COE premiums for Category A cars up to 1,600cc - which comprise the most affordable cars in the market - rose to an all-time high of $81,889 late last week. That has put most new cars just beyond the reach of many car buyers interviewed by The Straits Times at car showrooms last weekend. "With COE premiums this high, I haven't seen any within my budget," said SAF regular Thomas Tan, 32, after emerging from the Hyundai showroom on Alexandra Road on Sunday. Mr Tan added that he needs a car to shuttle between work and the home of his 15-month-old son's babysitter and has spent the last few weeks looking for a car to replace his second-hand Peugeot 308, which has developed gearbox and suspension problems. Mrs Zuby Smith, 47, who was shopping for a new car to replace her eight-year-old Hyundai Santa Fe, also could not find a new car that would fit within her budget of "about $100,000". "The small car COE price is too high," she said, adding that she has been left with a choice of servicing a hefty car loan or waiting a long time for the COE premiums to fall. "We're just average people who need only one car. The Government has to do something to change this," added the mother of three who runs a beauty business. Mr Tan said that while he supports the Government's overall goals in managing the car population, the COE system could be tweaked to integrate a needs-based assessment similar to that of HDB flat applications. He suggested that car buyers with children that need one family car should be given priority. Edited December 27, 2012 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 i remember vaguely that it was around 2003-4 when LHL loosened the vehicle growth rate. this led to the subsequent dive in COE prices. fortunately, they soon realised that the growth rate wasnt sustainable, and was leading to overcrowding, which prompted the about turn in policy. frankly, from the governments perspective, the issues were self-inflicted. but at least they have have the balls to do whats right today. Or do they? I can confirm your first sentence is fact, not vaguely. Unfortunately, they realised that the growth rate wasn't sustainable too late and was leading to overcrowding, and at the same time HDB and URA did nothing to increase the number of car parks, which prompted the about turn in policy. The then transport minister, announced that the ERP rate will start from $4 with every step of $1-$2. But this did not happen. Only they know why as nobody would ask them why ERP is $1 instead of $4. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 Page2 http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/...5-391580/2.html Owners of two or more cars could be moved to the bottom of the COE eligibility list or made to pay additional fees, he added. Another suggestion that has surfaced over the years is to replace the COE engine capacity tiers with an indicator that more accurately distinguishes luxury cars from more affordable ones. NUS civil engineering associate professor and transport systems specialist Lee Der Horng said engine capacity used to be a decent indicator until recently. He noted that top brands such as Mercedes-Benz, BMW and Audi have rolled out models with engine capacities that fall into Category A rules, pushing up premiums there as a result. Distributors of cheaper Korean and Japanese cars do not have the profit margins to vie against continental brands. They therefore lose out when attracting customers with rebates and overtrades. "Transportation management is a social issue so public desire and reactions are things the policymaker has to consider," said Dr Lee, adding that the amount of horsepower in a car could be a more reliable guide. In the meantime, dealers said there is no short-term respite on the horizon for COE prices. Singapore Vehicle Traders Association secretary Raymond Tang said last week that prices for small cars will hover around the current mark for a while. They are likely to continue moving north until about 2015, when more vehicles are due to be scrapped. COEs, which give buyers the right to purchase a car, enable the Government to control the growth of the vehicle population and road congestion. Their supply is calibrated by the rate the Government sets for annual vehicle growth, and is largely tied to the number of vehicles taken off the road each month. Category A has borne the sharpest decline of close to 40 per cent for the period of August this year to next January, as far fewer cars were scrapped in the preceding six months. This has caused prices to spike, despite other government moves to reduce competitive bidding for COEs. These include removing taxis from the bidding process. The Government has, in recent years, announced plans to boost public transport infrastructure to reduce the nation's reliance on cars. These include building several new train lines as well as financing the addition of bus services nationwide. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 27, 2012 Share December 27, 2012 How come nobody mentions about commercial vehicles? Imagine egg distributors deliver eggs to market and hawker centre. How many eggs to deliver in order to recover cost for the lorry when the COE is so high? It's a no brainer the price of eggs will go up. Food related to eggs will also go up. Imagine that on everything else that needs shipping & delivery. Wah lan eh. Inflation leh. Why not give priority to commercial vehicles? KNN like that give priority to so many ppl who "needs" a vehicle. Aiya, just let the roads jam. Dan monkeys will come and comprain say no control on car population blah blah blah.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...