Vextan 1st Gear December 25, 2012 Share December 25, 2012 To make everyone happy with car ownership and public tranport, is to abolish all taxes including coe and parf, let cars be as cheap as anywhere else in the world. Next built more and more roads, then increase the public transport network perpetually. Car parking should be free also since we are the citizens who rightfully own the land. When all these are implemented, four years later vote the opposition in, then start to worry about road congestion because the opposition will miraculously be able to solve thhe congestion problem. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged December 25, 2012 Author Share December 25, 2012 (edited) coe system is not the core problem although far from perfect the high and low quota screw up coe price point like a roller coaster ride ya do you know why there is a high/low quota?? It is because of the way the system is structured. Do any of you know feedback theory and how oscillation (huge peaks and dips occur??) Basically, when the prices fall, EVERYONE rebate their expensive COE to buy the cheap ones. Leading to a huge concentration of COEs into one small period like in 2005. So there is NO COEs being bought at 2002/2003. what happens 10 years later at 2012/2013?? you get super small quota. And the worst thing is that COE last for many years so the feedback loop is very slow. An increase in prices is does not affect the majority of the drivers out there as they are driving on cheap COEs bought years earlier. It is only when their COE expires in 2015 then you see a huge number of COEs coming on board. These people who bought cheap COEs will no longer be able to afford a $80k and thus put back their COE into the market. But you have a huge problem in 2012/2013 when the prices will rocket up. But come 2015, the prices will fall down maybe to $30-40k. Then everyone will rebate their COE and sell their 3 year old cars. This is so ineffecient and a waste of resources. Why is the government forcing people to sell 3 year old cars? The cycle then repeats itself. Can we rebate the COE and keep the car and bid for new cheaper COE? I am not complaining about the lack of COE as I believe the number of cars needs to be restricted. There are a few things which I think needs to be fixed 1) the rebate system which forces citizens to sell 3 year old cars when COE dips. It does not make sense to hold onto expensive COEs. 2) the slow feedback of the system leading to peaks and dips. Ineffecient market. 3) the system encourages reckless bidding as you only pay as the lowest bidder and you can rebate the COE the instant the COE drops. It is like buying a house with a guarantee that you can return it when the price drops. Edited December 25, 2012 by Wind30 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged December 25, 2012 Author Share December 25, 2012 To make everyone happy with car ownership and public tranport, is to abolish all taxes including coe and parf, let cars be as cheap as anywhere else in the world. Next built more and more roads, then increase the public transport network perpetually. Car parking should be free also since we are the citizens who rightfully own the land. When all these are implemented, four years later vote the opposition in, then start to worry about road congestion because the opposition will miraculously be able to solve thhe congestion problem. frankly this is the most useless post. do you even read what we are discussing here? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged December 25, 2012 Author Share December 25, 2012 It is the majority of motorist who wants un-used COE to be given back to car owners as a rebate, it used to be a rebate in the form of ARF tax offset when you register for a new car, this created a "black" market for buying and selling of PARF and COE rebate. This feeds quite a number of people in the scrap/export trade. When the government announces cash rebates, it effectively reduces the penalty on car owners by removing the need to pay "service" fees for converting their rebates from tax offset form to cash (through these dealers). Yes, a one off non-rebatable COE will probably cause a blip in the COE prices, perhaps for a year or so. Once the population get used to the idea that COE is a one off upfront (no recourse for rebate) tax that needs to be paid to the government for ownership of a car, the COE will move back up. Even if it doesn't, ask around, how many motorist would want to pay a one off COE that get gobbled up by the government and you have no recourse even if due to whatever circumstance, you are not able to use the car anymore (disability, illness, death, financial situation, relocation.. etc). Would you, as a motorist then prefer a rebate system whereby the un-used portion of the COE is returned to you should you decide the deregister the car? Of course I also want to rebate my COE if possible but don't you see that it is distorting the supply of COE and concentrating them into 1-2 year periods? By making it non-rebatable, the COE supply should stabilize. Another solution is that the Government MUST not roll back the COEs immediately into the system. Come 2015 when there is a bumper supply of COE, the supply must be gradually put in over a period of at least 5 years to prevent huge fluctuations. Either solution will not be popular with the masses. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 25, 2012 Share December 25, 2012 he made his son serve NS even though it was not necessary. he started very young selling doors and frames to hdb... all this never say but say people got truckloads of money... haiz... Bro, my point is the difficulties faced by men of lesser means compared to rich men in securing resources. As the depth of this rich man's character is not relevant to my point, I did not highlight it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 25, 2012 Share December 25, 2012 frankly this is the most useless post. do you even read what we are discussing here? I have an excellent suggestion: decentralization of city centre I am sure I have sufficiently pointed out the pros And cons of this in other threads, so lets start with those govt bodies which has little reason to be located in the city center such as cpf, mom, Ida. And in their place, residential developememnts! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kspchew 2nd Gear December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 I have an excellent suggestion: decentralization of city centre I am sure I have sufficiently pointed out the pros And cons of this in other threads, so lets start with those govt bodies which has little reason to be located in the city center such as cpf, mom, Ida. And in their place, residential developememnts! MoM shifted to Boon Keng already loh. My suggestion: Banish Loan, Banish Loan, 100% cash payment only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 I suggested beforre. Giving regular car owners a 5 dollar rebate off their road tax if their car does not go under any ERP gantrt to one entire calender week. In order to use get the rebates, i am sure ppl will become creative like carpooling. If it works, the roads will be emptier and more coes will be released. Lets face it. How much will lta lose through thr rebates? It can be earned back through more coes. But LTA REJECTED. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 MoM shifted to Boon Keng already loh. My suggestion: Banish Loan, Banish Loan, 100% cash payment only. You must be rich Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 I suggested beforre. Giving regular car owners a 5 dollar rebate off their road tax if their car does not go under any ERP gantrt to one entire calender week. In order to use get the rebates, i am sure ppl will become creative like carpooling. If it works, the roads will be emptier and more coes will be released. Lets face it. How much will lta lose through thr rebates? It can be earned back through more coes. But LTA REJECTED. Legalise commercial forms of carpooling Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 (edited) You must be rich maybe loabsharks want business hoping banks/financeCoys cant give loans? huat ahh!! Edited December 26, 2012 by Maseratigood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 I have an excellent suggestion: decentralization of city centre I am sure I have sufficiently pointed out the pros And cons of this in other threads, so lets start with those govt bodies which has little reason to be located in the city center such as cpf, mom, Ida. And in their place, residential developememnts! plus work from home, grocery-home-delivery, home-visit-xmm, very thing served at home, no need to drive out.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 (edited) is your intention to lower COE or control car population? COE is supposedly to control car population but your suggestions seems to go towards lower COE instead Car population is controlled via number of COE released. Nothing to do with premium. Premium is a subsequence of "supply and demand". The higher the COE, the worse the jams get 'cos people die die must 100.1% fully utilized their vehicle. You see some people drive 400m from home carpark to kopi tiam, then park at road side lim kopi risking Cisco white ants also song??? Edited December 26, 2012 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 I suggested beforre. Giving regular car owners a 5 dollar rebate off their road tax if their car does not go under any ERP gantrt to one entire calender week. In order to use get the rebates, i am sure ppl will become creative like carpooling. If it works, the roads will be emptier and more coes will be released. Lets face it. How much will lta lose through thr rebates? It can be earned back through more coes. But LTA REJECTED. The ministar will tell you, "We need to increase the road tax by 100%". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 (edited) 1. Agreed! 2. Agreed! Or at least not allow high loan. Min 50% cash etc. all that will help. Very difficult for banks to finance COE one de 'cos you need to fork up $10K deposit for bidding, then there are so many variables subsequently (how much balance to loan if successfully secured the COE). Banks and financial institutions need "assurance" and collaterals before they disburse loans one de. BTW, you may not even need bank loan 'cos COE premium may be just $5K if no loans allowed. (for the first few biddings) As for the car, give chance lah, 100% loan song song gao Joo Long. Edited December 26, 2012 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 You must be fxxxing rich Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 Scrap COE. Have a quota on how many cars each dealer can import based on past sales. If all cars can be sold, quota can increased based on 1% growth. If not all sold, quota cut. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 It wil be first come first served but laws can be tweaked that one person can only own one vehicle and buyer must be driver that means father cannot use his account to buy for son. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...