Throttle2 Supersonic December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 point 2 might as well no finance for car n coe. sure crash coz suddenly many bank acct empty liao Not that i want to say but.... if bank account empty, drive what fu(k car leh? Take the bloody public transport mah.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 IIRC what i red (past tense of read was red right) was Both. Read, read, read. England sometimes quite confusing one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 No license cant ballot then. Non transferable. Its not communism, its equality on the basis of statistical fairness. Maybe another cat for those who really want a car to pay a premium akin to ERP or express queue at theme parks why no license cannot ballot? not discrimination? even now no licence also can buy car and insurance... if need licence to buy car then i think should also implement that the car must attain a certain mileage a year then can buy.... song bo? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 No system is perfect, but i believe a balloting system is fairer to everyone and not so skewed to the rich and/or maximising profits. People who want to own a car still have to be earning a suitable amount to own/take a loan/maintain a car. It's not like if a balloting system is implemented tomorrow everyone is going to rush in. I don't think the examples you have cited are abit funny because: a. A person that can afford and wants a car can go and ballot with every one else who can afford and wants a car. This person is not a unique snowflake. Just because some can comfortably afford/want a Suzuki Swift and others can comfortably afford/want a Volvo S40 (both Cat A), why must the system be skewed towards the one with more cash to throw for COE? Why not just allow everyone to can afford/want a car in Cat A (or B) to have a fair chance to get it? b. A "poor person" with no license will still need to fork out money for the COE and car, which will be registered under their name (without a license?). Even if got license, can they afford to fork out the money/take loan for the car and then find someone willing to "rent" the car from them? If i got alot of money and really want a car but don't want to ballot, would i be willing to sponsor this poor person to get COE/buy a car under his name with my money? What's to stop him from just selling off the car since legally he is the registered owner? That's quite a risk to take vs just balloting for my own COE. Balloting fair? Next time you ballot for your salary ai mai? Ballot for a wife too and ballot to buy rice and milk ? Heee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civicblade 2nd Gear December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 You are a child at heart. Your intentions are good but you are naive in thinking that the situation that you have pictured in your head is going to become reality. National policies has to cope with all sorts of people living in this country. If balloting were implemented tomorrow, within a month, everyone will go ballot for a COE, whether they need it or not and there will be a black market for the "right" to use a COE even if it is against the law. What is stopping loan sharks syndicate from using a poor person's identity to ballot for a COE? Trust me, if COE were to go ballot system all these underground activities will emerge faster than you can say "ballot for COE". No system is perfect, but i believe a balloting system is fairer to everyone and not so skewed to the rich and/or maximising profits. People who want to own a car still have to be earning a suitable amount to own/take a loan/maintain a car. It's not like if a balloting system is implemented tomorrow everyone is going to rush in. I don't think the examples you have cited are abit funny because: a. A person that can afford and wants a car can go and ballot with every one else who can afford and wants a car. This person is not a unique snowflake. Just because some can comfortably afford/want a Suzuki Swift and others can comfortably afford/want a Volvo S40 (both Cat A), why must the system be skewed towards the one with more cash to throw for COE? Why not just allow everyone to can afford/want a car in Cat A (or B) to have a fair chance to get it? b. A "poor person" with no license will still need to fork out money for the COE and car, which will be registered under their name (without a license?). Even if got license, can they afford to fork out the money/take loan for the car and then find someone willing to "rent" the car from them? If i got alot of money and really want a car but don't want to ballot, would i be willing to sponsor this poor person to get COE/buy a car under his name with my money? What's to stop him from just selling off the car since legally he is the registered owner? That's quite a risk to take vs just balloting for my own COE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 Read, read, read.England sometimes quite confusing one... yeah lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 Balloting fair? Next time you ballot for your salary ai mai? Ballot for a wife too and ballot to buy rice and milk ? Heee normally ppl who cannot find a wife, buy rice and milk will say ai. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 Exactly this used to happen in New Zealand. To buy a car you had to get an "import permit". There was often a 1+ year waiting time. People would get a new car and then immediately sell it for a profit. There are countless examples if you do research of how it happens. To turn COE into a ballot you are going to have to invest in a big, comprehensive and cumbersome monitoring system to make sure that people don't onsell. It will be a nightmare, but the time you make the system "secure" it will be so unwieldy that there will be massive extra costs associated with it - and the inefficiencies just mean that a lucky few get rich at the expense of all tax payers. Yep Darryn, there is a possibilty for profit in the onsell, but we're talking about a balloting exercise every two weeks and not a 1 year+ waiting time (unlike our HDB BTO vs resale COV scenario). I don't believe there needs to be a monitoring system for the onsell at all because of the nature of the market here. Look at the number of used vehicles for sale, and yet everyone wants a new car. I think the psychological make up of our market would limit the onsell market (percieved face value/social status of new car vs used, a society by and large that is in to "gambling" or "trying luck"). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civicblade 2nd Gear December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 (edited) Even China and Vietnam are no longer communist economies. Cuba looks like a good relocation destination for many mycarforummers..judging from the many supporters for balloting of COEs. Edited December 26, 2012 by Civicblade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 Or what's to stop a nasty boss from "bullying" his staff into applying for him? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 (edited) Yep Darryn, there is a possibilty for profit in the onsell, but we're talking about a balloting exercise every two weeks and not a 1 year+ waiting time (unlike our HDB BTO vs resale COV scenario). I don't believe there needs to be a monitoring system for the onsell at all because of the nature of the market here. Look at the number of used vehicles for sale, and yet everyone wants a new car. I think the psychological make up of our market would limit the onsell market (percieved face value/social status of new car vs used, a society by and large that is in to "gambling" or "trying luck"). then when something happen who do you want to blame?? government or yourself who say dont need to monitor?? its easy to say implement this and that. but there are many other things behind that need to be consider. you implement balloting with many restriction and condition and yet do not monitor. then implement for what? Edited December 26, 2012 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forrestcat 2nd Gear December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 at least with the high COE, lesser cars will be put on the road. they created this problem they release the COEs in 2005-2009, simply flood the market with lots of quota. I disagree. High COEs does not equate to lesser cars on the road. Usage based system will be more effective in controlling the car population. Increase the price of petrol to S$5/L, parking to S$4 per hour and ERP to S$ 20 per entry then you will see some results. This is solely my opinion, no flaming please.... We are all here in this forum to share share.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 pretending I am rich... real rich one... "Give me a COE and I shall pay you $1000 per month." I bet, there will be many who will offer me their COE. You dare to sell off my Lambo? Even though by law, the lambo is yours. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 Balloting fair? Next time you ballot for your salary ai mai? Ballot for a wife too and ballot to buy rice and milk ? Heee This is a good one.... Jan got CEO pay. Feb got table wiper pay. Mar got..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 I disagree. High COEs does not equate to lesser cars on the road. Usage based system will be more effective in controlling the car population. Increase the price of petrol to S$5/L, parking to S$4 per hour and ERP to S$ 20 per entry then you will see some results. This is solely my opinion, no flaming please.... We are all here in this forum to share share.... i dis-agree on this. cause end of day the oil company benefit. the rest no comment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 No system is perfect, but i believe a balloting system is fairer to everyone and not so skewed to the rich and/or maximising profits. People who want to own a car still have to be earning a suitable amount to own/take a loan/maintain a car. It's not like if a balloting system is implemented tomorrow everyone is going to rush in. I don't think the examples you have cited are abit funny because: a. A person that can afford and wants a car can go and ballot with every one else who can afford and wants a car. This person is not a unique snowflake. Just because some can comfortably afford/want a Suzuki Swift and others can comfortably afford/want a Volvo S40 (both Cat A), why must the system be skewed towards the one with more cash to throw for COE? Why not just allow everyone to can afford/want a car in Cat A (or B) to have a fair chance to get it? b. A "poor person" with no license will still need to fork out money for the COE and car, which will be registered under their name (without a license?). Even if got license, can they afford to fork out the money/take loan for the car and then find someone willing to "rent" the car from them? If i got alot of money and really want a car but don't want to ballot, would i be willing to sponsor this poor person to get COE/buy a car under his name with my money? What's to stop him from just selling off the car since legally he is the registered owner? That's quite a risk to take vs just balloting for my own COE. i think you miss the point that a car is a luxury good especially in SG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 Aiyah i know it's just a pipe dream lah, already said from the start this cash cow won't get slaughtered. Most of the stuff in the later posts is just came to mind based on the responses in the thread. Just take it as a theoretical exercise. I AM a child at heart but i can see the reality with my eyes. But i also think with the increasing income gap, inflation and rising costs (like COE), the general discontent amonst the population will keep increasing. Yes the rich would prefer a system skewed towards their favour, but any wise politian must also realise that the rich are a minority and that the voting masses must not be alienated. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged December 26, 2012 Share December 26, 2012 i dis-agree on this. cause end of day the oil company benefit. the rest no comment. No lah... Increase the 40cents levy to $4.00. But JB business will be fantastic. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...