COE solutions??

Wind30

Aiyah i know it's just a pipe dream lah, already said from the start this cash cow won't get slaughtered. Most of the stuff in the later posts is just came to mind based on the responses in the thread.

Just take it as a theoretical exercise. I AM a child at heart but i can see the reality with my eyes. But i also think with the increasing income gap, inflation and rising costs (like COE), the general discontent amonst the population will keep increasing. Yes the rich would prefer a system skewed towards their favour, but any wise politian must also realise that the rich are a minority and that the voting masses must not be alienated.

you know what dude, from your very first post i already could tell, your mentality is basically, be fair to those who dont have the means rather than those who have. Simple as that. And in forums I have come across countless such simplistic and wishful thinking. Thats why i always say, our youngsters are spoilt and they expect the country to be fair to them and give them what they dont have which the rich have.

Tell me I am wrong.

Edited by Vextan

Talk & talk only lah.

In the end, the same topic will come back again in 6 mths time.

The best solution is to scrap COE. On every single major road, install ERP gantry & it is used to track traffic flow 24/7. As long as there is 1 particular hr of a particular day with rolling 3 mths average traffic flow falling 20km/h, $10 will start on that particular hour. For every 10km/h reduction in speed, there will be a $10 increase in ERP.

For example, monday 8am - 8:59am, ERP charge could be $10. But Tuesday, it could be $0 for the same hour.

Commercial vehicle will get 75% discount while bus is exempted from payment.

Speeding? There is allowance of 20km/h from legal speed limit.

Parking? Find your own, cannot find. Don't buy loh! This is especially true for HDB dweller. Condo & private, no issue.

how they benefits?

all i know is they got more money to buy.

Precisely, their money buys them multiple COEs to drive different cars on different days, while the rest, some of whom just want a humble car to fetch the elderly or infants, suck thumbs. While the rich is entilted to such indulgence, may be a surcharge can be imposed on the second car onwards.

reclaim more land ... enlarge singapore land size = 2x ... decentralize city centre and govt offices

boomz .... no more traffic jam [laugh]

Talk & talk only lah.

The best solution is to scrap COE. On every single major road, install ERP gantry & it is used to track traffic flow 24/7. As long as there is 1 particular hr of a particular day with rolling 3 mths average traffic flow falling 20km/h, $10 will start on that particular hour. For every 10km/h reduction in speed, there will be a $10 increase in ERP.

For example, monday 8am - 8:59am, ERP charge could be $10. But Tuesday, it could be $0 for the same hour.

Parking? Find your own, cannot find. Don't buy loh! This is especially true for HDB dweller. Condo & private, no issue.

Talk & talk only lah.

i love you deep deep!!!!!! [laugh]:D[laugh] HUART ARGGGHHHH!!!!! [laugh]:D

Aiyah i know it's just a pipe dream lah, already said from the start this cash cow won't get slaughtered. Most of the stuff in the later posts is just came to mind based on the responses in the thread.

Just take it as a theoretical exercise. I AM a child at heart but i can see the reality with my eyes. But i also think with the increasing income gap, inflation and rising costs (like COE), the general discontent amonst the population will keep increasing. Yes the rich would prefer a system skewed towards their favour, but any wise politian must also realise that the rich are a minority and that the voting masses must not be alienated.

if our government had taken a populist approach like what you suggested, we weren't be even remotely near where we are today in standing. thats why the basis of our success, or any other country, is meritocracy. communism doesnt work because everything is shared and there is no incentive to excel.

I disagree. High COEs does not equate to lesser cars on the road.

Usage based system will be more effective in controlling the car population.

Increase the price of petrol to S$5/L, parking to S$4 per hour and ERP to S$ 20 per entry then you will see some results.

This is solely my opinion, no flaming please.... We are all here in this forum to share share.... [:)]

i agree on this though...

the issue should not be reducing or increaing COEs or even car population

it is to decrease the number of cars on the roads and usage based system will be better suited for this...

Precisely, their money buys them multiple COEs to drive different cars on different days, while the rest, some of whom just want a humble car to fetch the elderly or infants, suck thumbs. While the rich is entilted to such indulgence, may be a surcharge can be imposed on the second car onwards.

this is not a benefit. its just because they have enough money for COE not to bother them nia. this does not show any benfit to them.

also surcharge?? you think it will stop them. no they are too rich to feel the pain liao.

then will have ppl kao pei. say why 2nd car need surcharge which only benefit the rich because they can afford.

frankly speaking, wake up. cannot afford dont buy. simple. people become rich for a reason. and if we are not rich. we can only reflect on ourself.

Edited by Joseph22

Talk & talk only lah.

This really deserves serious consideration, a complete package better than the the surcharge on second COEs onwards.

Nothing wrong with others jumping in to make good use of the rules n policies, its a free market, dont you believe in a free market? Or you prefer current status quo coz it benefits you?

errrr......how does giving preference to a selected group of opportunists constitute a "free market"?

Having a 2nd, 3rd, 4th car doesnt adds up to the jams...

Its all the Tom, Dick, Harry owning cars and driving all 3 cars that adds up to the jam...

reclaim more land ... enlarge singapore land size = 2x ... decentralize city centre and govt offices

boomz .... no more traffic jam [laugh]

Enlarge Singapore, no use lah. It means more ppl & same problem will crop up.

Decentralize city centre, it is very useful. Sadly, since we are moving towards service centric economy, these front end of these business very hard move out of CBD especially banking. A lot of back end of bank has moved to Changi Business Park.

Car is a luxury item....can afford than buy...cannot afford than take public transport...

Nothing elitist abt the above comments, its just harsh facts of life...

Need the government to think n provide for everyone? Why not they work harder in life and afford a car. Lolz...

Need a car just cause u have 3 kids? Duh....have only 1 kid la...Lolz...so that the government can continue to import to fill up the numbers...

my mum use to tell me this....the richie rich have their ways to bring up their children....the poor have theirs...

Material wants not needs.....alot of our parents can bring up 2-3-4-5 kids without a car...so why are all those blokes complaining now?!

Enlarge Singapore, no use lah. It means more ppl & same problem will crop up.

Decentralize city centre, it is very useful. Sadly, since we are moving towards service centric economy, these front end of these business very hard move out of CBD especially banking. A lot of back end of bank has moved to Changi Business Park.

yeah!!! yeah!!! sarpork decentralisation!!! [laugh]:D

Lai!!! Lai!!! more people come and sarpork leh!!! :D[laugh]

Otherwise, ppl will complain that it will add on to inflation.

aiyah, we come and make some noise only, actually is no use one, at the end of day, we will [grouphug] each other and [bigcry][bigcry][bigcry]

Car is a luxury item....can afford than buy...cannot afford than take public transport...

Nothing elitist abt the above comments, its just harsh facts of life...

Need the government to think n provide for everyone? Why not they work harder in life and afford a car. Lolz...

Need a car just cause u have 3 kids? Duh....have only 1 kid la...Lolz...so that the government can continue to import to fill up the numbers...

my mum use to tell me this....the richie rich have their ways to bring up their children....the poor have theirs...

Material wants not needs.....alot of our parents can bring up 2-3-4-5 kids without a car...so why are all those blokes complaining now?!

yap like buying smart phone.. can afford buy iphone, Galaxy Note 2.etc.

cannot afford?? there is galaxy Ace duo or Galaxy Mini..

cannot afford smart phone? there is the good old $48 noncamera non smartphone + a good old book style Organiser.

so, rolex or seiko better for daily watch?

it is not about can do can liao ... it's die die must buy

yap like buying smart phone.. can afford buy iphone, Galaxy Note 2.etc.

cannot afford?? there is galaxy Ace duo or Galaxy Mini..

cannot afford smart phone? there is the good old $48 noncamera non smartphone + a good old book style Organiser.