Scion Turbocharged January 14, 2013 Author Share January 14, 2013 it's quite disheartening to think that we are punished jialat jialat (in housing, transport, medical, telco, etc) due to our govt's bad immigrant policy but the policy already had lasting effect heard from radio every now and then about how SMEs suffer due to the labour crunch... no offense, but they are behaving like drug addicts suffering from cold turkey, because the drugs are not easily available now it is also funny to note that the govt keeps on emphasizing that the foreigners are here to boost our economy and aging population, but when our country fails to post significant GDP growth, fingers are pointed to the bad global economy so is open-door (some calls it open-leg) policy correct anot? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear January 14, 2013 Share January 14, 2013 Friday evening more jam, as few Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 14, 2013 Share January 14, 2013 "If MM (Minister Mentor) had his druthers when it comes to the COEs and ERP and so on, he would say, 'forget about the ERP, just squeeze on the COEs; don't let them buy cars; no cars, they can't complain. Have the unhappiness once, done with it'."I say, 'they all want cars, let them own the cars and we will put the gantry up; beep, beep, beep, they get angry, never mind. But at least they get the car'." -LHL 1m30s COE has made everything go up in price... COE makes vehicles expensive. Expensive vehicle means expensive transport Expensive transport means higher cost of business. Higher cost of business means consumer pay for it. If wanna control vehicle usage...make ERP and petrol expensive...10/beep and 20/litre...see who still wanna drive their cars. Only those necessary or rich will drive their cars out. The rest will buy the cars and then park inside their estate to admire...hahahahahahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic January 14, 2013 Share January 14, 2013 (edited) This one is during lemon lim as transport minister. Want to reduce cost of car ownership but increase the cost of car usage to control traffic. COE flood the market and we have COE in the range of $10K-$20K average that time. We ll know it didn't work, and now he is replace with tuck yew, whi cut COE quota from more than 2000 per cat, to only 200 during bidding. Edited January 14, 2013 by Ender Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged January 14, 2013 Share January 14, 2013 COE has made everything go up in price... COE makes vehicles expensive. Expensive vehicle means expensive transport Expensive transport means higher cost of business. Higher cost of business means consumer pay for it. If wanna control vehicle usage...make ERP and petrol expensive...10/beep and 20/litre...see who still wanna drive their cars. Only those necessary or rich will drive their cars out. The rest will buy the cars and then park inside their estate to admire...hahahahahahahaha I do not know why this suggestion keeps coming everytime we talk about COE. Let us say cars are made dirt cheap. Each and every one in a family buys a car, but do not drive as driving is expensive. Now tell me, where do we park our cars? FYI, my estate is damn full these days! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged January 14, 2013 Share January 14, 2013 don't want to sound xenophobic (again) but somehow i feel there's a link between the car population and government's open-door policy between 2006 and 2011 perhaps the authority should present some stats showing how many PRs and foreigners own cars in Singapore it will not really be fair to us with shrinking COEs qty and its soaring prices Your whole premise is already wrong. So what if bought by more PRs than Singaporeans? Car is not a necessity. Why can't SC understand this? Why SC wants things to be handed to them on a silver platter? Why can't SC just work for it? Next time when iphone 5S, Galaxy S4/Note 3 comes out and demand outstrips supply, telcos must sell to SC first before PR? When blockbuster movie release, SC must be given priority to get tickets? At popular food court must have designated citizens-only table? At popular restaurants got separate queue for SC and PR? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged January 14, 2013 Share January 14, 2013 True, most of the present buyers are capable to fork out more than 30% anytime! If this rule is brought back, again the "marginal buyers" would be affected more than others! No matter how many times we repeat this, those self serving ppl will continue to be such..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged January 14, 2013 Share January 14, 2013 COE has made everything go up in price... COE makes vehicles expensive. Expensive vehicle means expensive transport Expensive transport means higher cost of business. Higher cost of business means consumer pay for it. If wanna control vehicle usage...make ERP and petrol expensive...10/beep and 20/litre...see who still wanna drive their cars. Only those necessary or rich will drive their cars out. The rest will buy the cars and then park inside their estate to admire...hahahahahahahaha U think ppl only limited to complaining about COE and will stop complaining if your suggestion is implemented? Ppl will still be complaining - just that it will be about the ERP rate and petrol price instead of COE price. In other words people will always just do what they do best - complain. There is always a compromise in everything. You want big condo in good location? Pay like hell! You want big condo that is cheap? Stay in Pulau Ubin! You want cheap condo in good location? Be prepared to live in a shoebox where you sleep, cook and s--t within an arm''s length! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 14, 2013 Share January 14, 2013 U think ppl only limited to complaining about COE and will stop complaining if your suggestion is implemented? Ppl will still be complaining - just that it will be about the ERP rate and petrol price instead of COE price. In other words people will always just do what they do best - complain. There is always a compromise in everything. You want big condo in good location? Pay like hell! You want big condo that is cheap? Stay in Pulau Ubin! You want cheap condo in good location? Be prepared to live in a shoebox where you sleep, cook and s--t within an arm''s length! Yes...there will never be a perfect solution that pleases everyone. But the whole idea is not to please anybody...but to solve the problem at hand. You can make a omelette without breaking a few eggs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 14, 2013 Share January 14, 2013 I do not know why this suggestion keeps coming everytime we talk about COE. Let us say cars are made dirt cheap. Each and every one in a family buys a car, but do not drive as driving is expensive. Now tell me, where do we park our cars? FYI, my estate is damn full these days! Hahahaha...mine too...and if really goes to that kinda price...I think I also park my car in the MSCP too....I can't afford the fuel.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 14, 2013 Share January 14, 2013 Let's see 5 years down the road, will there be lesser cars on the road, since mosr of the low COE cars would be scrapped by then?! Anyway, i think friday usually roads will be more jam than other days. I also dont know why?! If rain or accident, the jam would be worse. i don't think so......more people scrap car means mroe coe allowed also. i think the rut sets in during the years whereby the LTA crazily budgeted 3% growth rate for cars COE every year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear January 14, 2013 Share January 14, 2013 True, most of the present buyers are capable to fork out more than 30% anytime! If this rule is brought back, again the "marginal buyers" would be affected more than others! Up COE to $500K per pc see got anybody buy or not lor... Those who bought drive already sibei stylo.......everyone will stop and We will get used to the high COE px...Singaporeans complain complain only...didnt make them go catch frogs to feed themselves already beri gd liao.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged January 14, 2013 Share January 14, 2013 Coe is just bad.. but blaming foreigners shouldnt be the way also as they do not have a discounted Coe structure.. I would say its the taxi companies that spoils the broth more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged January 14, 2013 Share January 14, 2013 And if MAS brings back 30% downpayment for car loan.. sure lesser number of cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 14, 2013 Share January 14, 2013 i don't think so......more people scrap car means mroe coe allowed also. i think the rut sets in during the years whereby the LTA crazily budgeted 3% growth rate for cars COE every year. Let's us see again lo, whether will the COE quota increased when those super low COE cars got scrapped in 2-5 years time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panomatic Neutral Newbie January 14, 2013 Share January 14, 2013 Imagine taxi companies sell $25 daily voucher for full price that only lasted for 24 hours. In addition, customers that take this offer must buy ten years worth of vouchers upfront (refundable thou). Every month more than a thousands took this offer. These thousand over folks actually have good deal from taxi companies as it comes with driver and no additional cost (car price, tax, petrol, parking, etc). When all is insane, the sane looks insane. I am guilty of double-insanity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topspin 2nd Gear January 14, 2013 Share January 14, 2013 nowadays when you do a search on sgcarmart for cars below 100k... only cars from China and Malaysia showed up.. Far cry from those days before year 2010... What is the age of the car in your search? Plenty of cars 3 years or older are below 100K. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear January 14, 2013 Share January 14, 2013 And if MAS brings back 30% downpayment for car loan.. sure lesser number of cars. Best is COE pay in cash, car itself downpayment at least 30%. Confirm can see improvement. But no.... Why would they kill their cash cow? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...