DIY plumber

Fishy

This question is still OK. The most you get wet niah.

Someone will one day post whether need to turn off main for electricity for DIY Electrician. [rolleyes]

any bright spark will tell you that no need to turn off electricity if wear rubber shoes.

One thing for sure though, the person that does it is sure to be a live wire.

Hi, I have a leaking tap in my bathroom. Do I need to switch off the water supply before I replace this tap or can I just replace it directly? Anyone?

i see that you kena suan left right centre. [laugh] . but never mind la. take it as learning from others.

the answer is yes, u can DIY. But u need the right tools to do it hor.

u talking abt the mixer. buy a new one to standby. the ball is mostly built-in. so i'm not sure if you can just change the ball.

The water pipe diameter should be standard size. But to play safe, u take out the mixer and bring it to the shop for comparison with new ones. And rem to turn off the main water supply, which means your home goes without water for the period of time.

if you cannot cope with all these, ask a proper plumber to do it.

if you are staying in HDB, call your HDB town council for a list of recommended plumbers.

I change my own spray tap connection without much fuss. but it's a smaller tap, so it's easier. For your mixer, u need a bigger spanner to unscrew the nuts.

Many pipes will have a shutoff valve somewhere, so may not need to turn off the whole flat supply (my kitchen and both bathrooms have separate shut off valves, so only need to turn off the room you are working on)

anybody knows how to remove the lever handle for Showy 6052 Lever Basin Tap?

Showy%206052%20Lever%20Basin%20Tap.jpg

Showy-60171.png

Driving me nuts trying to fix the leaking tap. Wrote to Showy for help but received no reply. They don't deserve all the awards that they have!!!

Showy-60171.png

Driving me nuts trying to fix the leaking tap. Wrote to Showy for help but received no reply. They don't deserve all the awards that they have!!!

Let me try : on the top of the tap lever, I saw a round cap with the logo. Try using a flat blade to prise it off. You may need to lightly tap the flat blade in order to loosen the round cap. When the round cap is removed, you should be able to remove the mounting screw inside the tap lever.

It is not easy to fix the leak for this type of "quarter turn" tap. It is different from those conventional "screw down" tap. Be careful when removing the internal parts, so that they can be reassembled in the same order.

Showy-60171.png

It's design in such a way it cannot be easily removed. It's a lot easier to change the entire tap.

It's seal from within. If you want to remove it, most likely you will have to break the tap's body to get to it. The lever is also connected to the stem such that when you turn the lever the stem turns and there's an opening to let water flow thru. Once it's leaking it's no point fixing it. Just get another tap to replace it.

Let me try : on the top of the tap lever, I saw a round cap with the logo. Try using a flat blade to prise it off. You may need to lightly tap the flat blade in order to loosen the round cap. When the round cap is removed, you should be able to remove the mounting screw inside the tap lever.

It is not easy to fix the leak for this type of "quarter turn" tap. It is different from those conventional "screw down" tap. Be careful when removing the internal parts, so that they can be reassembled in the same order.

Correct, that's the way to do it.

Thanks Opel17 and Watwheels.

I tried all possible ways to ply open the part of the logo without success...did not attempt to ply all the way as I feel that it might break either the tap or the tool. Also tried to ply through each possible lining (2 sets). Like Watwheels mentioned, I might be better off buying a new one. Will do so but not this design anymore and choose one that I know can be removed easily. After I replaced it, maybe I'll try plying all the way to see it really is the only way, bearing in mind that I've another tap of this design in the same bathroom. If it cracks, so be it. Will share once I've done it. I've searched a lot for a solution on internet and you-tube but none has this design.

Thanks again.

Thanks Opel17 and Watwheels.

I tried all possible ways to ply open the part of the logo without success...did not attempt to ply all the way as I feel that it might break either the tap or the tool. Also tried to ply through each possible lining (2 sets). Like Watwheels mentioned, I might be better off buying a new one. Will do so but not this design anymore and choose one that I know can be removed easily. After I replaced it, maybe I'll try plying all the way to see it really is the only way, bearing in mind that I've another tap of this design in the same bathroom. If it cracks, so be it. Will share once I've done it. I've searched a lot for a solution on internet and you-tube but none has this design.

Thanks again.

You might need a penknife to do it.

It is not easy to find the exact replacement part for the internal valve (usually ceramic) and you will end up buying and replacing the entire fitting!

You might need a penknife to do it.

It is not easy to find the exact replacement part for the internal valve (usually ceramic) and you will end up buying and replacing the entire fitting!

Ya, a penknife may be another tool to try. Press the blade into the joint edge between the logo cap and tap lever, and try to prise slowly.

1 more method to try removing the logo cap. Stick an adhesive tap on the logo cap, with about 6 inches overhang. Press the tape securely onto the logo cap to ensure it stick well. Pull up the tape sharply, and hopefully the logo cap come along.

If all else fail, take a drill and drill a hole on top of the logo. Then use a smaller size screwdriver to prise open the cap. :D

Too much effort and hands need to be very gunho not to miss cue, so just change the whole tap better.

If a drill is too big, get a dremel. But not everyone has a dremel at home. I do have a dremel at home and does wonders.

dremel1lg.png

Showy-60171.png

change the whole tap, handle maybe be fixed. usually not expensive to be bought/manufactured in the way with no opening for the handle. dont forget the tube tools you may need to be precise as its varies...........