Achtung 6th Gear February 23, 2015 Share February 23, 2015 (edited) cashier's order is as good as cash. I prefer this as it leaves a trail if something fugs up. Strange leh. My dealer preferred payment in cashier order. So on d day of collecting d car, Sat afternoon, I gave them d CO (balance + insurance + registration fee) n on d spot they do a online transfer of ownership. Within 5 mins, d car under my name liao. Edited February 23, 2015 by Achtung ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 23, 2015 Share February 23, 2015 Strange leh. My dealer preferred payment in cashier order. So on d day of collecting d car, Sat afternoon, I gave them d CO (balance + insurance + registration fee) n on d spot they do a online transfer of ownership. Within 5 mins, d car under my name liao. mine was not a balance of payment. it was the full sum at one go. but it was a cheap car la. so amount wasn't large. ie i reach the used car dealer shop at around 12pm test drove and decided on the spot. then got my insurance broker to source and fax over the certificate of insurance which i paid by credit card. went to the bank to draw the cash. then came back and waited for the the fax of the certificate. once the cert was received i handed over the cash and then they did the transfer on the spot. and then finally drove off the car at 530pm on the same day. this was my fastest car purchase. i like. no delays and shadiness. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged February 23, 2015 Share February 23, 2015 Cashiers order is as good as cash. That dealer is stupid. The dealer (as in the person) is not stupid, the dealer (as in the shop) is the one that is stupid. If buyer pay by cash, the dealer (the person) can just take the money and run. If I am the boss, I won't allow cash to change hands unless I handle personally. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear February 23, 2015 Share February 23, 2015 Read this on Facebook today. Cavest emptor. https://www.facebook.com/lhtao/posts/10152691817366616 **CAR DEALER FRAUD ALERT** 🚨CARS TODAY PTE LTD🚨 Please help SHARE! Help us to find other affected victims and also prevent your friends and family from being a victim of Car Dealer's Fraud ! Be extremely cautious when making your purchase with 2nd hand car dealers! It's getting too easy for them! If you bought a car from Cars Today Pte Ltd since 2013, please check that the vehicle you purchased is being listed as your assets in http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/ If it is not listed as one of your assets, it is most likely an asset of Kenso Leasing Pte Ltd instead and your vehicle is in danger of being repossessed! It is most likely on the repo list already! There are many cars affected and only a handful of us are in contact. If you are one of the victim or have any information for us, please email us at [email protected] Please SHARE!! For those who wants to know more about the incident, do continue reading... So it happened like this, I bought a car at almost $50k from them last December and paid fully (no loan) to James Poh and Matthew Poh of Cars Today Pte Ltd. (I should have given them in 10 cents!) This dealer sells on consignment basis so the car they sell do not belong to them. What they earns is an agent fee from seller and buyer. However after the purchase and making full payment, they transferred the ownership to Kenso Leasing Pte Ltd instead of me which is the actual owner. I am still unsure why they did that or how are they even allowed to do that. Also funny that Kenso Leasing will just take other people's car allowing Cars Today to transfer the to them. It's not just one but many. Anyway, the ownership of the car I bought is being given to Kenso leasing and they have the rights "by Law" to repossess the cars. So my car is on the Repo list. And I lived in fear now that my car that I bought with my hard earned money will be taken from me anytime to be resell by Kenso Leasing. It is obvious that it is a planned fraud that James Poh transferred the car to Kenso leasing after I bought it and did not inform me. (Hopefully the police sees this as a fraud) Found out that the car was still not being transferred to me in Jan and when I questioned James, he only gave other excuse and did not state the truth. He even asked me to go down to his office to pay the 6 months road tax renewal of $898. Police report had been made and also tried to contact the investigation team to provide more details to them before Chinese New year but they won't provide me with contact of the team and they also did not get back to me as promised. After the news broke out about the case, James can still ask me to get a lawyer to file a suit against Cars Today Pte Ltd! This shows his confidence that there is nothing we can do about it as his company is a Private Limited! We will not be able to retrieve our losses if the company closes and we still have to pay the legal fees. Feeling lost. Anybody have any information on James Poh, please let us know at [email protected]. Thank you very much for sharing and reading this super long post. Happy Chinese New Year to you and your family! Have an Awesomely Healthy and happy Year round! through a bundle of documents, this buyer may hv "unknowingly" signed a loan application form. with this, the car can def b transferred to Kenso. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear February 23, 2015 Share February 23, 2015 Nowadays, the damn used car industry is filled with crooks. through a bundle of documents, this buyer may hv "unknowingly" signed a loan application form. with this, the car can def b transferred to Kenso. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic February 23, 2015 Share February 23, 2015 yup. this is exactly what i did when i bought my car from the dealer. i offered a cashiers order but they declined. so had to go to the bank to get cash. in the end the delay was my insurance certificate was delayed thus i spent 4hours in the office waiting to drive off. but this case only works if the car is in the dealers name and they do not have a loan they need to pay off. else it cannot be done immediately. the rest of my car buying history was via direct owners or brand new. Seriously cashier order also scare, really a ignorant chicken. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic February 23, 2015 Share February 23, 2015 The dealer (as in the person) is not stupid, the dealer (as in the shop) is the one that is stupid. If buyer pay by cash, the dealer (the person) can just take the money and run. If I am the boss, I won't allow cash to change hands unless I handle personally. Yep you are right. Maybe the salesperson already ran off liao....haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 23, 2015 Share February 23, 2015 Seriously cashier order also scare, really a ignorant chicken. no idea why. he insisted. he is the boss of the shop. anyway no big difference to me since i needed to head to the bank to get the cashier order or cash. but at least i saved $10 bucks for the cashier order. haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KerriTan Neutral Newbie February 23, 2015 Share February 23, 2015 Is there a blacklist for new car dealers? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kweechang 1st Gear February 23, 2015 Share February 23, 2015 Is there a blacklist for new car dealers? There are only two types of new car dealer. A.D.(Authorized dealer) and P.I. (parallel importer) Which one are you referring? Please search for P.I. for P.I. list. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic February 23, 2015 Share February 23, 2015 Is there a blacklist for new car dealers? You want to share yr story here? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic February 23, 2015 Share February 23, 2015 (edited) My family bought a c class from SG Vehicles at bukit merah. They bought it from the car show last year July. They gave us an estimated arrival date in November but when November came they didn't answer our calls or they gave us a 'I don't know' answer. Then we went down to the office and the sales girl said oh the factory moved from Germany to South Africa. So they said if you want your car earlier u have to top up for AMG facelift model. So we top up another few thousands. But after that still no news and no car. Then we called and text and argued. And they said oh before end December the car will arrive. But still no news. Then later they delayed until just before CNY they gave us the car. So it took from July till now to get us the car. Nvm that but now the navigation system that was 'included' is of the European map. They said it's like that. If you want the Singapore map u have to pay $2k. How is that possible. I think they trying to cheat us again. Congratulation ... Thats how PIs are. If you dont put in down in b/w at the beginning , they will ask you to top up again and again ....... cheaper to get a GPS ....... But you are lucky you got the car .... many dont even see the car shadow ... I guessed you bought a C class too hur ? Edited February 23, 2015 by Angcheek 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueprintmedia00 Clutched February 23, 2015 Share February 23, 2015 I bought my first used car from Kao Lian back in 2010. So far so good. No problem at all. On the 2 / 3 day can collect the car. However, I don’t think the sales person not working there anymore. People come and go in this trade. Very competitive. My car is coming to the end soon in March 2015. Time to hunt for used car again. Cheers! Hi, I am planning to buy a second hand car from either Creative Motor, Ka Hup and Kao Lian. Can anyone give me feedback about them? Thanks in advance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 23, 2015 Share February 23, 2015 My family bought a c class from SG Vehicles at bukit merah. They bought it from the car show last year July. They gave us an estimated arrival date in November but when November came they didn't answer our calls or they gave us a 'I don't know' answer. Then we went down to the office and the sales girl said oh the factory moved from Germany to South Africa. So they said if you want your car earlier u have to top up for AMG facelift model. So we top up another few thousands. But after that still no news and no car. Then we called and text and argued. And they said oh before end December the car will arrive. But still no news. Then later they delayed until just before CNY they gave us the car. So it took from July till now to get us the car. Nvm that but now the navigation system that was 'included' is of the European map. They said it's like that. If you want the Singapore map u have to pay $2k. How is that possible. I think they trying to cheat us again. Just before CNY? Probably waiting for COE price to fall... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic February 23, 2015 Share February 23, 2015 My family bought a c class from SG Vehicles at bukit merah. They bought it from the car show last year July. They gave us an estimated arrival date in November but when November came they didn't answer our calls or they gave us a 'I don't know' answer. Then we went down to the office and the sales girl said oh the factory moved from Germany to South Africa. So they said if you want your car earlier u have to top up for AMG facelift model. So we top up another few thousands. But after that still no news and no car. Then we called and text and argued. And they said oh before end December the car will arrive. But still no news. Then later they delayed until just before CNY they gave us the car. So it took from July till now to get us the car. Nvm that but now the navigation system that was 'included' is of the European map. They said it's like that. If you want the Singapore map u have to pay $2k. How is that possible. I think they trying to cheat us again. Someone already posted bad review about SG vehicles. Should be somewhere in this thread. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueprintmedia00 Clutched February 23, 2015 Share February 23, 2015 I’m a Newbie here & I find this site is very useful for people like myself. Getting a lot of info. At the same time, it makes me feel worry too because I’m looking for used car now. I didn’t face any problem when I bought my first used car from Kao Lian back in 2010. But Bo Bian, I only can afford used car now. Unless this Friday, I Tio 12 Million Hong Pao TOTO. Everybody HUAT AHH! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic February 24, 2015 Share February 24, 2015 I’m a Newbie here & I find this site is very useful for people like myself. Getting a lot of info. At the same time, it makes me feel worry too because I’m looking for used car now. I didn’t face any problem when I bought my first used car from Kao Lian back in 2010. But Bo Bian, I only can afford used car now. Unless this Friday, I Tio 12 Million Hong Pao TOTO. Everybody HUAT AHH! two posts and its not hard to see what you are driving at..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueprintmedia00 Clutched February 24, 2015 Share February 24, 2015 two posts and its not hard to see what you are driving at..... Not hard to see what you driving at ??? Huh??? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...