Kyosho1 Clutched January 24, 2013 Share January 24, 2013 My car waiting stationary in line to enter a carpark was hit by a careless motorist exiting a carpark. 2 weeks later, I found out from the 3rd party investigator that she claimed that my car hit hers while entering the carpark. Fortunately I managed to get the carpark CCTV recording (after a lot of trouble/time spent) showing the truth. What is the best way to penalize such a liar? I am rather pissed off that she attempted to paint me as the guilty one. I want justice. If a person make a false police report, if found out, sure kena punished. So in this case, a false insurance report - will she be punished? I don't mind engaging a lawyer to handle her. What's your take on this? Thank you for hearing me out...., ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic January 24, 2013 Share January 24, 2013 just forgive and let it go.....you feel better than seeking out justice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear January 24, 2013 Share January 24, 2013 (edited) Think she'll be penalised when she renew her car insurance next time liao...........not sure about suing her but maybe you want to put on stomp if you want to shame her........ This makes me wonder if I should go install a car cam for my 5.5 yrs old car...... Edited January 24, 2013 by WTF Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear January 24, 2013 Share January 24, 2013 Think she'll be penalised when she renew her car insurance next time liao...........not sure about suing her but maybe you want to put on stomp if you want to shame her........ This makes me wonder if I should go install a car cam for my 5.5 yrs old car...... Bro just go ahead and install in DVR in car. I installed mine 1 month back. <$100 model so far so good. Peace of mind. Recorded so many goondu/reckless drivers but lazy to put them up coz they are everywhere... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear January 24, 2013 Share January 24, 2013 just forgive and let it go.....you feel better than seeking out justice. The reason people keep lying is that they know they may get away with it. Sometimes to be nice, you have to be 'bad'. But seek out justice not for yourself, but for others in future, if they meet the same situation. If people know that they will be persecuted , even jailed, if they lies, & discovered, less people will attempt to do so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear January 24, 2013 Share January 24, 2013 just forgive and let it go.....you feel better than seeking out justice. And let the person continue to do the same to others? Justice is different from revenge. I would urge the OP to seek justice, legally. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged January 24, 2013 Share January 24, 2013 She should be punished, not only for you but for others sake as well. Such a liar will next time to do others, perhaps even cry rape! I'm not sure what method is best to punish her, probably you can seek an lawyer's advice on this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo6089 1st Gear January 24, 2013 Share January 24, 2013 I belief you should seek justice, but it won't be cheap and also very time comsuming Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leo72 6th Gear January 24, 2013 Share January 24, 2013 My car waiting stationary in line to enter a carpark was hit by a careless motorist exiting a carpark. 2 weeks later, I found out from the 3rd party investigator that she claimed that my car hit hers while entering the carpark. Fortunately I managed to get the carpark CCTV recording (after a lot of trouble/time spent) showing the truth. What is the best way to penalize such a liar? I am rather pissed off that she attempted to paint me as the guilty one. I want justice. If a person make a false police report, if found out, sure kena punished. So in this case, a false insurance report - will she be punished? I don't mind engaging a lawyer to handle her. What's your take on this? Thank you for hearing me out...., just submit it to your insurance company and let them handle her. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcscot 5th Gear January 24, 2013 Share January 24, 2013 just submit it to your insurance company and let them handle her. I totally agree! Let your insurance sort it out for you! Your insurance will not want to pay for the damage. If it were me, I will be nasty! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged January 25, 2013 Share January 25, 2013 Ppl will often lie for their own benefit. How often do ppl readily plead guilty in court even when it is blindingly obvious that they are in the wrong? If everyone so honest, no need public prosecutors defence lawyers already. Of course i understand your indignance at being wongly accused but what to do? U can't stop ppl from being @ssholes...i don't think there is anything (legal) you can do.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear January 25, 2013 Share January 25, 2013 if you want to take the matter as civil, then i suggest you talk to your legal council an ask them what will be the best course of action......making a false report is surely wrong....but then, prepare to spend money....and in the end, you may not even get anything out of it...also depends on how deep your pockets are..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 25, 2013 Share January 25, 2013 With so many instances of car camera proving useful and that the price is really affordable for a car owner, you still haven't fix..... Haiizzzzzz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 25, 2013 Share January 25, 2013 (edited) if you want to take the matter as civil, then i suggest you talk to your legal council an ask them what will be the best course of action......making a false report is surely wrong....but then, prepare to spend money....and in the end, you may not even get anything out of it...also depends on how deep your pockets are..... I don't know how deep ts pocket is but I can say your long Kang sure is deeeeeep Edited January 25, 2013 by Mustank Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear January 25, 2013 Share January 25, 2013 Bro just go ahead and install in DVR in car. I installed mine 1 month back. <$100 model so far so good. Peace of mind. Recorded so many goondu/reckless drivers but lazy to put them up coz they are everywhere... Thanks for the advice bro. How's the pic quality so far? Need not to be great but can see VRN at night ok liao. And may I know where you bought it from? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear January 25, 2013 Share January 25, 2013 With so many instances of car camera proving useful and that the price is really affordable for a car owner, you still haven't fix..... Haiizzzzzz In -house "s--t-stirrer", mai ai ni kuan lah...........not everyone as lich as you mah....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 25, 2013 Share January 25, 2013 Whether to sue or not is up to the lady's insurance company. For you to sue, it will be a civil suit. How deep is ur pocket and how long can you wait??? The lawyer's fee will most probably not recoverable. If going to trial like u see all the sex scandals walking in-out of the Sub-court, prepare at least S$20k onwards. I would advise u to just forget it. Let the insurance company handle it. Normally the insurance company will up the lady's premium and she will feel the pinch in her pocket. Thatz wat I did. But for my case, after the fellow feel the pinch, he buay song and came to decorate my car three times. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged January 25, 2013 Share January 25, 2013 When a driver cannot be honest and take responsibility for what he/she has done (for financial reason esspecially), they should not be driving a car! I guess, if you want to take legal action, it would be time and money consuming process. If you are prepared, then why not? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...