Mllcg 3rd Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 yes, "these people" should continue to buy new cars and shun the used car market. This is because they need to show off and not lose face. Very siah suay to tell people u bought used car ok? Also, used cars very problematic u know? most importantly, with less demand for used cars, prices will be depressed. Then it will be a buyers' market did you read the news yesterday abt the guy that chiong to komoco on Mon night to buy his $150K veloster? i hope got many people buy the new cayman S and shower it with TLC. Then hopefully i can take over from one of them in a few years time got sia suay meh? my friends around me all say got car good alr.. they would be happy to even drive a 19 year old car ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 so what have u got to barter for yrou coffin??? [laugh] me!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 (edited) Yes, some fella called James. He chiong to buy becos he cant afford it with the new rules. To me, it simply means he CANT afford it, yet ngeh ngeh want to buy. Many young people are like that one lah, hai........ Actually it applies to all age groups , you should see amount of people appearing in my office . Actually i am fully supportive of the current ruling. Maybe i had a leg in it, who knows . LOL Hopefully roads would finally be less crowded and with less unruly people with bad attitude problems. Edited February 27, 2013 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Actually it applies to all age groups , you should see amount of people appearing in my office . Actually i am fully supportive of the current ruling. Maybe i had a leg in it, who knows . LOL Hopefully roads would finally be less crowded and with less unruly people with bad attitude problems. would be a while to see effects, but definitely in right direction Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Actually it applies to all age groups , you should see amount of people appearing in my office . Actually i am fully supportive of the current ruling. Maybe i had a leg in it, who knows . LOL Hopefully roads would finally be less crowded and with less unruly people with bad attitude problems. Yes hopefully, mate Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 (edited) would be a while to see effects, but definitely in right direction To me , i think it is definitely something in the correct direction. A car should always be an luxury item though it might be essential to some but not all. Most importantly, in recent years , the credit has being let too loose , resulting in lower saving rates and a higher inflation. If things doesn't get tighten up , chances are not only will we not "grow" we might be in a decline as the rich has "extracted" all the wealth here and letting the rest of the people here to pick up the pieces. One good example is the property prices, price inflation for property in the past 10 years has increase more than 5% per annum. So who suffers? The people here not the rich. Of course i am not promoting sense of entitlement but i am just stating what i observe. The loose credit in the system is resulting in our youths being in debts they cannot afford to pay easily. Back in my youth days , it is already bad , what my parents taught me about saving for a rainy day and having to save at least 1 year of expenditure before taking any risk is all but gone. Nowadays , kids are looking for more ways to "extend" their credits. So looking forward , how does a country move forward when the people only have debts and not money to "invest"? Just imagine i am debating with people telling me how VFM something is for a expense and in this case a debt? Or another case of a kar chng kang which tells the whole world he has a investment which can fetch 4~5% on his cash to "cover" his debt only to push it to his "friends" when challenged. *pardon me for my language, grew up in a market , not much "class" Edited February 27, 2013 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 yes, "these people" should continue to buy new cars and shun the used car market. This is because they need to show off and not lose face. Very siah suay to tell people u bought used car ok? Also, used cars very problematic u know? most importantly, with less demand for used cars, prices will be depressed. Then it will be a buyers' market did you read the news yesterday abt the guy that chiong to komoco on Mon night to buy his $150K veloster? i hope got many people buy the new cayman S and shower it with TLC. Then hopefully i can take over from one of them in a few years time That guy is likely to get his veloster much cheaper if he waited for a few months if COE drops AND if he can afford the DP. Its good to have spare cash, in times like these, can benefit while the rest mull on their ill fate and pledge a change of alliance during the next GE................. in a forum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 That guy is likely to get his veloster much cheaper if he waited for a few months if COE drops AND if he can afford the DP. Its good to have spare cash, in times like these, can benefit while the rest mull on their ill fate and pledge a change of alliance during the next GE................. in a forum. Haha he will find himself in my office soon enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kobey 1st Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 I was replying in another thread regarding COE rebates offered by car dealers. What I understand is that if COE falls below the COE rebate level (for eg. 75k), buyer will be refunded. For eg if COE drops to say 40k this round, buyer should get a refund of 35k. However I am anticipating if this happens, dealers might just register the car using their already bidded Cat E COE and avoid paying the rebates. While buyer has already paid for the car at the much higher COE level. Buyer at risk in my opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dinobros 2nd Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Saving 1 or 2 year more for the down payment is way better than paying a high COE to the government. Why dun people see that point? Have to explain again and again before they understand the advantage of this scheme. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Saving 1 or 2 year more for the down payment is way better than paying a high COE to the government. Why dun people see that point? Have to explain again and again before they understand the advantage of this scheme. just release the number of COEs in 2004-2008 levels and it will drop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged February 27, 2013 Author Share February 27, 2013 I wouldn't be at all surprised to see $1 COE within the next few biddings. Only needs 1/3 of buyers to leave market and COE will be undersubscribed. Who I feel most bad for is all those that buy the high high COE over the last few months. COE is gonna crash. They can only scrap their cars. And if no cash, won't be able to buy again - this group, they will be crying and wishing they had waited a few months. I think that a lot of used car dealers will also be caught with pants down. Boo Hoo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 That guy is likely to get his veloster much cheaper if he waited for a few months if COE drops AND if he can afford the DP. Its good to have spare cash, in times like these, can benefit while the rest mull on their ill fate and pledge a change of alliance during the next GE................. in a forum. i think that guy is quite foolish. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondavvvtec 1st Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 looking at the bank interest rate now. going at > 3% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Saving 1 or 2 year more for the down payment is way better than paying a high COE to the government. Why dun people see that point? Have to explain again and again before they understand the advantage of this scheme. if you are a family man with one or 2 kids and have parents to support, how to save that much? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 if you are a family man with one or 2 kids and have parents to support, how to save that much? Why not ? If you cannot save what makes you think buying a car is a better option? Stupid right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark_flan 2nd Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 As topic suggests. COEs will inevitably drop drastically given the number of bids is lesser due to the change in MAS regulations. Hard to predict now. If there is chance of less than 10k within of expiry of my COE then I'll be bidding for one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Back in my youth days , it is already bad , what my parents taught me about saving for a rainy day and having to save at least 1 year of expenditure before taking any risk is all but gone. Nowadays , kids are looking for more ways to "extend" their credits. So looking forward , how does a country move forward when the people only have debts and not money to "invest"? Just imagine i am debating with people telling me how VFM something is for a expense and in this case a debt? Or another case of a kar chng kang which tells the whole world he has a investment which can fetch 4~5% on his cash to "cover" his debt only to push it to his "friends" when challenged. *pardon me for my language, grew up in a market , not much "class" Still can't let go of the baggage huh?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...