Neighbourhood or Elite Primary School

Caldina

No used cos no two P r alike. Take for example ACS Primary n ACS Junior. If both same then y the former more HOT??

When that was set up, it was already labelled as the poorer cousin.

Cannot like that mah. Resources wise also differentiated.

Start from blank page and execute properly. Can take off one.

But first things first, get the popular schools to up intake to 360. That will buy time to expand or build more branches.

What is the point of building new unknown schools? Play to your strength lah. Like Boston can accommodate a few mega universities.

best way is to number the schools by some random 4 digit number. all wear the same uniform. and rotate the teachers and principals every 2-3years. ta da. all equal. then no competition liao.

but minister say... cannot. this lack of competition will not produce bright students. you need to have competition and a goal to get into a good school/JC/University.

Edited by Mkl22

At a vocabulary level, if you've studied in the school previously, you're an alumni. If you've paid to join the alumni association or club, you are a member of the alumni association.

i understand that definition perfectly. but colloquially and for the purposes of this discussion, better stick to OBG and alumni bah... if not very confusing and wordy... keke.

anyway, besides not pointing out 2B(2) is for kids whose parent is a staff, the media also did not mention that this phase is for kids whose siblings have studied there before (obviously graduated). jus saying.

best way is to number the schools by some random 4 digit number. all wear the same uniform. and rotate the teachers and principals every 2-3years. ta da. all equal. then no competition liao.

but minister say... cannot. this lack of competition will not produce bright students. you need to have competition and a goal to get into a good school/JC/University.

you had better pay them better than what they are getting now.

those parents who think teachers in "better" schools = better PSLE are wrong. even in good n expensive skools there are complacent n lazy teachers. end of day parents must monitor his child's progress & act accordingly.

They shd do that.

Current popular schools like Nanyang see balloting at early phases because they have only 210 seats. WTF?

Schools like Tao Nan have 360 seats so you don't see balloting at such an early phase.

If parents like "branded" schools, then as you say, open more branches.

Doesn't work that way... else that'd be an easy solution.

It's just a natural law, that when you increase the intake or population, the quality will drop for sure. Even the teaching quality would decline with teachers being occupied with larger classes and more varying ability among the students, if that was the case.

those parents who think teachers in "better" schools = better PSLE are wrong. even in good n expensive skools there are complacent n lazy teachers. end of day parents must monitor his child's progress & act accordingly.

In the better / hotter schools, the parents are typically more responsive, so teachers have an easier job just teaching according to the set pace. If particular child cannot catch up, just need to tell the parents to arrange extra / tuition / remedial.

I find that these schools also tend to arrange their schedule of activities based on assumption that their students have 'soccer moms' ready to ferry them around even during office hours. Example, activities that end at odd times like 3pm or 5pm, and they fully expect parents to be able to fetch the kids... Not an unfounded assumption as many of the parents are well-to-do and mom does not need to work. But what about those 'commoners' good enough to be in the school, yet don't have such facility? That's why the 'elite' schools are not a good fit for just anyone, unfortunately. To make every school a good school and equally popular - seems quite a tall order.

Edited by Sosaria

I think it is all up to the kids ba.

I tried to enrol my first child into a Elite school but didn't managed to get in. Thus i put her in a neighbourhood school.

Now i feel happy that she is in neighbourhood school and not Elite school cos her results not very good and she's not hardworking. I cannot imagine what happen if she is in Elite school, may be she will fail all the way? whahahahaahahhaha.

Now the govt let school principals has full play on running the schools. I've checked with my friend who is also in primary one this year, CHIJ now only started to learn 2 figure addition. But my 2nd child who is in a neighbourhood school, alreadly learnt 2 figure addition and now learning 2 figure substraction liao. Thus, it all depends.

In the better / hotter schools, the parents are typically more responsive, so teachers have an easier job just teaching according to the set pace. If particular child cannot catch up, just need to tell the parents to arrange extra / tuition / remedial.

I find that these schools also tend to arrange their schedule of activities based on assumption that their students have 'soccer moms' ready to ferry them around even during office hours. Example, activities that end at odd times like 3pm or 5pm, and they fully expect parents to be able to fetch the kids... Not an unfounded assumption as many of the parents are well-to-do and mom does not need to work. But what about those 'commoners' good enough to be in the school, yet don't have such facility? That's why the 'elite' schools are not a good fit for just anyone, unfortunately. To make every school a good school and equally popular - seems quite a tall order.

My dotter school case in point here - she is in the school's "top" band, but must still go back for science remedial (scored coming to 70%).

This month have Supplementary English lessons (English Scored 80+%)

Like that - go back here, go back there - how to have time? Lucky our house next to the school only or would die

My dotter school case in point here - she is in the school's "top" band, but must still go back for science remedial (scored coming to 70%).

Like that - go back here, go back there - how to have time? Lucky our house next to the school only or would die

free tuition classes by the school

you kpkb what?

free tuition classes by the school

you kpkb what?

I think it all depends on the parents ba.

Those on the ball parents will like it.

For lazy parents like me, I won't like it. Too stress for my kids. That is why i say heng, my girl is in neighbourhood school.

Thats is why Proximity is so important ... [nod]

Thankful son didn't get spot in popular school

THREE years ago, my husband and I were disappointed when our son did not manage to enter a popular school in Punggol after balloting in Phase 2C. Little did we know that this would turn out to be a blessing in disguise.

http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-letters/story/thankful-son-didnt-get-spot-popular-school-20140722

I think it is all up to the kids ba.

I tried to enrol my first child into a Elite school but didn't managed to get in. Thus i put her in a neighbourhood school.

Now i feel happy that she is in neighbourhood school and not Elite school cos her results not very good and she's not hardworking. I cannot imagine what happen if she is in Elite school, may be she will fail all the way? whahahahaahahhaha.

Now the govt let school principals has full play on running the schools. I've checked with my friend who is also in primary one this year, CHIJ now only started to learn 2 figure addition. But my 2nd child who is in a neighbourhood school, alreadly learnt 2 figure addition and now learning 2 figure substraction liao. Thus, it all depends.

Depends on individual child la. When I was in Primary school, I didn't study much because I was from a neighborhood school and scoring 80-90 for each test was easy and sure get to be the top few in class. So I was complacent and don't study hard. Because I felt like I was really clever and when I scored 250 for PSLE, I was already very happy because that was like top 10 in school.

But then I went on to a better secondary school and realised I wasn't very clever after all. The tests were all very hard and I always fail if I didn't study and PSLE score of 250 was the bottom end of the cohort. It caused me to realise that I have to study hard if I want to be an average student in this school. Thinking back, I felt that if I had this kind of pressure in Primary school, I might have studied a lot harder and gotten much better results for PSLE.

However, this also depends on individual students because I also had some secondary school friends who also came from neighborhood primary school and they couldn't take the pressure so just resigned to always being last in class and end up getting lazier and lazier. It just happened that I did not want to disappoint my parents because in Primary school they were already so used to seeing me come back with good results so I had the motivation to study hard when I realised that being in a better school, the tests are harder and the students are more competitive.

Edited by Nzy

Depends on individual child la. When I was in Primary school, I didn't study much because I was from a neighborhood school and scoring 80-90 for each test was easy and sure get to be the top few in class. So I was complacent and don't study hard. Because I felt like I was really clever and when I scored 250 for PSLE, I was already very happy because that was like top 10 in school.

But then I went on to a better secondary school and realised I wasn't very clever after all. The tests were all very hard and I always fail if I didn't study and PSLE score of 250 was the bottom end of the cohort. It caused me to realise that I have to study hard if I want to be an average student in this school. Thinking back, I felt that if I had this kind of pressure in Primary school, I might have studied a lot harder and gotten much better results for PSLE.

However, this also depends on individual students because I also had some secondary school friends who also came from neighborhood primary school and they couldn't take the pressure so just resigned to always being last in class and end up getting lazier and lazier. It just happened that I did not want to disappoint my parents because in Primary school they were already so used to seeing me come back with good results so I had the motivation to study hard when I realised that being in a better school, the tests are harder and the students are more competitive.

It really depends on the kid - some will do well from the "pressure" of competition, and being towards the bottom of the class - for others - the confidence that comes from being at the top of the class is better..

Horses for courses

What is important - the habit of studying - it's a habit I never developed, and its something that I always regret

It really depends on the kid - some will do well from the "pressure" of competition, and being towards the bottom of the class - for others - the confidence that comes from being at the top of the class is better..

Horses for courses

What is important - the habit of studying - it's a habit I never developed, and its something that I always regret

Yeah. That is why I mentioned it depends on individual children. Have to understand how your child thinks. For me I like to be at the top of the class so being at the bottom will make me study harder. Plus I am easily influenced by friends in school as well. When I was in that neighborhood primary school, most of my friends don't hand in their homework and usually hang out at nearby basketball courts after school or just at any void decks, so I would follow them. In secondary school, most of them will finish their homework before going out and towards exam periods we'll meet at libraries to study together. Made a huge difference for me as I am easily influenced by my peers.

Agreed 101%.

So true. My fren's DD in RGPS. Teachers @sume all students attend enrichment. Didn't really teach much. Just flash flash slides. Ended up she transferred her 2nd DD out.

Yeah. That is why I mentioned it depends on individual children. Have to understand how your child thinks. For me I like to be at the top of the class so being at the bottom will make me study harder. Plus I am easily influenced by friends in school as well. When I was in that neighborhood primary school, most of my friends don't hand in their homework and usually hang out at nearby basketball courts after school or just at any void decks, so I would follow them. In secondary school, most of them will finish their homework before going out and towards exam periods we'll meet at libraries to study together. Made a huge difference for me as I am easily influenced by my peers.

Too lazy to google - but I think it was Henry Ford that talked about the decisions you should make when hiring - the basic thrust was that you should always hire people smarter than you.

I think it was Napoleon Hill that said you should be surrounding yourself with the people that you want to emulate (not a value judgement here, if you wanna emulate a "family man' - surround yourself with people that value family, if you wanna emulate hard work, surround yourself with hard workers)

And of course we all know that Misery Loves Company - which is why you should fire the arse of negative employees before they bring down everyone else