More COE Next Year (2014) .....

Maxus-MIFA9

What Astrid said rang a bell in the deep recesses of my mind.

I have 2 grown-up children, studying overseas.

Once, not too long ago, when they were back here on vacation, they reminesced that the best and most memorable time during their childhood days was to have quiet family dinners at an old cze char stall in a rundown coffee shop, in one of Singapore's older HDB heartland ........ al fresco.

Such simple pleasures in life, which do not cost much to realize, but have a tremendous impact on fond memories and close family bonding, in a Singapore that was not too long ago, in a not too distant past, where life was so much more simpler and joyful.

[thumbsup] Same

My children still love going to such simple, 'yesterday' places for family makan with me till todays. It sure brings back fond memories for the family.

You are so very right there!!!

That's the problem with a lot here

Must have credit card - pay cash not good enuf, or just no enuf!

Must have condo - HDB not good enuf, or want both ... but nowsaday the large condo setups run like HDB liddat ... somemore, 1 car park space per unit/proprietor - where got crass one??

Must have country club - public courses, public pools, public courts not style enuf

Must have car - public transport not convenient enuf to hao lian

Must earn plenty money, make lots of money from stocks and equities.

Must send children to top universities, anything less than a bachelor degree is lau kui

What happens when they invest but lose most, or all of their money? They cry mother, cry father, blame the banks and want their money back! So chao kuan!

What happens when their money no enuf to buy car, because COE too expensive? They kpkb and blame LTA, blame MoT and blame garmen.

What happens when their children cannot get into university? No, they will not admit that their children are not clever enuf. Instead, they blame garmen for incentivising foreign students to study here.

What happens when they now realize they cannot afford to buy private property, after the recent cooling measures to limit total loan exposure? They try to circumvent the rules by 'transferring' ownership(s), get around ABSD rules, etc. And if still cannot take high loan, they blame the garmen.

For all these people, if they really want to realize all their aspirations (some of which described above), they need to upgrade themselves first lah.

Target to raise their INDIVIDUAL income levels to $250,000 and up to $500,000 p.a., or more.

Then can they truly enjoy the luxury of REALLY LIVING it in Singapore and NOT comprain!

Anything less will only be making ends meet and the daily grunge ...

Otherwise, they should really consider taking the advice of our fellow MCFer paikia: to buy a bungalow with sprawling lawn and swimming pool in JB, a bolehsian-registered car(s) and even a personal driver!

Well said and I agree with you.

What Astrid said rang a bell in the deep recesses of my mind.

I have 2 grown-up children, studying overseas.

Once, not too long ago, when they were back here on vacation, they reminesced that the best and most memorable time during their childhood days was to have quiet family dinners at an old cze char stall in a rundown coffee shop, in one of Singapore's older HDB heartland ........ al fresco.

Such simple pleasures in life, which do not cost much to realize, but have a tremendous impact on fond memories and close family bonding, in a Singapore that was not too long ago, in a not too distant past, where life was so much more simpler and joyful.

Many of these places that form part of the "heartlander" Singapore where we all grew up from childhood to adult life are disappearing.

While some are still around, I will try to bring my next generation and family to the coffee shops and markets to teach or remind them of what Singapore used to be and how we can be happy and contented with such simple pleasures.

[thumbsup] Same

My children still love going to such simple, 'yesterday' places for family makan with me till todays. It sure brings back fond memories for the family.

aft reading WK's post, i really miss those days when we have zichar dinner with family of 5 for just $15. the days when my dad probably earning 1k could bring all of us up.

As long as you are content, life is simple :)

Afterall, we can't bring coe to our coffin when we die leh...

so long as we live well, and treat our families well, our families will remember fondly of us when we pass away

1 Agreed

2 Make sure its with SO only hor..... no no to steal-eat [grin]

3 You can always re-live such simple joy by buying me prata anyway, we will eat and re-live your old days together!!

btw, I still eat at these old places (wherever they still can be found) nowadays.... and I notice I wont have to share the space with today's young punks at these old joints as they prefer to spend their money at branded places eg Starbak etc.

2. SAF number 1 rule! Just remember and OK liao..

3. Mai lah, one prata now 90 cents? Can almost pay one hour parking leh. And @Radx still haven't given me my parking coupons yet.

I go both types, some new cafes for atmosphere and nice service, and those old place for cheap food and old times sake.

they reminesced that the best and most memorable time during their childhood days was to have quiet family dinners at an old cze char stall in a rundown coffee shop, in one of Singapore's older HDB heartland ........ al fresco.

k, let's give up the stressful life of driving and rename this:

My Coffeeshop Forum

As long as you are content, life is simple :)

Afterall, we can't bring coe to our coffin when we die leh...

so long as we live well, and treat our families well, our families will remember fondly of us when we pass away

Maybe COB - Certificate Of Burial / Ashes will be openned for bidding when our island run of space with 6.9m staying here. Edited by Super7

LOL... if he lived in HDB flat, must find somewhere big enough for his car unless he drove QQ, which can be buried under staircase of overhead bridge [grin]

yeah, must spend more money to buy a plot of burial ground large enough,

but then can save coffin money as the car will serve as the coffin [laugh]

I go both types, some new cafes for atmosphere and nice service, and those old place for cheap food and old times sake.

repeat

Edited by Super7

your budget for kopi must be big ---- one cup kopi in branded cafe can actually buy 4-5 cups in old school kopitiams.!! [sweatdrop]

new cafes all look more or less the same synthetic looks, whereas old kopitiams have characters [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

yeah, must spend more money to buy a plot of burial ground large enough,

but then can save coffin money as the car will serve as the coffin [laugh]

oh ya, actually the car will be considered scrapped and his family can take back balance of COE and part of PARF / OMV from LTA!!! [thumbsup]

your budget for kopi must be big ---- one cup kopi in branded cafe can actually buy 4-5 cups in old school kopitiams.!! [sweatdrop]

new cafes all look more or less the same synthetic looks, whereas old kopitiams have characters [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

Best of all, I don't drink coffee! Haha..

What to do? My GF pull me to those cafe type.. Otherwise I would never have started going by myself.. She lim kopi, I stare at the chio bu / xmm wait staff.. Both happy..

Anyway, those old kopitiams, also must find the right ones, a lot of the current ones, not good anyways..

Best of all, I don't drink coffee! Haha..

What to do? My GF pull me to those cafe type.. Otherwise I would never have started going by myself.. She lim kopi, I stare at the chio bu / xmm wait staff.. Both happy..

Anyway, those old kopitiams, also must find the right ones, a lot of the current ones, not good anyways..

Come to think of it, usually the ladies dont fancy the old school kopitiam..... only men (some) do.

Starbuck has chio xmm? which one? mus share hor [grin]

For old kopitiams, we must be selective also, else like you said, end up the toilet also cmi!!!

Crowd at Commonwealth Towers pre-launch.

These are people who are willing to que, bid and spend a million plus to live it up.

If only we can see the same 'crowd' of people in each bi-monthly COE bidding exercise, we can probably see some familiar faces :-O

But too bad, COE bidding is in the netherworld and we will never feel the surge of the pushing crowd, to really see and feel the desperation of growing demand swell for COEs and buying new cars.

Now that (IF) COE premia were to dip a bit, I cannot imagine the chaos of people chionging for perceived 'cheaper-COEs', like the peekture attached!!!

post-7140-0-70327600-1397623350_thumb.jpg