Pisces69 6th Gear April 17, 2014 Share April 17, 2014 I remember many friends renewed COE when PQP dropped to 3k (for 10year) around 2009. Maybe we will see a repeat soon. Ya lor. I wud have been one of them cos I too wanted to renew my COE on my 19 year old Corona CD(Its COE wud expire in 3/2009) but I tot the COE was going to climb high cos gharmen mentioned th wil cut COEs soon. Thats why I trade the Corona in for the Optra in 3/2008. Well ty didnt cut COEs n the economy went down n so did the price of COEs. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic April 17, 2014 Share April 17, 2014 (edited) if one person drive from 25 years old to 65 years old and keep their car for 10 years ... will only drive 4 cars so call in their "life" life is short ... if one can "afford" and "willing" to spend on car ... why not? don't tell me keeping car for 10 years is not "spending money" ... yes depreciation is low but still a "waste" of money in many people eyes where public transport can do the job especially for those drive home > office > home if can spend ... spend la ... help govt to collect more tax ma .... so i can also get pioneer package next time from coe money ... lol similarly buying a rolex does not tell a more choon time than a seiko or citizen just a matter of choice what money want to be spent or wasted These cud b the new suckers who paid >$70K for their COE thinking its the norm here. Only when the COE drops to <$10K wil ty realise......What goes up can also come down........but its too late for them. Dun worry, there wil b many car dealers only too willing to give then some "good advice" ty can scrap their high COE cars n use the $$$ recovered to buy a new car even. Like that dealers made their comissions from them twice. Well then ty sud hv learnt their lesson. But there wil still b suckers who wil pay the super high COE when ty need a car bad enough. Remember the saying.."Theres a fool born every minitue". Edited April 17, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic April 17, 2014 Share April 17, 2014 dont get me wrong ... i too agree with you 1. what goes up must comes down 2. they are many sucker out there die die want to buy new car just that different strokes for different folks those who earn >$250k per annum (per head hor not per household) $70k $90k coe is really sup sup water ... when they change car they dont bother to ask coe how much ... coe did not affect their decision to change car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achee 4th Gear April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 We must give credit to buyers who paid or do not mind to pay high for their COEs. These buyers contributed to our economy or otherwise our gahmen has to raise taxes to finance the $4.3 billion MCE, $1.1 billion to buy 550 buses, $6.7 billion Circle Line etc. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 if one person drive from 25 years old to 65 years old and keep their car for 10 years ... will only drive 4 cars so call in their "life" life is short ... if one can "afford" and "willing" to spend on car ... why not? don't tell me keeping car for 10 years is not "spending money" ... yes depreciation is low but still a "waste" of money in many people eyes where public transport can do the job especially for those drive home > office > home if can spend ... spend la ... help govt to collect more tax ma .... so i can also get pioneer package next time from coe money ... lol similarly buying a rolex does not tell a more choon time than a seiko or citizen just a matter of choice what money want to be spent or wasted I agree with you in a way. IF money is not a big issue, why not be a bit 潇洒 and change car as and when you like. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 I agree with you in a way. IF money is not a big issue, why not be a bit 潇洒 and change car as and when you like. But money is an issue for maybe 70-80% of car driver?.... Only those who buy cash has no issue ... Hehe.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
frenchfly 5th Gear April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 More coe does not meant cheap coe prices :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 (edited) those who earn >$250k per annum (per head hor not per household) $70k $90k coe is really sup sup water ... when they change car they dont bother to ask coe how much ... coe did not affect their decision to change car I respectfully disagree. Not all who earn 250k per annum (per head) will go ahead to buy cars with coe that costs $70k to $90k. I noticed that a lot of Singaporeans at certain stage of their lives or at some point, either fail or forgot to look further ahead to plan for retirement and/or financial prudence. In the context of Singapore, a car is a depreciating piece of metal. Edited April 18, 2014 by Yuan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 I respectfully disagree. Not all who earn 250k per annum (per head) will go ahead to buy cars with coe that costs $70k to $90k. I noticed that a lot of Singaporeans at certain stage of their lives or at some point, either fail or forgot to look further ahead to plan for retirement and/or financial prudence. In the context of Singapore, a car is a depreciating piece of metal. I agree with you. 250k annual income does not mean you don't have to think about buying a car with 90k COE. I keep thinking how much yield I am giving up when I part with 200k for a piece of depreciating piece of metal (to quote your words), this is especially when there are cheap stuff on sale with potentially very high returns when the market turns. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 I respectfully disagree. Not all who earn 250k per annum (per head) will go ahead to buy cars with coe that costs $70k to $90k. I noticed that a lot of Singaporeans at certain stage of their lives or at some point, either fail or forgot to look further ahead to plan for retirement and/or financial prudence. In the context of Singapore, a car is a depreciating piece of metal. Agree. If the person spends 90k on COE just for a car at the expense of preparing well financially for retirement, he is likely to regret it when the time comes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matrix0405 5th Gear April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 When does the new quota kicks in? Next bid or 1 May onwards? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 (edited) i respectfully said that those earning > $250k is not stupid either of course they are very smart financially too ... they know what returns they can get they can earn so fast so much that what i am saying $90k coe did not affect their decision to change car I respectfully disagree. Not all who earn 250k per annum (per head) will go ahead to buy cars with coe that costs $70k to $90k. I noticed that a lot of Singaporeans at certain stage of their lives or at some point, either fail or forgot to look further ahead to plan for retirement and/or financial prudence. In the context of Singapore, a car is a depreciating piece of metal. Edited April 18, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 (edited) Hoping for coe to soften a little. Looking at buying my 1st merc, 2014/5 model C class, when my bimmer scrap end of the year. Have to reward myself for working so hard the past 20yrs Edited April 18, 2014 by Amazon777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dragonfly1 1st Gear April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 You see, there is a LOT of 'YOU' in similar situation, even the expanded number will not cope with the demand and hence unlikely COE price unlikely to drop. Work hard in Singapore does not always get you the 'luxury' items like cars which the govt classed as 'ultra-luxury', you have to pay through your nose!!!! Unless you r the minister, banker or property developer...... be prepared to walk or cycle in future!!! Life not fair.. Hoping for coe to soften a little. Looking at buying my 1st merc, 2014/5 model C class, when my bimmer scrap end of the year. Have to reward myself for working so hard the past 20yrs 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 (edited) yup ... the queue for waiting to change car starts from pasir ris to tuas liao ... all waiting ... waiting ... waiting .... to push the button You see, there is a LOT of 'YOU' in similar situation, even the expanded number will not cope with the demand and hence unlikely COE price unlikely to drop. Work hard in Singapore does not always get you the 'luxury' items like cars which the govt classed as 'ultra-luxury', you have to pay through your nose!!!! Unless you r the minister, banker or property developer...... be prepared to walk or cycle in future!!! Life not fair.. Edited April 18, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Van 1st Gear April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 Snapshot latest prices (after announcement of next qtr coe data) Volvo V40 used to ad 165know 75k w/o coewow their coe buffer was 90k Mazda 6 used to ad 153,988now 136,988they expect coe to drop 17,000 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdexxxxd 2nd Gear April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 Snapshot latest prices (after announcement of next qtr coe data) Volvo V40 used to ad 165k now 75k w/o coe wow their coe buffer was 90k Mazda 6 used to ad 153,988 now 136,988 they expect coe to drop 17,000 Means the May round 1 could drop below $70k immediately? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 (edited) You see, there is a LOT of 'YOU' in similar situation, even the expanded number will not cope with the demand and hence unlikely COE price unlikely to drop. Work hard in Singapore does not always get you the 'luxury' items like cars which the govt classed as 'ultra-luxury', you have to pay through your nose!!!! Unless you r the minister, banker or property developer...... be prepared to walk or cycle in future!!! Life not fair.. Bro, I owned 2 cars and have 2 private condos bought low many years back and I'm in the banking sector for the past 15yrs. I intend to use condo rental to finance my next new car, I'll be getting. I'll be glad COE can soften 10 to 20%, if not just signed and buy at prevailing price then. Getting tired always buying used Conti cars. Last count have bought 5 used bimmers already and another 10 Asian models over the past donkey years. Last year, I signed on dotted line for the CLA200, ended up cancelled the deal, luckily no penalty after nag by my spouse coz of the cramp rear/ low slopping roof, causing My in-law head keep on bumping onto it. Looks like the new 2014 W205 fit my bill Edited April 18, 2014 by Amazon777 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...