Roh96 6th Gear April 23, 2014 Share April 23, 2014 Yes, many ppl are still going in to grab their 2nd property and paying that additional 7% duty. And yes, many ppl are still going in to grab a new car at 80K COE. When come to property and car, sporeans are very generous. yes, current environment still flushed with money/ credit Just like COE, many say the ADSD/ TDSR will wipe out demand. Yes, it took out the marginal players, but many still can and willing to pay the high 6 figures stamp duty in cash. Case in point, close to 60% of the buyers for lakeville were purchasers of 2nd or more property. That's a lot of people who are paying $100-200+K in stamp duty! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged April 23, 2014 Share April 23, 2014 good ... looking forward for big angpow in budget 2015 this year got nothing leh ... all goes to pioneer liao wait long long.. cannot raid the reserves OK! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matrix0405 5th Gear April 23, 2014 Share April 23, 2014 Most people driving end of life cars cannot afford new car with COE at 80k, so they will continue to buy preowned cars, so replacement demand for new cars may not be that strong. There are of course those who can afford 80k COE and who buy and keep their cars for 10 years but they are far and few. The rich will always buy, no matter what, so will the rich buy another 2 new cars should COE drop to say, 50k, when they already have 2 in the garage? Given 50% increase (example) in demand and 4-6 folds increase in supply, price should drop, right? Agree. Prices are coming down nicely for 2016. Big Boss can control the price, even thou they smoke u with econ's demand-supply theory. Big Boss chose to implement claw-back + reduce veh growth zhun zhun when supply is at it lowest; instead of doing it in 2016, when supply returns. This policy has resulted in $3B revenue. It shows the LTA scholars are brilliant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic April 23, 2014 Share April 23, 2014 (edited) will AD slash price by $10K for big car? anyway, $10k for cat b is sup sup water la SINGAPORE: Premiums for Certificates of Entitlement (COE) ended mostly down in the second COE bidding exercise for April. The premium for small cars went down by S$6,065 to end at S$71,335. COE for big cars (above 1,600cc or 97kW) also fell, going down by S$9,494 to close at S$75,010. The open category saw a significant decrease, falling by S$10,290 to S$73,810. The biggest decrease though, was in the premiums for commercial vehicles -- which fell S$16,613 to S$32,890. The COE price for motorcycles was the only one to buck the trend, edging up S$13 to S$4,502. Edited April 23, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear April 23, 2014 Share April 23, 2014 Me opposite of u.. after getting my 1st 3 rides brand new..,. decided to go the pre-owned route after tat... in Sg... 1st owner take depreciation hard hard... and with sites like Sgcarmart/car forums, basically internet... i can get really good pre-owned rides...minus the cut-throat depreciation... also with the same budget I can get a higher model... It's just a good feeling to get a new car, after saving up for so long. Yeah maybe in the future I'll go back to getting a used car one I get tired of this one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobt Supercharged April 23, 2014 Share April 23, 2014 drop drop drop, i will extend my COE if it drops another 30K Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic April 23, 2014 Share April 23, 2014 Now, its still at $70+k, still along way to reach $30+k. Maybe if every quarter drop $10+k, then maybe we can see $30+k next year.. just in time for garmen to give us a nice 50 years anniversary present :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 23, 2014 Share April 23, 2014 Most people driving end of life cars cannot afford new car with COE at 80k, so they will continue to buy preowned cars, so replacement demand for new cars may not be that strong. There are of course those who can afford 80k COE and who buy and keep their cars for 10 years but they are far and few. The rich will always buy, no matter what, so will the rich buy another 2 new cars should COE drop to say, 50k, when they already have 2 in the garage? Given 50% increase (example) in demand and 4-6 folds increase in supply, price should drop, right? Maybe these group of people who cannot afford new cars and also the price of resale cars now, waiting for the coe to drop, so that resale cars price also drop then can go in to buy resale cars. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 23, 2014 Share April 23, 2014 (edited) Now, its still at $70+k, still along way to reach $30+k. Maybe if every quarter drop $10+k, then maybe we can see $30+k next year.. just in time for garmen to give us a nice 50 years anniversary present :) Im budgeting for <$30K for Cat A COE by early 2016. Maybe even less. Then I wil either renew my current COE for 10 years or get a 2nd hand car within my budget. I am hoping for <$30K COE by 2016 which I think is very likely. 1999 COE was $32K. 2006 it was abt $12K n 2009 it was $7K ONLY. Edited April 23, 2014 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged April 23, 2014 Share April 23, 2014 (edited) 1999 COE was $32K. 2006 it was abt $12K n 2009 it was $7K ONLY. 2009 per COE bid rd quota was abt 1800. The recent increase in quota is only up to abt 1100 per bid. Add to that total people population increase of abt 400,000 since 2009, my own forecast is that even in recession, COE will drop to abt 30K max. Edited April 23, 2014 by Duckduck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged April 23, 2014 Share April 23, 2014 (edited) I know of someone who is gonna go public after car Coe end. So one more Coe I to the system that current owner is not replacing by either buying used or new car It's bec of the 40/50% down payment rule.. He can only go for 90-100% loan even on used car. In Singapore, it's weird to pay top $$ for car here and only drive 10 years. $100-200k extra over a 10 year period can pay for a child overseas education Im budgeting for <$30K for Cat A COE by early 2016. Maybe even less. Then I wil either renew my current COE for 10 years or get a 2nd hand car within my budget. I am hoping for <$30K COE by 2016 which I think is very likely. 1999 COE was $32K. 2006 it was abt $12K n 2009 it was $7K ONLY. My 2 car Coe was around 17k in 2005 and 15k in 2008.. I am feeling the pinch for current new car owners.. Pay $80k for Coe, pay higher ARF, and also the dealers increased their profit margin due to lower sales volume.. Edited April 23, 2014 by Chucky2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobt Supercharged April 23, 2014 Share April 23, 2014 people just never learn the lesson. during the mid 90s, many car owners have to hug their car for the rest of the bad time when the COE tumble from $90k during asia crisis. now, the history repeats again. those owners who bought their new /old car with high COE would have to hug their expensive for the next 10 years if the COE tumble again. 10 years is not short during the bad time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 23, 2014 Share April 23, 2014 I know of someone who is gonna go public after car Coe end. So one more Coe I to the system that current owner is not replacing by either buying used or new car It's bec of the 40/50% down payment rule.. He can only go for 90-100% loan even on used car. In Singapore, it's weird to pay top $$ for car here and only drive 10 years. $100-200k extra over a 10 year period can pay for a child overseas education My 2 car Coe was around 17k in 2005 and 15k in 2008.. I am feeling the pinch for current new car owners.. Pay $80k for Coe, pay higher ARF, and also the dealers increased their profit margin due to lower sales volume.. I wonder who r those happily paying $80K for the piece of paper only(COE) I wud b unable to sleep if I paid $80K for a piece of paper only. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 23, 2014 Share April 23, 2014 people just never learn the lesson. during the mid 90s, many car owners have to hug their car for the rest of the bad time when the COE tumble from $90k during asia crisis. now, the history repeats again. those owners who bought their new /old car with high COE would have to hug their expensive for the next 10 years if the COE tumble again. 10 years is not short during the bad time. As last times when pple bought cars with high COE n COE tumbled, ty just sell/scrap their cars n recover the residual scrap n body values n usually the amt is enough to get a same make/model but brand new car. Thats how ty cut their losses but stil lose a lot of money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 23, 2014 Share April 23, 2014 Im budgeting for <$30K for Cat A COE by early 2016. Maybe even less. Then I wil either renew my current COE for 10 years or get a 2nd hand car within my budget. I am hoping for <$30K COE by 2016 which I think is very likely. 1999 COE was $32K. 2006 it was abt $12K n 2009 it was $7K ONLY. Even coe is to drop to 30k by 2016, but many people who bought their cars in 2004 and 2005 cannot wait until then. Even those who bought cars in early 2006 also cannot wait. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged April 23, 2014 Share April 23, 2014 Im budgeting for <$30K for Cat A COE by early 2016. Maybe even less. Then I wil either renew my current COE for 10 years or get a 2nd hand car within my budget. I am hoping for <$30K COE by 2016 which I think is very likely. 1999 COE was $32K. 2006 it was abt $12K n 2009 it was $7K ONLY. Highly unlikely. 1) The population has increased significantly over the short span of the past few years 2) 6.9 million projected population is on the way 3) 100,000 cars per year were registered during the golden years of 2005 to 2009. Many are waiting to replace their cars. Demand far outstrips supply 4) Add in 1/3 of the population which is made up of foreigners and PRs. a significant no. of whom are cash rich and first time car buyers Unless there is a recession, unlikely COE prices for cat A & B will fall below $50,000. Mark my words. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic April 23, 2014 Share April 23, 2014 (edited) when coe was $30k crossing $40k ... my jaw drop when coe hits $50k ... i told many it is crazy. who would paid $50k for coe. when coe hits $70k hovers for sometime before hits crazy $90k ... speechless now ... all dealers sing the same song that $70k ... cheap liao ... what are you waiting for. no buy now, next $80k $90k ... miss the boat hor Edited April 23, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 23, 2014 Share April 23, 2014 Highly unlikely. 1) The population has increased significantly over the short span of the past few years 2) 6.9 million projected population is on the way 3) 100,000 cars per year were registered during the golden years of 2005 to 2009. Many are waiting to replace their cars. Demand far outstrips supply 4) Add in 1/3 of the population which is made up of foreigners and PRs. a significant no. of whom are cash rich and first time car buyers Unless there is a recession, unlikely COE prices for cat A & B will fall below $50,000. Mark my words. Well when the COE was >$100K that time n many pple said impossible for it to come down much blah blah blah etc etc etc. In a few years it had dropped to just $7K. Hahahahahaha. So now from $70K to drop to <$10K why cannot? All we need is something to spur or jolt the market n then we see it tumble like a house of cards. when coe was $30k crossing $40k ... my jaw drop when coe hits $50k ... i told many it is crazy. who would paid $50k for coe. when coe hits $70k hovers for sometime before hits crazy $90k ... speechless now ... all dealers sing the same song that $70k ... cheap ... ok la ... mai hiam liao How true. For us to predict how much the COE can go up or down is impossible. I think easier to predict the next TOTO draw 6 winning numbers. Hahahahaha. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...