Pisces69 6th Gear April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 We must give credit to buyers who paid or do not mind to pay high for their COEs. These buyers contributed to our economy or otherwise our gahmen has to raise taxes to finance the $4.3 billion MCE, $1.1 billion to buy 550 buses, $6.7 billion Circle Line etc. Yes so true. We must remember all those suckers who pay super high prices to gharmen for super high profits, ty r actually helping those who r prudent n time their purchases to b much cheaper with smaller profits to the gharmen. Those who pay high high r subsidising al those others who paid low low prices. I sud actually say "Thanks" to all those who paid >$70K for their COEs. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 Bro, I owned 2 cars and have 2 private condos bought low many years back and I'm in the banking sector for the past 15yrs. I intend to use condo rental to finance my next new car, I'll be getting. I'll be glad COE can soften 10 to 20%, if not just signed and buy at prevailing price then. Getting tired always buying used Conti cars. Last count have bought 5 used bimmers already and another 10 Asian models over the past donkey years. Last year, I signed on dotted line for the CLA200, ended up cancelled the deal, luckily no penalty after nag by my spouse coz of the cramp rear/ low slopping roof, causing My in-law head keep on bumping onto it. Looks like the new 2014 W205 fit my bill Whoever put a "dislike" and commented "do not act elitist" ANONYMOUSLY for my previous posting should do something about this guy! So hao lian! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 Hoping for coe to soften a little. Looking at buying my 1st merc, 2014/5 model C class, when my bimmer scrap end of the year. Have to reward myself for working so hard the past 20yrs Have a colleague whos family IS250 just traded in for a 3 mth old C Class. From his previous 205hp down to current 122hp (restricted) C class, he KPKBing that the C Class underpowered, sluggish...etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 (edited) Whoever put a "dislike" and commented "do not act elitist" ANONYMOUSLY for my previous posting should do something about this guy! So hao lian!Bro, I where got haolian. I started from driving a old 9yrs old Hyundai & old COE car donkey years back and come a long way and I don't come from privilege background. This is what I wrote initially but getting obvious reply , I'm definitely hoping to get a good deal, and I really get excited over a brand new Merc model, which I don't have a chance to own all these while "Hoping for coe to soften a little. Looking at buying my 1st merc, 2014/5 model C class, when my bimmer scrap end of the year. Have to reward myself for working so hard the past 20yrs" You'll be surprised the richie rich in SG, so wealthy can spent without blinking an eye. I''m definitely not in the league. Edited April 18, 2014 by Amazon777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 (edited) Have a colleague whos family IS250 just traded in for a 3 mth old C Class. From his previous 205hp down to current 122hp (restricted) C class, he KPKBing that the C Class underpowered, sluggish...etc. I hope below new W205 model will be huge improvement over current W204http://www.emercedesbenz.com/autos/mercedes-benz/c-class/review-of-the-mercedes-benz-c-class/ Edited April 18, 2014 by Amazon777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 Bro, I where got haolian. I started from driving a old 9yrs old Hyundai & old COE car donkey years back and come a long way and I don't come from privilege background. This is what I wrote initially but getting obvious reply , I'm definitely hoping to get a good deal, and I really get excited over a brand new Merc model, which I don't have a chance to own all these while "Hoping for coe to soften a little. Looking at buying my 1st merc, 2014/5 model C class, when my bimmer scrap end of the year. Have to reward myself for working so hard the past 20yrs" You'll be surprised the richie rich in SG, so wealthy can spent without blinking an eye. I''m definitely not in the league. Just pulling your leg lah. Not aiming at you but some coward who has no guts. Anyway feel happy for you to be able to get something to reward yourself. I also believe in living life now and not in future, but definitely responsibly and within means. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 I hope below new W205 model will be huge improvement over current W204 http://www.emercedesbenz.com/autos/mercedes-benz/c-class/review-of-the-mercedes-benz-c-class/ Oh I guess u looking at the 2.0 L 181hp model?. Initially thought that from a beemer, to a restricted 122hp C Class, u may be a little disappointed with the performance. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achee 4th Gear April 19, 2014 Share April 19, 2014 Means the May round 1 could drop below $70k immediately? Not necessarily. AD would factor in a 'contingency sum' in their profit margin when COE prices were on the uptrend or projected to go up so as to serve as a buffer. Some popular makes' profit margin for their basic models exceeded $50K (calculated using OMV + relevant taxes) when their OMVs were merely $25K+. For AD to mark down their advertised prices, it means that they do not foresee the risk of COE prices going up and hence reduce their 'contingency sum' accordingly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged April 19, 2014 Share April 19, 2014 (edited) To Calculate distributor's cost,simply take OMV X 2.5 plus COE value. Take selling price minus this cost, equals profit. Edited April 19, 2014 by Vinceng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kranjipioneer 3rd Gear April 19, 2014 Share April 19, 2014 Snapshot latest prices (after announcement of next qtr coe data) Volvo V40 used to ad 165k now 75k w/o coe wow their coe buffer was 90k Mazda 6 used to ad 153,988 now 136,988 they expect coe to drop 17,000 Today's paper Chevrolet Orlando at $129,999. Recalled seeing the same ad last week for $139,999. Anticipating a drop of $10k in Cat B in next bidding ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged April 19, 2014 Share April 19, 2014 Today's paper Chevrolet Orlando at $129,999. Recalled seeing the same ad last week for $139,999. Anticipating a drop of $10k in Cat B in next bidding ? Common tactic for some ADs to lock in customers over 3 months in anticipation of drop in coe. Non-guaranteed coe. Not expected to happen at next bidding lah. Mazda 6 even better value at same price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Penknife 5th Gear April 20, 2014 Share April 20, 2014 so, more COE that means price of 2nd hand cars will drop? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic April 20, 2014 Share April 20, 2014 (edited) used car price run parallel with new car price index AD raise price few ks ... used car dealer also raise price just watch out for new car price can liao spore is the only market in the world that used car price is not based on condition and mileage but "benchmark" with new car price in the rest of the world market, i have never seen a used car price went up instead of went down so, more COE that means price of 2nd hand cars will drop? Edited April 20, 2014 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic April 20, 2014 Share April 20, 2014 so, more COE that means price of 2nd hand cars will drop? Spoke w my ws yesterday. He felt that it would only be the case if.......this more COE phenomena maintains for at least the next 6 mths. Only beyond this will we see more significant drops. Yes, just look at prices of the new car, then divide accdly to the number of yrs left for the 2nd hand car, the price would be thereabout. If buying from a 2nd hand dealer, condition/mileage is irrelevant (unless its to their advantage). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear April 20, 2014 Share April 20, 2014 I feel 5yo n above prices shd hold due to lower dp outlay n in essence, '10 year loan' stil applicable. But the young ones 1-2yo wil b hit quite bad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged April 20, 2014 Share April 20, 2014 in the rest of the world market, i have never seen a used car price went up instead of went down Classic cars lor.. But yeah, I get what you mean.. [bigcry] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 20, 2014 Share April 20, 2014 Dun worry. Sporeans all very fast to take out calculator n check if can still "earn" or 'Make money" or not. Hahahaha. Once the price goes over the tipping point u wil see hordes of nice shiny new cars being scrapped n re-exported out. With so many high COE cars now it wun b too hard to go over the tipping point when COE prices crash. Just like in the Stock Market when it crashes, there wil b a mad scramble to get out with yr shirt on yr back n yr pants round yr waist. Hahahaha. Those fast enough can still laugh . Those too slow to react wil b crying. I remember they have tweaked the scrap formula, so the cycle (scrap new cars and buy new low COE car) may not materialize. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic April 20, 2014 Share April 20, 2014 the current scrap formula does not work in favour for cars less than 5 years. If > 5 year-old, not much diff. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...