Qpik Supercharged October 20, 2014 Share October 20, 2014 Dun be like that mah, you make it sound like M'sia is like a caveman country. M'sia also got online Apple store, it's just that over there they are not one of the first countries who sell iphone6. They have to wait. Acherlee, u r rite but the most impt thing is electronic items r very expensive. My frens will come out n get stuff. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nonpareil 4th Gear October 20, 2014 Share October 20, 2014 Yes i still wonder why people still love to go SLS, maybe they prefer to bargain and feel good if they feel discount alot, unlike me feel good buy in best denki knowing that is the fixed lowest price haha I too wonder why people still go SLS to buy general electronic goods, I can understand PC components or maybe some specialist audio stuff but general electronics goods is a definite no go for me at SLS. I rather go best denki instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byteslurve Supersonic October 20, 2014 Share October 20, 2014 Cheaters~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear October 20, 2014 Share October 20, 2014 Another big fish S$4876 X 2.5 = M$12,190 =========================== http://www.therealsingapore.com/content/malaysian-diving-star-shares-his-experiences-being-scammed-sim-lim-square Malaysian diving star, Ooi Tze Liang is the latest victim of notorious handphone shop called Mobile Planet, located at #01-41 of Sim Lim Square. Ooi was at the shop on Friday to purchase two iPhone 6. The price quoted to him was $2,500 for the two phones. After paying for the phone, Ooi said he was asked by the shop to sign up for an in house warranty package which would cover damages such as broken screens and damage caused by water. Ooi said: "We were told that the international warranty features would cover almost every (type of) damage but the shop owner did not say how much it would cost us." On receiving the receipt after being told to sign the contract, he realized the "package" cost a further $2,376. According to Ooi: "The shopkeeper would not hand over the phones unless I paid for the contract. He said I would have to fork out $800 to cancel the contract." In the end, he had to fork out a total of $4,876 for two phones. This worked out to be $2,438 for each phone, a 100% markup over the market price. This is not the first time Mobile Planet has been accused of fleecing tourists. A casual search for its name on the internet turned up an entry in Trip Advisor posted by another tourist who was asked to pay an additional sum of $300 for a Nexus 5 which cost $380. Friends, please help share this around so that unethical shops like Mobile Planet can be punished. Otherwise, more will fall prey to its unscrupulous sales tactics. Why go buy from SLS in the 1st place?? I only buy computer components / accessories from the computer shops there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic October 20, 2014 Share October 20, 2014 I guess when a tourist asks Singaporean where to buy electronics, many people still recommend SLS or Funan. Cos they say cheap not safe haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear October 20, 2014 Share October 20, 2014 I guess when a tourist asks Singaporean where to buy electronics, many people still recommend SLS or Funan. Then those S'poreans muz be cons as well!! BTW is it really that cheap to buy electronics from S'pore?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged October 20, 2014 Share October 20, 2014 Then those S'poreans muz be cons as well!! BTW is it really that cheap to buy electronics from S'pore?? TP-Link 8 port gigabit ethernet switch. Sim Lim S$69. Low Yat RM99. USB car charger 2 port 3.1A SIM LIM S$20 Low Yat RM15. Singapore, the most expensive city in the WORLD! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic October 20, 2014 Share October 20, 2014 y tourist come sg buy electronics.... go hkg or taiwan or jippun la... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 29, 2014 Share October 29, 2014 these black listed shop really KL a woman ask for refund of a phone bought, the shop return her $1K all in 10 cents and 5 cents coin 女郎要手机店退款 竟收到千元银角 29/10/2014 on 联合晚报 by 魏洁莹 黑店门口散落一地的银角。(受访者提供) 女郎要店家为所买的手机退款,竟拿到一大袋多达1010元的5分1角各种银角,得数钱4小时,警察上门。这起事件昨午2时在森林商业中心手机店 Mobile Air 发生。读者通报称这家手机店门外一地银角,疑店员和顾客争执而起。记者抵达时见店里柜台上有各种银角,两个女郎埋头数钱。 记者要进入店内了解情况,却受到店员阻止。 其中一名数钱的女郎告诉记者,她是来本地旅行,9月24日和在本地居住的阿姨在这家手机店花了3000元买了一台iPhone 6手机。 更详细报道,可翻阅《联合晚报》。 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic October 29, 2014 Share October 29, 2014 these black listed shop really KL a woman ask for refund of a phone bought, the shop return her $1K all in 10 cents and 5 cents coin [shocked] Must be damn heavy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 29, 2014 Share October 29, 2014 $3000 to buy a iphone 6?? Wtf man... Anyway, 10 cents and 5 cents are legal tender so not wrong. Once got a customer also paid my company in 10 cents coin. 照收! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged October 29, 2014 Share October 29, 2014 $3000 to buy a iphone 6?? Wtf man... Anyway, 10 cents and 5 cents are legal tender so not wrong. Once got a customer also paid my company in 10 cents coin. 照收! I thought there is a limit to how many 10c, 20c or 50c is legal tender? Only $1 coin and notes got no limit. So if they want to pay all in coins they only can pay her in $1 coins. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passat57 3rd Gear October 29, 2014 Share October 29, 2014 I thought there is a limit to how many 10c, 20c or 50c is legal tender? Only $1 coin and notes got no limit. So if they want to pay all in coins they only can pay her in $1 coins. Correct, can report mata. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 29, 2014 Share October 29, 2014 Correct, can report mata. Report mata?? Forget it man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pms 3rd Gear October 29, 2014 Share October 29, 2014 (edited) Last time got a tourist asking me if SLS is a good place to buy electronics. I told him straight that SLS full of conman, locals also avoid going there. He got a rude shock. Told him better go buy at major electronics store for a piece of mind. Edited October 29, 2014 by Pms 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic October 30, 2014 Share October 30, 2014 these black listed shop really KL a woman ask for refund of a phone bought, the shop return her $1K all in 10 cents and 5 cents coin I really don't understand ! What is CASE doing? Shouldn't they be banning the shop and better still, bar the directors of the company.. This shop already have so many complaints liao, shouldn't it be suffice to bar them? What is SLS's management doing? Shouldn't they stop leasing the shop to the director of the company? Its hurting SLS's reputation liao... Unless, they both are helpless and useless to stop these shops and directors behind these shops from continuing their acts... Well, sooner or later, SLS's reputation or even our Singapore's reputation will just go down the drains arising from these errant shops... Anyway, I have barred going into SLS as well as Lucky Plaza :) 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 30, 2014 Share October 30, 2014 I really don't understand ! What is CASE doing? Shouldn't they be banning the shop and better still, bar the directors of the company.. This shop already have so many complaints liao, shouldn't it be suffice to bar them? What is SLS's management doing? Shouldn't they stop leasing the shop to the director of the company? Its hurting SLS's reputation liao... Unless, they both are helpless and useless to stop these shops and directors behind these shops from continuing their acts... Well, sooner or later, SLS's reputation or even our Singapore's reputation will just go down the drains arising from these errant shops... Anyway, I have barred going into SLS as well as Lucky Plaza :) strata title (SLS/Lucky Plaza) each shop is own by different owner, owner can rent out happy liao where got check who they rent to. if they set up different company ($2) and get many of those ah beng as director of the company, not easy to track. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic October 30, 2014 Share October 30, 2014 There is nothing much the police can do. When a customer agree to buy and maybe signed an agreement, it is legal even though the price is exorbitant. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...