Throttle2 Supersonic July 11, 2013 Share July 11, 2013 (edited) I get your point but maybe it's my own mentality being shaped by my work where I always look at things from cashflow perspective (cos boss always tell me too) so overtime it also eats into me - why pay in one shot when you can pay slowly at the same price? In fact I asked the AD (where I bought my 2nd piece) whether if I paid in full cash, could he give me extra 3% discount ($240) he said no. He said something like the installment is just a service they provide which cannot be converted into a price discount. I pushed further saying that by paying cash instead of one-time payment credit card there is already a saving of 2% for them which the bank will charge for using credit card and another 2-3% if I use installment plan. So if I paid in cash, they should at least give me the first 2% discount (this is practiced by some electronic shops). He still said no. So since they like that, I didn't want to let them "win" so I took the installment partly just to spite them so that they don't earn the extra 2-3% from me if I didn't take the installment. Afterall these are policies they make themselves. Let me explain why pay in one shot when you can slowly pay at same price. Becos you then truly own the item. (Luxury item, we are talking about here) Many folks also choose to save up until they can feel free enough to walk into the shop and just pay for it in full for the sense of acheivement and true ownership. Of course the other reason is prudence by means of practice. Sometimes People bring about their own cashflow problems. Cant afford to buy in full, then dont buy, will never have cashflow problems. Affording does not mean got $1 buy $1. Affording means got $10 yet buy $1 and have lots to spare. And yes, the whole point is that it is a luxury item. When it is a luxury item, we better be luxurious to buy it otherwise it is really a bit of "slap face swollen to look fat." Of course if your pocket full of money but pay in instalment still can get discount then, that is a different reason for paying by instalment altogether. Anyway, each has his own opinion on this, i am just expressing mine. Do what makes you happy. Edited July 11, 2013 by Throttle2 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged July 11, 2013 Share July 11, 2013 Why not? In fact I always thought for things that I don't change often its ok to use installment (provided no surcharge of course) as the usage will long surpass the installment so might as well just slowly pay. Afterall we earn salary every month so we pay slowly every month no harm. For example my bed which I bought with 2 year installment 5 years ago and now still sleeping on it. But for things like handphone (if you change every 6-9mths) then shouldn't use installment cos then before the first one finish you incur a second one. For me, I "suddenly" bitten by this bug and bought 2 pieces in a short time so the second one bo pian pay installment liao otherwise I will be hit by $11k bill this month. actually u might thing its ok. however these cc promotion also means there will be no discount off retail price. the discount can easily be 5-10% which can be a saving Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear July 11, 2013 Share July 11, 2013 (edited) I ended up getting a 380 recently. Quite a nice versatile watch. Got a modest black gator strap from kain hertitage to match it up Nice. PAM is all about changing straps isn't it? Many more stap ideas over at http://www.sg-roc.com/ I settled for 372 in the end. It is my weekend watch, a change from my week day watch Daytona 116520. Edited July 11, 2013 by Alim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucaswh 1st Gear July 11, 2013 Share July 11, 2013 I get your point but maybe it's my own mentality being shaped by my work where I always look at things from cashflow perspective (cos boss always tell me too) so overtime it also eats into me - why pay in one shot when you can pay slowly at the same price? In fact I asked the AD (where I bought my 2nd piece) whether if I paid in full cash, could he give me extra 3% discount ($240) he said no. He said something like the installment is just a service they provide which cannot be converted into a price discount. I pushed further saying that by paying cash instead of one-time payment credit card there is already a saving of 2% for them which the bank will charge for using credit card and another 2-3% if I use installment plan. So if I paid in cash, they should at least give me the first 2% discount (this is practiced by some electronic shops). He still said no. So since they like that, I didn't want to let them "win" so I took the installment partly just to spite them so that they don't earn the extra 2-3% from me if I didn't take the installment. Afterall these are policies they make themselves. You need to delay your gratification bro. You said you got bitten by The Bug and just bought 2 expensive watches in a short time, with special mention of a possible uncomfortable feeling in the gut for your $11k bill. It's not about cashflow here. If the fact that you had just spent $11k on watches would make you feel that you will be compromising on other better 'needs' in your life, then something is clearly wrong. Hiding behind a small monthly installment is just shielding you from the reality of the purchase, and it's dangerous. The Bug won't just stop here. It definitely wouldn't stop at a Breitling, especially since The Bug JUST got you. For luxurious wants like this, or simply any 'want' at all, it's good to sit back and take time to do research, comparing..while actually setting aside some funds for a while before getting it. On a personal level, I would do the same even if I was loaded. The process of thinking through a purchase is part of the fun, and the accumulated saving gives me a better satisfaction than just walk in to the boutique and splurge my bonus. Most cases, after a while, we discover we may not want the item anymore, and mentally, we find ourselves 'richer' by the price of the item we could have bought. This applied to me in many cases. If I eventually still wanna buy the item, then just buy it. Afterall, I have saved for it and by that time, I would have understood the product well enough to add another level of satisfaction that it's what I really want. In my case, most of the time, I love seeing $ in my pocket the most. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged July 11, 2013 Share July 11, 2013 Let me explain why pay in one shot when you can slowly pay at same price. Becos you then truly own the item. (Luxury item, we are talking about here) Many folks also choose to save up until they can feel free enough to walk into the shop and just pay for it in full for the sense of acheivement and true ownership. Of course the other reason is prudence by means of practice. Sometimes People bring about their own cashflow problems. Cant afford to buy in full, then dont buy, will never have cashflow problems. Affording does not mean got $1 buy $1. Affording means got $10 yet buy $1 and have lots to spare. And yes, the whole point is that it is a luxury item. When it is a luxury item, we better be luxurious to buy it otherwise it is really a bit of "slap face swollen to look fat." Of course if your pocket full of money but pay in instalment still can get discount then, that is a different reason for paying by instalment altogether. Anyway, each has his own opinion on this, i am just expressing mine. Do what makes you happy. Thanks bro, noted and agree :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged July 11, 2013 Share July 11, 2013 (edited) actually u might thing its ok. however these cc promotion also means there will be no discount off retail price. the discount can easily be 5-10% which can be a saving That's the funny thing, I actually got more discount from shop #2 where I paid with installment vs shop #1 which I did not. If anyone wants to know which is shop #2 can PM me. Don't want to say here cos don't want to get them into trouble by saying how much discount they give. So that kinda proves what the shop said that the discount they give cannot increase regardless of whichever method I use to pay. Anyway I think 24 mths is pretty standard and not really a "promotion". All the big shops (hour glass, sincere, all watches, eastern watch, Dickson, etc) all have it all the time. I used to hear on the car radio (though I wasn't interested in watches then) once in awhile they (I think Hour Glass) would have a 36 month plan as a promotion. Edited July 12, 2013 by Kar_lover Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged July 12, 2013 Share July 12, 2013 You need to delay your gratification bro. You said you got bitten by The Bug and just bought 2 expensive watches in a short time, with special mention of a possible uncomfortable feeling in the gut for your $11k bill. It's not about cashflow here. If the fact that you had just spent $11k on watches would make you feel that you will be compromising on other better 'needs' in your life, then something is clearly wrong. Hiding behind a small monthly installment is just shielding you from the reality of the purchase, and it's dangerous. The Bug won't just stop here. It definitely wouldn't stop at a Breitling, especially since The Bug JUST got you. Yeah I know. I felt guilty too. But watch #2 is a piece that was disconn 4 years ago and somehow that shop had just that 1 piece left (I believe probably the last piece in Singapore). So if I waited some more, I might miss it altogether. It kept staying on my mind (like a gorgeous gal u saw at a party the night before but did not dare to approach) so after 2 weeks of continuously thinking about it (I wanted to see if it would go away and it didn't) I decided to get it. Since buying that I am now fully satisfied and not having any cravings or what not. Am also considering selling off watch #1 since I seldom wear it. I guess I made a noob mistake thinking that watch #1 would suffice (I bought an entry level model) not expecting myself to get bitten. But I have learnt from it and at least from now I would be more careful/discerning when I buy my next watch (few years later ha). Appreciate your advice :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged July 12, 2013 Share July 12, 2013 That's the funny thing, I actually got more discount from shop #2 where I paid with installment vs shop #1 which I did not. If anyone wants to know which is shop #2 can PM me. Don't want to say here cos don't want to get them into trouble by saying how much discount they give. So that kinda proves what the shop said that the discount they give cannot increase regardless of whichever method I use to pay. Anyway I think 24 mths is pretty standard and not really a "promotion". All the big shops (hour glass, sincere, all watches, eastern watch, Dickson, etc) all have it all the time. I used to hear on the car radio (though I wasn't interested in watches then) once in awhile they (I think Hour Glass) would have a 36 month plan as a promotion. its not the ADs, its the bank that ties in with them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yrvsport 2nd Gear July 12, 2013 Share July 12, 2013 Because a luxury watch is a luxury product. It is a want, not a need. Go into debt for a "want"? That's silly. Unless you are saying you are in some kind of business where your image is of utmost importance, and you NEED to wear a Rolex (or drive S Class, etc) to get you some business. So it is like going into debt to make more money - this I agree. But just to show off and flash around? No. Actually i'm getting it juz out of my dream/admire watch since old scool days but never reach that especially the pepsi model red/blue dial....it's not the Show Off thing/Luxury must have item but juz for the sake of personal interest but anyway i'm still happy with my red dial omega speedmaster which I save and buy during my NS days...that's my idea....family comes first.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged July 12, 2013 Share July 12, 2013 Car is more of a luxury item compared to watch... $ is meant to be spent.. When one pay $20k for a watch, after 20 years, the watch is not at scrapyard regardless of residual sale value. When one pay $50k, $100k, $200k for a car, 10 year later go scrapyard in Singapore, unless pay more $$ for Coe renewal, more road tax.. not to mention the cost of maintenance... Luxury means can throw $$ out.. Hence watch not luxury item lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged July 12, 2013 Share July 12, 2013 So just go buy that damn watch.... Regardess whether got $$ or not.. but if $$ is tight.. think very very very carefully buying that damn car.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic July 12, 2013 Share July 12, 2013 Back to watches Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limxiaoming 2nd Gear July 12, 2013 Share July 12, 2013 For fun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged July 12, 2013 Share July 12, 2013 Back to watches Okie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear July 12, 2013 Share July 12, 2013 nah. another one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limxiaoming 2nd Gear July 12, 2013 Share July 12, 2013 Ppl here really very rich Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic July 12, 2013 Share July 12, 2013 I have a Rolex boy size, half gold with 10 diamonds. Many years kept in storeroom and never wear as already out of trend. Should I let go for others to enjoy it, whats the market rate now if to sell? TIA for all advice, appreciated! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear July 12, 2013 Share July 12, 2013 For fun this is classic fushion range ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...