Pisces69 6th Gear August 4, 2013 Share August 4, 2013 thanks bro! No prob. I find their rate better than those lousy MC who dun give any extra over the advertised rate. Only prob is not much space to park in front. Only 2 or max 3 cars at a time n to reverse out is quite difficult which put many pple off the palce. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skchiu 2nd Gear August 4, 2013 Share August 4, 2013 I thinking we go after Hari Raya cos the jam this week sud b very bad plus if we go around 11am plus wil b much worse. I just hope the exchange rate stay the same till after the Hari Raya holidays. We keep checking n we can cfm after this week. Next week tues is ok fr me. 11am can cos then the traffic sud b less. next week? that's just before raya and national day wun it be better to go on the 12th aug week? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 4, 2013 Share August 4, 2013 Huh, you mean that building in front of City Plaza (Citibank), before BHP petrol station? But I never changed there before leh !!! :huh: Anyway I hardly change in JB, especially for big amount, for security reasons. If I need to is only $100-200 and usually do it at those big shopping malls. Oh I tot u give directions is to that place that I usually go. Now u mention, maybe I sud chk what rates I can get in SG, also for security reasons. I supposed to go with Ronleo next week. If we can get similar rates here then we might as well change here............also for security reasons. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 4, 2013 Share August 4, 2013 This type of shot reply no need see nick oso know it's you n only u Hahaha But I dun go for those XMM shot hor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 4, 2013 Share August 4, 2013 (edited) Why interbank rate 255 but MC still giving only 251, that is massive spread. But there are so many MC in Singapore and Malaysia, so who is controlling and cornering the market? Bank hv their own rates n MC set their own rates. I always tot bank rates not as good as MC rate? If u say Bank rate is better, then I might as well change at bank but I ever tried n their rate was much worse than MC rate. Oh but Interbank rates we cannot get so good. Thats only for bank to bank. Edited August 4, 2013 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 4, 2013 Share August 4, 2013 Official rate at 255, MC only giving 248-249 as at last Friday! :angry: At the 251 tat u said! Guess its a matter of supply n demand issue He refering to INTERBANK rates. We walk in customer can never get such good rates. I was thinking if SG bank can give a similar rate as what the JB MC giving, we might as well change here..........for security reasons. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic August 4, 2013 Share August 4, 2013 (edited) Bank hv their own rates n MC set their own rates. I always tot bank rates not as good as MC rate? If u say Bank rate is better, then I might as well change at bank but I ever tried n their rate was much worse than MC rate. Oh but Interbank rates we cannot get so good. Thats only for bank to bank. I just remitted some money to my account in Malaysia at above 2.54. It is better but you need to convert 5 digit figures. Just call your RM, if you don't have an RM, you probably will not be entitled to such rates. Actually board rate also not bad now. Edited August 4, 2013 by Voodooman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 4, 2013 Share August 4, 2013 Where did the supply of ringgit go? Money is always circulating. It couldn't be that everyone is changing lots and keeping them in their safe box resulting is supply shortage right? Some foul play must has happened with these MC. I hope some authority can come in to ensure that fair practice has been carried out to protect the consumers. Well when the rate is very good, many big players wil change huge amt of RM n keep fr future when their rate comes down. Then ty make a profit when ty sell. But nobody wants to keep cash fr too long cos then the money is not earning anything. Likely the rates mentioned is the INTERBANK rate which we as walk-in customers cannot get. There is just too much RM floating around in Msia fr the MC to influence the rates at all. Maybe only pple like George Soros or govments have the ability to control the rates by buying n selling billions of RM continously till the rate moves up or down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skchiu 2nd Gear August 4, 2013 Share August 4, 2013 He refering to INTERBANK rates. We walk in customer can never get such good rates. I was thinking if SG bank can give a similar rate as what the JB MC giving, we might as well change here..........for security reasons. can a sgrean open malaysian bank account in malaysia? was thinking of opening a fixed deposit account too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 4, 2013 Share August 4, 2013 U expect MAS to do something for small fry like us? Welcome to the real world!!! Last time even George Soros tried to attack all Asian currencies by selling billions non-stop when he saw a weakness in many Asian currencies as over-valued. The only country who cud fight back was Spore who just kept buying the SGD he was selling till he also gave up n lost billions cos of Spore. After that he dare not try to whack SGD again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 4, 2013 Share August 4, 2013 If you are talking about RM notes and coins, you are wrong. A lot of us are flouting the rule.... CURRENCY EXCHANGE CONTROL Exchange Control Act 1953 Custom Act 1967 Under the exchange Control Act 1953, the import/export currency control is deemed to be a matter relating to customs. Thus, failure to declare would result in an offence under the Customs Act 1967. Permitted Currency Limits Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 4, 2013 Share August 4, 2013 If u are so smart, why come in here n give comment such as "That's the problem with you guys...", go and do something abt it YOURSELF! I would be keen to know wat action u are gg to take? Email to your MP and complain??? Or stand in front of MAS n do a one man protest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 4, 2013 Share August 4, 2013 Your finger might had "accidentally" touched her "reset" button, and she had to recount. Ya u must know where exactly her "button" is. Then its very easy to reset whenever u want. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 4, 2013 Share August 4, 2013 If u are so smart, why come in here n give comment such as "That's the problem with you guys...", go and do something abt it YOURSELF! I would be keen to know wat action u are gg to take? Email to your MP and complain??? U see post 719 by Ticklish 8. There is a MC in Marina that is giving 2.5 which is not bad. We can actually go there to change. Safer n better. Maybe for S$5K we can get a bit more? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged August 4, 2013 Share August 4, 2013 Oh I tot u give directions is to that place that I usually go. Now u mention, maybe I sud chk what rates I can get in SG, also for security reasons. I supposed to go with Ronleo next week. If we can get similar rates here then we might as well change here............also for security reasons. LOL...maybe you did bro. I also can't remember. But I usually don't change in JB, unless at shopping malls. Last time ever change at Jalan Ah Fook there (when using old customs building time), but saw many guys standing around the MC shop, doing nothing but looking at the shop! Park car outside MC then got one funny guy come and clean my car with a cloth, lucky never ask me for tip. That was the last time I changed at those JB shophouses MC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged August 4, 2013 Share August 4, 2013 Last time even George Soros tried to attack all Asian currencies by selling billions non-stop when he saw a weakness in many Asian currencies as over-valued. The only country who cud fight back was Spore who just kept buying the SGD he was selling till he also gave up n lost billions cos of Spore. After that he dare not try to whack SGD again. Yes, that time Soros could not attack the SGD because MAS had strong reserves. LKY did mention this in Parliament before when some MP ask the govt to draw out the reserves to help the people. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 4, 2013 Share August 4, 2013 next week? that's just before raya and national day wun it be better to go on the 12th aug week? Ya by next week I mean after the Hari Raya n Nat Day holidays. But I see a MC in Marina Spore giving 2.50 which is not bad also plus much safer to change a few thousand here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 4, 2013 Share August 4, 2013 I just remitted some money to my account in Malaysia at above 2.54. It is better but you need to convert 5 digit figures. Just call your RM, if you don't have an RM, you probably will not be entitled to such rates. Actually board rate also not bad now. Ya if u toking abt >S$10K then unlikely we can do it. Maybe I ckh the MC at Marina Spore. Ty supposed to give 2.50 which is good enough. Maybe fr abt S$5K can get a bit better even. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...