Dengue death

Tonyng

Transfusion is not a cure, it just keeps your platelet count stable while your body deals with the virus. Low blood platelet count leads to bleeding, low blood pressure and subsequently death.

i see...but tat means it is still safer to visit A&E n be warded....if at home, dun have platelets transfusion...the poor guy waited at A&E for a few hours n then went to see a GP clinic [:(]

do we have this sort of technique in Singapore?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sterile_insect_technique

The sterile insect technique is a method of biological control, whereby overwhelming numbers of sterile insects are released. The released insects are normally male as it is the female that causes the damage, usually by laying eggs in the crop, or, in the case of mosquitoes, taking blood from humans. The sterile males compete with the wild males for female insects. If a female mates with a sterile male then it will have no offspring, thus reducing the next generation's population. Repeated release of insects can eventually wipe out a population, though it is often more useful to consider controlling the population rather than eradicating it.

Wah sibei lak leh you. I salute you.

3trt1u.jpg

Let me share my personal experience. I had dengue when I was 18yo. I had high fever and a few red spots appreared around the mozzie bite. Went to GP and doc even took precaution and took some of my blood for tests. After results came back it showed nothing. It was after 2 days that I lost consciousness in the morning, was sent to the hospital dan the blood test got result which was positive for dengue. I was on drip for 3-4 days dan I showed signs of recovery. My blood count was very low at the peak of my dengue fever and I had tiny red spot all over my limbs. I cannot get out of bed else I will feel giddy and fall.

Initial stage of dengue is hard to detect.

So my advise is if one hospital is packed go to other hospitals. This kinda thing cannot wait. I agree govt hospitals are overcrowded and the authorities aren't doing anything to ease the issue. There are so many dengue cases dan they should setup a dept specially to tackle suspected or known dengue cases. Now one boy died. Let's see how long these ppl are going to continue to sit on their fat asses.

Transfusion is not a cure, it just keeps your platelet count stable while your body deals with the virus. Low blood platelet count leads to bleeding, low blood pressure and subsequently death.

but at least the body does not deteriorate faster, that will give a better fighting chance for survival.

Me too.... at least I make sure my house is not one of the source.... Can only do what we can..... like having citronella plants or essential oils..... and pray hard neighbors all also responsible homeowners who dun keep mozzies as pets.

Safe ride

NEA officer checked my house liao, and my house is not one of the source. :D Now i only pray those mozzies dont fly into my house, i happy liao.

maybe can consider this?

PS: i am not related to this coy.

Looks good, maybe will check out the pricing. [rolleyes]

Time to rear spiders in the house!

Fark spider lah, get chichak better. Skarly u halfway sleeping spider decide to suicide and give you meenite snack how? :blink:

Stay careful guys...time to buy Tiger balm mosquito repellent...

Tiger balm got mosquito repellent? [:/]

All different strains. [sweatdrop]

Kena three times? I got dengue once in year 2001 and was admitted on the spot.

I broke out in spots and stayed in hospital for more than a week.

I bet your blood type is not O? Not sure about Type A, but my wife and children always got bitten and theirs is Type B whereas I hardly ever get bitten.

No leh

Me n boy O always suffer

Wife A Bo tai ji leh

I still tot 0 is very sweet

Best way to prevent mosquito is to close all windows 24 hours and just run air-con.

My house windows are always close and it's air-con most of the time. I also run air-purifier to keep the air clean.

I have never seen a single mosquito in my house over the last 8 years.

me too. the only time I see mosquito close up to me is when I go reservist outfield.

even when in tekong bmt, so many aedes but no dengue. guess those aedes there are quite 'clean'.