Hong Kong : hotel recommmendation

Rexxxer

this year end hongkong is experiencing the warmest winter in dunno 40 years or more

very good comfortable weather above 10deg celcius from now till 30 dec

there is one boutique hotel call lodgewood (between mongkok/prince edward MRT)

new interior, friendly staff

a little off from the busy street, and not too far to walk, maybe 5~10mins

https://www.hongkongdisneyland.com/offers-discounts/discounted-2-day-fun-ticket/?CMP=BAC-MediXmas17TpAdSgEnTixD2DFTix

Good for those with kids to enjoy the magical firework twice. Can skip the first queue to buy tickets. If got QR code like klook can go direct to enter gate where tickets will be printed. Save alot of waiting time and much cheaper. Klook promotion is at hkd 629 btw.

this year end hongkong is experiencing the warmest winter in dunno 40 years or more

very good comfortable weather above 10deg celcius from now till 30 dec

there is one boutique hotel call lodgewood (between mongkok/prince edward MRT)

new interior, friendly staff

a little off from the busy street, and not too far to walk, maybe 5~10mins

Went to the PEAK on wednesday evening.

The wind was blowing non stop.

Almost freeze to death after 30 mins....lollll

Oh....

Was there once only >7 yrs back

Probably the most expensive MacDonald outlet there with playground was very crowded

Stuffs there jin atas...after 30mins I also wanted leave ...

it does not help when you seek directions, the locals love to direct you to the longest and indirect directions.

Eating is also very stressful... order too little (which can already be too much for Singaporeans), kena scoldings, eat too slow/long, also tio scoldings...

There might be something with you le.

In HK, tourist easily available from 7-11.  No need registration.  No need ask direction.  I even found mini bus from causeway bay to Stanley using Google.

I went alone before.  I have no issue with order le.  Nvr kenna scoldings.  In fact, i got 1 free egg tart when i ta bao egg tart

You weak lah :XD:

hi guys. seems like hongkong thread not as often discussed as malaysia threads. hehehe. anyway, i need some tips n advice. going hongkong on 19-26dec. i know its still early, but i like to prepare in advance so as not to hv any screwups. 

i will b staying in wanchai. i read that i can take the airport express to hongkong station, n from there take a shuttle bus to the hotel. will it b easy to take the train with our luggages? i will b with my wife, 2 kids n parents in law. i checked their chartered transport, very expensive! 

n it seems that the preferred mode of transport there is the train. so buying the octopus card is almost a must?...

hi guys. seems like hongkong thread not as often discussed as malaysia threads. hehehe. anyway, i need some tips n advice. going hongkong on 19-26dec. i know its still early, but i like to prepare in advance so as not to hv any screwups. 

i will b staying in wanchai. i read that i can take the airport express to hongkong station, n from there take a shuttle bus to the hotel. will it b easy to take the train with our luggages? i will b with my wife, 2 kids n parents in law. i checked their chartered transport, very expensive! 

n it seems that the preferred mode of transport there is the train. so buying the octopus card is almost a must?...

not early lor since you plan to go during festive season. With elder and kids probably easier to take taxi which is only slightly more than the airport express, consider you still need to carry your luggage to the train, walk from station to hotel, etc.

check the cost of taxi to wan chai estimate about HK$320 per taxi, 2 taxi about $640, compare to HK$100 each.

Yes, Airport Express Hong Kong Station then change to one of the free shuttle services. Have to check which shuttle route goes near your hotel. The shuttle buses have luggage racks.

MTR now having promo, 20% off for tickets purchased online. I have used the one which is 1 way from Airport to Town + 72 hours free MTR rides. Quite handy. Its also an Octopus card so can top up and use at minimarts etc. 

Another option is to take the CityFlyer buses from the airport. Again, have to check the bus routes.

not early lor since you plan to go during festive season. With elder and kids probably easier to take taxi which is only slightly more than the airport express, consider you still need to carry your luggage to the train, walk from station to hotel, etc.

check the cost of taxi to wan chai estimate about HK$320 per taxi, 2 taxi about $640, compare to HK$100 each.

jus discovered klook also has airport transfer. toyota alphard for 6 pax, $88. this should b a gd deal. they even hv tesla! tempted to try that. but must take 2 cars. 

speaking of festive season....hows the crowd there during this period? n the weather? accuweather website forecast temp to be ard 15-20deg. wat sort of clothing do we need. sorry a bit suaku...nvr go cold weather country b4.

jus discovered klook also has airport transfer. toyota alphard for 6 pax, $88. this should b a gd deal. they even hv tesla! tempted to try that. but must take 2 cars. 

speaking of festive season....hows the crowd there during this period? n the weather? accuweather website forecast temp to be ard 15-20deg. wat sort of clothing do we need. sorry a bit suaku...nvr go cold weather country b4.

i also find klook quite useful lobang for attractions ticket and transport   [thumbsup]

always bring more clothing just in case, not going HK Disney?

Yes, Airport Express Hong Kong Station then change to one of the free shuttle services. Have to check which shuttle route goes near your hotel. The shuttle buses have luggage racks.

MTR now having promo, 20% off for tickets purchased online. I have used the one which is 1 way from Airport to Town + 72 hours free MTR rides. Quite handy. Its also an Octopus card so can top up and use at minimarts etc. 

Another option is to take the CityFlyer buses from the airport. Again, have to check the bus routes.

the shuttle route is available fm the hotel website. so i can follow their instructions. but wat im worried abt is the crowd in the train. with us dragging our luggage ard, will it inconvenient n troublesome? will the train b packed like our lovely smrt?

i also find klook quite useful lobang for attractions ticket and transport   [thumbsup]

yeah....most likely i will jus buy disneyland n ocean park tix fm there as well. unless got other cheaper lobang. 

Yup if u r taking buses n trains. Which hotel are u staying?

I took their public bus (similar as our sbs) from airport to my hotel.

Dec is cold. Do bring sweaters.

Enjoy your trip.

always bring more clothing just in case, not going HK Disney?

for now, the plan is to go ocean park on 2nd day n disney on 3rd day. still tinking when to go the peak. since we hv 6 days there, im trying to space out the itinerary so as not to b too tiring.

Yup if u r taking buses n trains. Which hotel are u staying?

I took their public bus (similar as our sbs) from airport to my hotel.

Dec is cold. Do bring sweaters.

Enjoy your trip.

i'll b staying at dorsett wanchai. near to causeway bay station. but the hotel do hv shuttle bus to various locations. so u reckon we need long sleeve tees with sweaters? don hv to b winter jacket right?  

for now, the plan is to go ocean park on 2nd day n disney on 3rd day. still tinking when to go the peak. since we hv 6 days there, im trying to space out the itinerary so as not to b too tiring.

prepare for long queue in both theme park. 

If your kids in still young/small, stay a night in one of the Disney hotel would be nice, a bit pricy but good memory for the kids.

the shuttle route is available fm the hotel website. so i can follow their instructions. but wat im worried abt is the crowd in the train. with us dragging our luggage ard, will it inconvenient n troublesome? will the train b packed like our lovely smrt?

The Airport Express MTR is not crowded. Because its not exactly cheap and there are other cheaper options from the airport, eg CityFlyer buses and there is another private bus service called Vigor.

If you buy the 2-way Airport Express tickets, the convenience is the in-city check in. Check in your luggage at Hong Kong Station and don't have to think about it until reach Changi. For CX and SQ I think in-city check in is available all day. For Jetstar and Scoot have to check counter hours.

prepare for long queue in both theme park. 

If your kids in still young/small, stay a night in one of the Disney hotel would be nice, a bit pricy but good memory for the kids.

wah....u say like that not encouraging sia. long Qs....die la. hehe. dunno how much better it has gotten, but fm the reviews i read, disney now not as packed as last time since the china one opened. jus praying hard it wont b too bad. 

disney hotel i checked....almost $600 per nite!  [crazy]  :nosebleed:

i'll b staying at dorsett wanchai. near to causeway bay station. but the hotel do hv shuttle bus to various locations. so u reckon we need long sleeve tees with sweaters? don hv to b winter jacket right?

Oh my colleague stayed there last month. I'll check with her on Monday.

Peak n Ocean Park are in Hong Kong Island. Can plan same day.

Pls plan one whole day in Disneyland, stay for disney parade ard 3pm+ n fireworks in the late evening. Check the timing when u are there.

Winter jacket no need. My kids wore long sleeves and long pants + sweater/jacket. Adults wore long sleeves n long pants in the day. At nite may b cold thus do bring jacket/ sweater for adults too.

The Airport Express MTR is not crowded. Because its not exactly cheap and there are other cheaper options from the airport, eg CityFlyer buses and there is another private bus service called Vigor.

If you buy the 2-way Airport Express tickets, the convenience is the in-city check in. Check in your luggage at Hong Kong Station and don't have to think about it until reach Changi. For CX and SQ I think in-city check in is available all day. For Jetstar and Scoot have to check counter hours.

oh ok....thats gd. n yeah...the airport express is abt $17 per pax...not that cheap especially if u pay for a grp. but that luggage check in is quite useful. 

I find Airport Express + Shuttle Bus is most convenient where possible. Taxi sometimes can be stuck in traffic, especially crossing the tunnel, depending on timing.

Taking MTR not so convenient with elderly and kids, a lot of walking and steps. For local commute, can take the trams (I like) or bus, if farther then taxi.

so ur recommendation is from airport to hotel is to take the airport express+shuttle. n for moving ard is to take the bus n tram? but for disney we can take the MTR n change to the dedicated line direct to disney, right?

Oh my colleague stayed there last month. I'll check with her on Monday.

Peak n Ocean Park are in Hong Kong Island. Can plan same day.

Pls plan one whole day in Disneyland, stay for disney parade ard 3pm+ n fireworks in the late evening. Check the timing when u are there.

Winter jacket no need. My kids wore long sleeves and long pants + sweater/jacket. Adults wore long sleeves n long pants in the day. At nite may b cold thus do bring jacket/ sweater for adults too.

[thumbsup]

peak n ocean park actually i wanted same day as well. but didnt want to tire out my parents in law too much n also if by the time we r done with ocean park, likely the Q up the peak may b long. 

yes disney will b whole day.will take our time there n hv breaks every now n then to hv everyone last the whole day. 

noted on the clothing. will show this to my kiasu wife  [:p]  [laugh]