Kangadrool Supersonic July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 (edited) Take a walk to condo showroom and you will not feel the middle class blues. Buyers are snapping up units like no tomorrow. Any you hear reports that many are first time home buyers. Next, take a walk into car showrooms of the famous 3 conti brands, again ppl are buying new cars despite the record COE and loan restriction. So tell me, where got middle class blue? There's a cliff towards the end and there's no where to go. So, mostly committing (mass) suicide lor. Edited July 1, 2013 by Kangadrool ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 those middle class you mentioned are table wiper standard middle class and not the middle class being referred to in the show The upper class will say he is middle class, the lower class will try to portrait themselves as middle class. The middle class will try to appear as upper class. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 I think the real concern is what figures do the gahment use. If they use the GDP per capita figure as a gauge to price the flats and cars, the middle class are screwed coz their median income is far from it. Which I think is pretty much now's the case since they keep saying these things are affordable when it's obviously not. Worse of all is that they cannot gos-tan or reverse the prices. Only way now as we have seen is they intro "cooling measures" to stagnant the prices and let salary catch up. we still need to know what is the real middle class. too many variant liao. some say 100K per annual. some say 500k per annual. but a lot of 50k per annual one live like middle class too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 this is very true today - economy stagnant - intense job competition with foreign PMETs - prices of cars out of reach - housing prices sky high is that why JE 99LH condo at $1700psf sell out in 1 day? if not for all those things u listed, prob sellout in half hour..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 i want to reach middle class mah. if whole day at MCF how to achieve that anyway, now a day more busy so less productive in mcf. work hard, marnie got go up meh? my boss's marnie go up but my marnie nebber go up he say you want hawker, food court or restaurant? he say outside out many hungry worker from tiong land and banana land wating to take my job, i hear already bery scared better dont comprain anymore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 Take a walk to condo showroom and you will not feel the middle class blues. Buyers are snapping up units like no tomorrow. Any you hear reports that many are first time home buyers. Next, take a walk into car showrooms of the famous 3 conti brands, again ppl are buying new cars despite the record COE and loan restriction. So tell me, where got middle class blue? those are not middle class lah those are high class Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 the reporteer will tio fix or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic July 1, 2013 Author Share July 1, 2013 surprising such a report came out on CNA hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 we still need to know what is the real middle class. too many variant liao. some say 100K per annual. some say 500k per annual. but a lot of 50k per annual one live like middle class too Perhaps you are right. The range is too wide. Some not earning much but have parents suppork. Really hard to gauge. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobby_tan 1st Gear July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 those are not middle class lah those are high class No lah brudder, dat one is credit card class. Any taiji happen to their income they finished liaoz. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 those are not middle class lah those are high class The high class and clever ones have sold their properties and hiding in HDB now. Recently saw another luxury car (S350L) at my carpark. Looks like another upper class has downgraded to HDB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 work hard, marnie got go up meh? my boss's marnie go up but my marnie nebber go up he say you want hawker, food court or restaurant? he say outside out many hungry worker from tiong land and banana land wating to take my job, i hear already bery scared better dont comprain anymore work hard got chance money will go up. dont work hard. got chance to be sack. work hard. let other ppl in other company see and then pouch you over lor tiong land lots of hungry ppl yes. but a ah tiong boss once told my friend that singaporean still better worker on the average. because we got pride. but of course their 1% population gilat is already more than our 100% citizen number liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 The high class and clever ones have sold their properties and hiding in HDB now. Recently saw another luxury car (S350L) at my carpark. Looks like another upper class has downgraded to HDB. They sell house and degrade their house but never degrade their car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 Every nationality got some great workers, got some average ones, and got laoya ones... Except for Jipun. All the Japs I work with so far are damn bleddy hardworking. Maybe work with japs are ok, but dont work in a jap company, cause their salary are not high. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 They sell house and degrade their house but never degrade their car? Maybe the owner need a car to match his/her status. A car is like a name card, it follows wherever u go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 Perhaps you are right. The range is too wide. Some not earning much but have parents suppork. Really hard to gauge. if we can get the gauge correct. instead of using statistic to determine. I felt the policy will be better manage. basically if there is anything gahmen can do. it will be the following. HDB - To be price base on lower income affordablity. COE - let it be lah. we know its not a luxurity in singapore. Public transport - re-nationalise it since we only see GLC managing public transport. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 middle class may be classified as those earning in between $2k - $6k as per wat the garment tinks... juz my 2c worth... of cos u can tell me tat u earning $6,001 but still not happy and feel tat u are earning very little dan how abt those earning $1k - $2k? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 1, 2013 Share July 1, 2013 They sell house and degrade their house but never degrade their car? maybe was frully paid upfront last time, now change car COE very high [laugh] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...