Middle class blues

Mockngbrd

that one bery sexpensive :wacko::blink::ph34r:

the taller bldg sellers should just buy the shorter one after selling.

Yes, thats good advice.

true. rem a saying, have few needs and be contented. but then again, very hard in this capitalist society.

So how much is our middle class earning? [confused]

Can one afford to buy a Car or house without incurring too much debt? TDSR ...the in thing now?. If not, then you are middle class.

Most people will have house debt. For cars then depend how long you loan. Usually after 7 years will be debt free for cars. [:p]

then those who vote against ruling party just because of low wages is also missing the point liao.

the problem is themself themSELVES. [rolleyes] [rolleyes]

i want to reach middle class mah. if whole day at MCF how to achieve that :D:D

anyway, now a day more busy so less productive in mcf. [lipsrsealed]

You are absolutely right.

You have almost 50,000 posts.

If only you worked as hard in your job as you post here,

even the german worker will lose to you.

And you would not be middle class but

upper class by now.

the taller bldg sellers should just buy the shorter one after selling.

hehe I went to view one unit in the shorter building before.......

don't like the east - west facing and small development size. otherwise, the location is good and price reasonable.

Reading the description: "The recipe for the Singaporean middle class dream used to read: graduate from university, find a good job, buy a car and move on to private property..."

Problem is, you can have all that, but still be unhappy!!

Ultimately, people have to learn to be contented in life, not be too stressed up over routine work matters - it helps not to set sooo high standards and expectations for yourself, and be thankful for the little things that sometimes turn out your way.

[thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

hehe I went to view one unit in the shorter building before.......

don't like the east - west facing and small development size. otherwise, the location is good and price reasonable.

find the east west thing abit overblown sometimes. as long as front east still ok. view more important cos u do get some cool days. but once view is bad, tats it

for me, it is not that I am fixated over a particular orientation. but I went in and I can say for sure the 3rd bedroom gets the full blown afternoon sun and the master bedroom gets a bit of the morning soon. so, overall the temperature of the unit is a little bit too high for my liking . asthetic wise also don't like the outlook that my development is being dwarfed by that oppositeme :D

The number maybe wrong, but the logic is still correct. We are buying smaller area with the same amount of money. That is the take away message.

[thumbsup]

ok lor, right from my first post I just say the numbers is wrong. you are the one talking about presentation. No matter how you present the numbers, basic thing is they must be FACTUALLY CORRECT.

Hello? area is SQUARE of length. It is SOOO WRONG. How can CNA produce such rubbish where they cannot even get simple Primary school geometry correct...

Price scale by area. They scale by length... duh....

Quoted and bolded for your benefit. I didn't dispute your cost argument, I already mentioned I didn't know the historical cost, and whether what was in the video was the precise cost or not. All I mentioned was that using length to show the sides of the sq footage of "house" you can buy isn't wrong.

Basically, what Roh96 said too, but he did it in a very simple manner.

Instead of arguing about two different sides of the same coin, how about you do some research and show us about the difference instead? That way, you can present it the way you'd like. You seem to have the data already, so, shouldn't be much of a problem, right?

[thumbsup]

Quoted and bolded for your benefit. I didn't dispute your cost argument, I already mentioned I didn't know the historical cost, and whether what was in the video was the precise cost or not. All I mentioned was that using length to show the sides of the sq footage of "house" you can buy isn't wrong.

Basically, what Roh96 said too, but he did it in a very simple manner.

Instead of arguing about two different sides of the same coin, how about you do some research and show us about the difference instead? That way, you can present it the way you'd like. You seem to have the data already, so, shouldn't be much of a problem, right?

Don't bother to explain too much lah. The way I see his message, he is biting on the error in measurement and trying to discredit the show bcos of that.

Frankly speaking, who will bother to remember the numbers after watching the show. If u ask me, I can't remember the numbers after 5 mins. It is the overview and the take away message that matters.

errr... are you the editor? :)

kmph convert to mph also must convert properly right? divide by 1.6?

You convert from area to length, no need to SQRT??? you never buy property meh? common sense will tell you the numbers is all wrong compared to the property price. And VERY VERY WRONG...

Are You Trolling ??? [laugh]

Y m^2 = X m * X m .

I believed the producer used ratio to give clear example of how much Same amount of $$ could buy, with width and length remain constants to each other.

You are correct...must learn to be satisfied...but on the other hand, you work diligently for 10 years only to see your pay to have less and less purchasing power each year and there is no raise, how not to be stressed?

If u say no rise in pay. Then u have to look inward already. Was it the system or was it yourself??

If u say things keep rising beyond the pay raise. Then yes it's a valid argument.

The high class and clever ones have sold their properties and hiding in HDB now. Recently saw another luxury car (S350L) at my carpark. Looks like another upper class has downgraded to HDB.

Follow the advice of investment guru Jim Rogers: "Never follow the herd. Always go the oppositve way." Obviously only a few smart ones are listening.

To me, the definition of "upgrade" of property is the size of the new unit must be bigger than your present one, regardless of private or public. I see many ppl, jump from HDB to condo. but the size of condo is smaller than HDB, and they think they have "upgraded".

my opinion too [;)]

My 2 cts worth

Economy stagnant - As economy undergoing re-structuring, some sectors will shrink and some will grow. For example, electronics sector maybe shrinking but aerospace sector is growing. And for some sectors like IT, is more or less stable - neither growing nor shrinking. This is because whether you build factory to make hard disk or aircraft components, you need IT one way or another

but what will happen to the youngsters who studied mechanical and electrical engineering?

in any case, we are now a mature economy, there's little chance of us having 8-15% annual growth like during the 70s/80s. The govt did recognise this fact; that's why they develop IR and invest more in tourism, but sadly both did not really have sparkling results

Intense job competition - Only time when there is no competition is when Singapore is no longer attractive to FT. And if that is the case, then we are all in deep trouble.

there's no need to go so extreme, as in we don't take in any foreigners at all. The importance is the balance. Right now, I feel Singapore is overflowing of foreign PMETs, so much so that the wages are depressed. Again, MOM is recognizing this , hence the limit in the work permits and the emphasis of non-discrimination during the hiring, but shouldn't they visualise this much earlier?

Also, we need FWs (construction, F&B, environmental, shipyard, etc), but our own Singapore middle class surely can provide enough work force for the PMETs roles.

Price of cars out of reach - This one is really a personal choice. No right no wrong answer.

Cars out of reach, public transport unrealiable and overcrowded... there's little choice actually

Housing price sky high - Govt already guarantee all quaified citizen should be able to afford a roof over the head. And whether or not citizen is happy with the roof or not, it is also personal choice. I started with HDB almost 20 years back. And now, I am still staying in the HDB although most of my friends already in private housing. But I am very happy with my estate. Use to be quite bare when I move in after getting married. Now, very convenient liao

well, you cannot really compare the situation 20 years ago and now right? [:)]

In between, there's a certain Mr Mah who screwed up the whole public housing policy