Jbee petrol pt2

Ronleo

Confirm plus chop. I am writing to ICA to ask them to keep a look out for him when he crosses the border next week. hahaha... just kidding, where got time.... [shake head].

Somemore give 154th his full name. It is really proof we are descendants of the apes and some are still evolving.

maybe he stop evolve like, say 20 years ago? [sweatdrop]

Becoz it is the Singaporean way of solving problems and it is ingrained in most of us.

He is right to say that the 2 existing checkpoints are not build to handle the traffic volume we are seeing today, so the only way to rationalize this is to price out marginal users. Like COE, if cannot afford, take BMW, infrastructure not ready, too bad. Don't understand why you get so worked up, it is how the system works, unless you are happy to consider a more communist approach whereby everyone BMW.

because it is a very unsympathetic reaction.

Yes, the Singaporean way and ingrained in most. Sad, right?

this pricing method to solve traffic congestion at the causeway* it leads to inefficient use of resources - just like COE - in that it fails to recognise fluctuations in volume (i.e. off peak n peak) but charges all users the same rate.

why present a false dilemma? there are other options apart fm what u mentioned.

*btw the increased toll is not meant to solve congestion but to generate revenue. And, this large drop in traffic may taper off in time as SG users get used to the new fees. Addition of SGD7 (or SGD14 if SG matches the increase) is not really significant when SG cars typically depreciate at SGD10k or more a year. MY cars will be hit harder though but I would guess at peak hours, the bulk of them tend to cross the border at opposite direction to SG owners.

so I guess if wanna enjoy this low traffic crossing, better go up north soon, before Msia ke-belakang puseng or other SG users LLST and acclimatise to the new charges and wanna cheong before LTA matches MY tolls :)

oh, in case I gave the wrong impression, I don't cross the border daily. When I'm in SG, I go MY abt 2-3 times a month. There are exceptional cases though.. my record is 3 round trips in 36hours lol

just realised that this is the wrong thread to discuss this toll issue...

because it is a very unsympathetic reaction.

LOL so everyone must come in and give each other a hug is it? Just because I don't say it out means I don't sympathize? And even if I don't what's wrong with it?

I am just stating how this new system works for me. If they build a new expressway outside your house it means you get to go places faster but others will have to take a longer route. Does it mean you cannot say that the system works for you???

I don't see why you need to start barking up on me with your moral high ground.

anyone going jb today????

I went in on the first day. Smooth like butter. I just checked out onemotoring. Still smooth.

Like 49 years old cheuffeur, Mohamad Ali Yusoff, who saves $30-40 on petrol every week? KNN.... sibei brainless, this type should catch, cheat not enough, must announce to whole world he is cheating.

maybe he meant RM 30 to RM 40 lah [laugh][laugh]

Maybe.... cannot be so dumb right? Haha...

to save this much his tank must be like 80litres?

Shit times really dun use brain when they 'report'!

went in last Friday evening peak hour, took only 30mins to get to JB CIQ.

Coming back this morning 3.30am, less cars queuing at Sporre counters. unlike last time. now no more queue.

hooray!!

Some ppl go in for petrol n car wash. Some for koko kay.

U are which one.....be honest hor. Haha.

I go in for whatever is needed and is cheaper than where i am...............everything and anything........... [blush][:p][laugh] [laugh]

Soon somebody start a quack quack club for a wider audience hehehe

Some ppl go in for petrol n car wash. Some for koko kay.

Actually for myself, I go in because it is not as modern, cheaper food, cheaper household items and also cheaper services.., somehow, the feeling is less pressurised than in Singapore... Just be humble there and you will actually meet quite nice and friendly people who gives you good service...

i think when come to money matter, the average mentality since i cannot save more than the usual, then i plan my trip carefully, from once a week to twice a week. or maybe i save from something else by going to neighbourheed Giant or Sheng Siong. tat's why the JB CIty Square immediately can see the impact.

Wait for the Malaysia VEP kicks in... going to cost a lot more just to go JB or a short trip there...

Malaysian comes to Singapore to make $$$,... Singaporean go there to $pend $$$... Hope the Malaysia govt get the equation right... else... [smash]

Edited by Cyberian

Actually for myself, I go in because it is not as modern, cheaper food, cheaper household items and also cheaper services.., somehow, the feeling is less pressurised than in Singapore... Just be humble there and you will actually meet quite nice and friendly people who gives you good service...

but now you have to pay both my & sgp govs to get this good feeling.... which at the end of the day depends on individual if that's the trade off for such 'feel'.... I trust a lot bros here share the same sentiments somehow...

Pragmatically, both gov needs to differentiate what makes my people go sgp (earn S$)and what sgp people go jb (spent S$), then guess who would be the pitiful loser.... [mad]