Malaysia Ringgit Exchange Rate

On 2/9/2024 at 5:50 AM, Kopites said:

Seem like heading toward 3.6 pretty soon..

Good for msians working in sg and stay in JB.

On 2/9/2024 at 6:50 AM, mersaylee said:

Starry to la kopi more often over there soon...😁

Already went in last Monday and came back on Wednesday.  No jam nothing......

City Square mall JB  (next to the JB immigration)  packed with people.  I think mostly Sporeans bah....😁

On 2/9/2024 at 8:23 AM, 13177 said:

Good for msians working in sg and stay in JB.

yeah,....., they get 10% "increment" for last year  at least. Huat ahhh......😁

myr1.jpg.f125e14e7f7945df75f3847b033c7877.jpg.3f41e0617cf7fb89165532712721107f.jpg

Edited by Starry

Tis wk not much jam, can just drive in 4 lunch, car wash, petrol then come back sg within 2-3hrs (including minor jam)....good xchg rates too boot, got 3.547 yesterday & 3.539 on monday fr ichange.

On 2/9/2024 at 5:50 AM, Kopites said:

Seem like heading toward 3.6 pretty soon..

my target is probably 3.7+ and hover there for some time.  all the fiascos with Najib sentence is helping the push towards 4. 🤣

On 2/9/2024 at 5:17 PM, Kopites said:

Many next year can hold the reunion dinner at those JB restaurant. 😁

good idea, though need to check and make reservation first, 🙂

On 2/9/2024 at 5:17 PM, Kopites said:

Many next year can hold the reunion dinner at those JB restaurant. 😁

U want to fight with Msian to go JB?

😂

On 2/9/2024 at 3:18 PM, zipping said:

Tis wk not much jam, can just drive in 4 lunch, car wash, petrol then come back sg within 2-3hrs (including minor jam)....good xchg rates too boot, got 3.547 yesterday & 3.539 on monday fr ichange.

I didn't know what you meant by ichange when I read it so skipped right through but, I think on Sunday morning, I decided to Bing it.

Downloaded it, checked it, signed up, applied for the M/Card and the whole nine yards. Yesterday topped up $50 to try, exchanged some to MYR, connected the virtual card to my TnG App, topped up the wallet and transferred RM100 to my physical card for next week's trip to KL........ all at 5.545 with no fee to top up TnG. Can't complain about that comparing to downtown FX shops at 3.48-3.5, but pity there is a S$5 fee to take funds out of ATM.

On 1/25/2024 at 10:23 AM, jcmm said:

I am not stating u are wrong when u have a particular bank in SG and MY to withdraw or spend money. I am just highlighting another or better option using youtrip or revolut. Again u r not wrong but most travelers are unable to open an account in MY including most countries on this planet but most common, casual travelers can apply for the mentioned cards. 

BTW rates as of now, CIMB is 3.5118 while Revolut is 3.5170. 

Yup.  I have a non resident Ringgit onshore account that was opened years ago. The rates are pretty decent and I can transfer money to TnG and use my debit card everywhere.  But i heard from friends it is no longer easy to open such an account unless you have business and a residential address in Malaysia.

On 2/13/2024 at 11:10 AM, bsswan said:

I didn't know what you meant by ichange when I read it so skipped right through but, I think on Sunday morning, I decided to Bing it.

Downloaded it, checked it, signed up, applied for the M/Card and the whole nine yards. Yesterday topped up $50 to try, exchanged some to MYR, connected the virtual card to my TnG App, topped up the wallet and transferred RM100 to my physical card for next week's trip to KL........ all at 5.545 with no fee to top up TnG. Can't complain about that comparing to downtown FX shops at 3.48-3.5, but pity there is a S$5 fee to take funds out of ATM.

It was the $5.00 fee that upset me most, otherwise ok with it .😪

On 2/14/2024 at 10:29 AM, Meanmachine said:

It was the $5.00 fee that upset me most, otherwise ok with it .😪

I'm ok w e $5 service fee but at lease giv a free head start like say 1st S$500 xchg free 😁

On 2/9/2024 at 3:18 PM, zipping said:

Can I ask a question.......

If I have SGD in the wallet and no, for example, MYR, can I assume iChange will take the funds from SGD at the same Digital Exchange Rate we can find in the app for doing an exchange into a MYR wallet? This is how YouTrip would work whereby the "benefit" of pre-exchange was only to fix a rate and not chance a lesser rate on a live transaction a few days or weeks later.

So, for example, I did a small exchange at the weekend at 3.545 but now is 3.5566. I may not make a pre-exchange but just top-up the SGD and let it auto-convert for the transaction if the rates are the same as it would be for exchange.

On 2/16/2024 at 10:35 AM, bsswan said:

If I have SGD in the wallet and no, for example, MYR, can I assume iChange will take the funds from SGD at the same Digital Exchange Rate we can find in the app for doing an exchange into a MYR wallet? This is how YouTrip would work whereby the "benefit" of pre-exchange was only to fix a rate and not chance a lesser rate on a live transaction a few days or weeks later.

So, for example, I did a small exchange at the weekend at 3.545 but now is 3.5566. I may not make a pre-exchange but just top-up the SGD and let it auto-convert for the transaction if the rates are the same as it would be for exchange.

for youtrip they will deplete the respective foreign currency first before SGD.

On 2/16/2024 at 11:31 AM, Jman888 said:

for youtrip they will deplete the respective foreign currency first before SGD.

Correct, but then they use the same FX rate to convert the SGD as they would if you were to exchange to the wallet at that time.

I just transfer some rm from YT to tng n got 3.539, quite good to me,

On a side note, the ichange app r buggy at times n the stupid debit card sucks big time, kena rejected at jb shell outdoor pump koisk paywave n also at nsk supermart, waste my time for that meagre fx diff vs YT, i will stick to YT/Trust for msia use. 

On 2/16/2024 at 10:35 AM, bsswan said:

I asked e helpline and tested once, no myr, oni sgd in ichange ewallet. It will auto convert like youtrip but it will not b based upon 'digital xchg rate', but like youtrip, use mastercard rates, which is slightly inferior to e 'digital xchg rate'.

Do note tat when it auto convert, it will oni show amount of sgd used, it nvr show e xchg rates being used (like youtrip), i hav to manually calculate.

Edited by zipping

On 2/16/2024 at 12:08 PM, Cheesey74 said:

I just transfer some rm from YT to tng n got 3.539, quite good to me,

On a side note, the ichange app r buggy at times n the stupid debit card sucks big time, kena rejected at jb shell outdoor pump koisk paywave n also at nsk supermart, waste my time for that meagre fx diff vs YT, i will stick to YT/Trust for msia use. 

I also realise ichange needs some time (~ 1-3 mins) to complete e transaction (buy myr using paynow). So nowadays i will xchg 1st b4 i begin my trip or at least xchg b4 i step into shopping mall etc. 2day i stuck at petrol kiosk counter cos not enough funds 😓 (i remembered wrongly, tot hav more than rm2xx but actually oni rm6x 😅), moved aside to let e Q go forward cos i know e reloading of ichange will take awhile.