Baal Supersonic November 27, 2013 Share November 27, 2013 Would like to check, understand that both increased tyre wideness & diameter will increase FC, decrease accl However between the 2, which would make a stronger impact negatively ( in terms of pick up & fc) thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged November 27, 2013 Share November 27, 2013 My guess (guess only) is tyre width, because it increases amount of rubber that meets the road. Anyway, not advisable to increase diameter, your odometer will be off. Would like to check, understand that both increased tyre wideness & diameter will increase FC, decrease accl However between the 2, which would make a stronger impact negatively ( in terms of pick up & fc) thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic November 27, 2013 Share November 27, 2013 My guess (guess only) is tyre width, because it increases amount of rubber that meets the road. Anyway, not advisable to increase diameter, your odometer will be off. Guess u could be right that diameter affects less than width. Coz oem 175/65 584mm with steel rim, after changing to alloys & 185/60 578mm, fc & accl worsen. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic November 27, 2013 Share November 27, 2013 My guess (guess only) is tyre width, because it increases amount of rubber that meets the road. Anyway, not advisable to increase diameter, your odometer will be off. upsizing your tyre width , for example, from a standard honda civic oem size, 205.55.16 to 225.45.17 might not increase your grip u will have more stability, cos of wider tyre, and lower profile tyre mean it flex less also. but if u talking about amount of rubber that meet the road, or area of contact with road, it might not increase. instead most of the time it only changes the shape of contact. ( most diver feel more grip when they upsize, cos their oem comfort tyres come with poor grip, when they upsize, they change to better performance tyres, and hence felt the different) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic November 27, 2013 Share November 27, 2013 upsizing your tyre width , for example, from a standard honda civic oem size, 205.55.16 to 225.45.17 might not increase your grip u will have more stability, cos of wider tyre, and lower profile tyre mean it flex less also. but if u talking about amount of rubber that meet the road, or area of contact with road, it might not increase. instead most of the time it only changes the shape of contact. ( most diver feel more grip when they upsize, cos their oem comfort tyres come with poor grip, when they upsize, they change to better performance tyres, and hence felt the different) Thanks bro. basically my priority now is increase pick up & improve Fc. Hope fully, for future changing from 175/65 to 165/65 or 165/70 will help. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roberttan 5th Gear November 27, 2013 Share November 27, 2013 (edited) may i ask, for 17', with 8jj. what would be the suitable tire size for front and rear? i'm thinking of 215/45/17 for front then 215/55/17 or 225/55/17 or 235/45/17 choose the tyre size that suit your car first and rim width later to match your rim 8jj min 225 max 245 for 17" sorry to ask what car are you driving? putting a seriously under size tyre on wide rim carry a risk of tyre separated from your rim at high speed cornering like 195 on 8jj or215 on 9jj , please be safe Edited November 27, 2013 by Roberttan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 2, 2013 Share December 2, 2013 Last Time I am using Silverstone but for some reason it tends to wear quite serious only at the centre of tires . Funny thing is I am sure that using the correct air pressure. It could be this brand not really suitable for my car..but anyway I just changed my tires to Michelin Primacy 3ST and I have used in for 3 years and still fine even after long mileage . Important thing is still give best driving comfort.... Silverstone is Made in Msia tire. Get better rubbers for a safe n happy drive. Yr Michelins r good tires. Take good care of them n ty wil take good care of u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 2, 2013 Share December 2, 2013 Michellin PS3 last way moreee thannnn 40k!!! cannot finish using oneeeeee.... Ya I find Michelin n Continential tires very lasting. Mine can even go upto 4 yrs (abt 80K km) b4. Is it advisable to mix 2 brand of tire? like front, brand a. Rear, brand b. Mine is like that. No problem at all. Just dun mix 2 different tires on the same axle only. But best is all 4 tires r the same type. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 2, 2013 Share December 2, 2013 Made in China OMG!!!!! U spend so much time n effort to ask this n that about yr tires and end up u buy China made tires. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 2, 2013 Share December 2, 2013 Wah you win already lah bro, u buy the rim what JJ also u dunno ah....siow liow lah!!!!! Er......He is like that one. Hahaha. Quite muddle headed. He ask alot but end up do what he want. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 2, 2013 Share December 2, 2013 9jj with 215 tyre will look very stretched. May dislodge your tyre under hard cornering. Suggest you go 235 or 245 if really 9". Dun scare him lah. Wait all the info he already got he wil ditch n start all over again. Hahaha. Yeah I agree, the tire shop trying to pull a fast one on Kurty. Poor fellow, buy this, buy that, all cannot fit, waste a lot of time and effort. Should just come to SGP, go to a popular tire shop, get it done one shot. Very jialat I feel for him. This type of customer....most shop love. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged December 3, 2013 Share December 3, 2013 Really wonder why this stupid tyre marker never think of cars will have a few degree of camper? The contact points of 225 is simplier with one of 185 due to the 2 outer grooves! Fyi, its just a 1.5º camper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic December 3, 2013 Share December 3, 2013 Reg post #122, I heard that was something like setting ur wheels to "off camber" is the pic an example of that.? Whats the pro & cons of doing that? can all cars do such settings? I noticed a lot of Avante these days when I view from the rear look like that. Or is it a manufacturing defect / wear & tear.? Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roberttan 5th Gear December 4, 2013 Share December 4, 2013 (edited) Really wonder why this stupid tyre marker never think of cars will have a few degree of camper? The contact points of 225 is simplier with one of 185 due to the 2 outer grooves! Fyi, its just a 1.5º campe friend , responsible and Good tyre company had taken all into considerationsssss what we had seen here is static situation, once is rolling every thing change Wider tyre may not give you good grip , actually more prompt to skid in the wet if the designed is poor. Do check what you had on your car is it a Stock basic size or already upsize by your Car distributor. most likely we do not require any more upsize , and just pay for Better Quality tyre (BEST) what is the point of Upsize and ended up lower Quality tyre Paymore is to enhance the SAFETY not just look just to add, is nothing wrong to mix 1 pair of diff tyre to the other pair , so long is same size and on the same axel Edited December 4, 2013 by Roberttan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic December 4, 2013 Share December 4, 2013 Wiki did mention that skinnier tyres cuts better thru water. Handling wise, w/o upping performance significantly, anything beyond + 1 is redundant. It said car magazine or watnot tried on the same car model, progressively from 15 to 19 inch. With each increment, slight increment in FC & noise. It all goes down to priorities I guess. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dieselord 2nd Gear July 10, 2015 Share July 10, 2015 Currently looking at 18" 9jj offset 32 rims, Can it fit 225/40/18 tyres? Any safety concern? Cornering ok? TIA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic July 10, 2015 Share July 10, 2015 Currently looking at 18" 9jj offset 32 rims, Can it fit 225/40/18 tyres? Any safety concern? Cornering ok? TIA what is the original manufacturer offset for the rim. 9" i believe its too wide for a 225/40/18. stand corrected... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dieselord 2nd Gear July 10, 2015 Share July 10, 2015 Hi bro.. I'm not sure my original manufacturer offset.. How do i chk?? So mean 225/40 is not suitable for 9jj? Thks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...