inlinesix Hypersonic October 11, 2013 Share October 11, 2013 Your point? MAKE a statement. Quoting without making a statement only means you do not or dare not make a stand No matter what u gonna complain, cyclist licensing is backward looking according to LTA. Got license? So what? No one to enforce it. That's why there is so many incident involving all types of road users. Don't tell me enforcement through citizen bideo. That's pure BS. Since u always talk about cyclist licensing so much, how come nvr see u write letter to Tuck Yew? Write to him & not debating with me is THE BEST SOLUTION. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear October 11, 2013 Share October 11, 2013 http://www.togoparts.com/articles/news.php?artid=2785 Developed countries like UK, Japan, USA, EU countries, Australia and New Zealand also do not require the registration of bicycles. People in develop countries mention above also do not behave like Cyclists here. I have live for almost 2 years in Germany, & cycle sometimes as well. It cannot be more different. Almost all kids wear helmet, they cross the road only when the lights turn green for them. People (most at least) bother to wear proper gears, & signal when they need to turn. Amazingly, they also stop during red lights. I do seen people who doesn't, but they are exceptions, not the norm. Of course, there, the drivers tends to be less aggressive when they drive in neighbourhood, & have the patient to drive behind a cyclist unless they have a chance to overtake a cyclist on the road (& considering many country roads are single lane in a direction), which make riding less nervous. Not once have I seen a car horn at a bicycle for blocking his way. Did I mention you need to buy 3rd party damage insurance also. My point being, while obviously we wish to be treated as responsible citizens like other first world nations, we are still a long way to go. Its not my fault or your fault, but blame it on the many culprits that have no regards to traffic rules. If you go to a park in London, not often, if at all will you see a No litter sign, because this is expected, they think you are responsible enough not to litter, Even in Singapore, no litter sign have significantly reduced compared to many years ago, when Singapore was known as a 'fine' city. But this trust have to be gain. Cyclists, as a whole have not gain this, so serious measures must be in place to ensure people who take to the road are responsible, understand & follow rules. In a nutshell, do not compare with other develop countries unless our riders behave as well as them. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear October 11, 2013 Share October 11, 2013 (edited) No matter what u gonna complain, cyclist licensing is backward looking according to LTA. Got license? So what? No one to enforce it. That's why there is so many incident involving all types of road users. Don't tell me enforcement through citizen bideo. That's pure BS. Since u always talk about cyclist licensing so much, how come nvr see u write letter to Tuck Yew? Write to him & not debating with me is THE BEST SOLUTION. The first step to a solution is in recognising a problem exist in the first place in my opinion, AND I DARE STATE IT: Cyclists are currently untraceable. Meaning they can pretty much get away with bad behaviour/ rule flouting/pedestrian-road user quick switches...etc. AND THEY KNOW IT! Your own response already acknowledges that there's a problem, just that lack of enforcement dues not curb it And while you may not agree, the other hot cyclist thread now on the forum board is PRECISELY how a video capture can catch an errant cyclist. If that cyclist had some form of mandatory identification on him / his bike, do you think it's not possible to trace back to him? Even if he is not the bikes owner, the owner of the bike would be hard pressed to claim ignorance of whom he/she lent it to (much like how traffic offences with regards to cars are handled) You were the one who replied (meaninglessly) to my post in the first place, how is that a consequence of me debating with you ... siow! And finally, How would you know if I had written in or not??!! Assume .... Assume ... *facepalm* Edited October 11, 2013 by Scoots 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 (edited) Now the cyclists on our roads behave the way they behave now is because of their "anonymous" identity. It is practicularly impossible to identify them and chances of them getting prosecuted is almost zero.. Cyclist expect motorists to look out for them, give way to them..basically share the road with them as they are legally allowed on the road. Sure.. But when it comes to liabilities of their own actions, they siam, they argue.... basically they dont want any liabilities. Come on lah. I for one feels that we should make it illegal for cyclist on all public roads unless they are issued licenses; whereby they need to attend basic road safety theory lessons/test and get their vehicle properly registered. No need for road tax, coe, erps. Just need to pay registration fees. All the fees and summons issued for errant cyclist can go into the cost of enforcement. Level of enforcement can be adjusted accordingly. Edited October 12, 2013 by Baphomet 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 (edited) I posted on LBW's facebook to offer my support for compulsory bike licensure. When the PAP guys get things right as they do occasionally, we must show support. Just to be clear, I don't insist on cyclists paying road tax, etc. No need to make the practice unduly expensive with a recurring fee - it is something that should be encouraged, after all, because it is green and healthy. What I do insist on is formal rider education (at least a theory test) with compulsory licensure and registration with clearly visible plates. This should be done as long as the cycle is going to set wheels on a public road. If they're going to restrict themselves to parks and PCNs, then, of course, they can be exempted. Another thing that may be considered is setting minimum standards for safety gear for all road cyclists - but I'm worried that the cyclists of lower socioeconomic status (i.e. the "cari makan" ones who are doing it for their livelihoods) will not be able to afford this. Edited October 12, 2013 by Turboflat4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 (edited) The first step to a solution is in recognising a problem exist in the first place in my opinion, AND I DARE STATE IT: Cyclists are currently untraceable. Meaning they can pretty much get away with bad behaviour/ rule flouting/pedestrian-road user quick switches...etc. AND THEY KNOW IT! Why would it be untraceable when everyone has an identity card if an errant cyclist is caught by the cops? Licensing for cyclist is totally impractical because it is an recreational activity done by kids to old folks and you wanna regulate that? I thought the reply from LTA made complete sense. Not only the administration is difficult and cumbersome, but if we want to be a progressive nation, we should use education and traffic enforcement as the means to promote safety rather than to regulate a recreational activity. As I said before, if we regulate this, then what next? License joggers, roller-bladers and pedestrians as well? Edited October 12, 2013 by Icedbs 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 Now the cyclists on our roads behave the way they behave now is because of their "anonymous" identity. It is practicularly impossible to identify them and chances of them getting prosecuted is almost zero.. Cyclist expect motorists to look out for them, give way to them..basically share the road with them as they are legally allowed on the road. Sure.. But when it comes to liabilities of their own actions, they siam, they argue.... basically they dont want any liabilities. Come on lah. I for one feels that we should make it illegal for cyclist on all public roads unless they are issued licenses; whereby they need to attend basic road safety theory lessons/test and get their vehicle properly registered. No need for road tax, coe, erps. Just need to pay registration fees. All the fees and summons issued for errant cyclist can go into the cost of enforcement. Level of enforcement can be adjusted accordingly. I read this post after I made mine. Sorry that mine is almost like a repetition of yours, but it does show that great minds think alike! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 I read this post after I made mine. Sorry that mine is almost like a repetition of yours, but it does show that great minds think alike! nah...your england much better then mine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderman302 2nd Gear October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 How come this nee soon mp aka ah bee like to chup ji kar in anything n almost everything , whether be it big or small matter... If they implement this license thing, sooner or later they will introduce road tax n insurance to all these cyclist. Don't want to huat also very difficult sia! So many at/atb on the road, govt sure tua tua tan tan !!! This woman mp talk only. Just want to score point. Any auntie in spore can do better than her. BlOody hell. She may suggest off peak bike. Coe for diff categories of bike. She is a liability for the peeapee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 (edited) Addressing the point of enforcement, it's really a non-issue. How are the traffic police/LTA able to police things like bus-lane compliance, etc. now? Plain clothes officers, photographic evidence, and so forth. All these things can easily be adapted to catching unlicensed cyclists who ride without displaying plates on the road. Drivers can also help out by catching these cyclists on their in car cams and making a report. Plains clothes officers can then be deployed along that stretch. If the cyclist decides to try his luck once more, he'll find that he's run out of it. There are finer points to consider. Licensure comes with a minimum age requirement. Licensure need not apply to residential roads, so that kids and families with children can freely cycle on these roads. This can perhaps be effected by having the requirements only apply to roads with a limit over 40km/hr. These are minor details that can be worked out later - but the fact remains that we need to do something, and fast. And to all the self-righteous outraged cyclists out there. Please stop blaming the drivers for this. The road has rules, and there needs to be a way to enforce them effectively. I hate having such low speed limits on then road - I can very easily and quite safely do more than double the limit of any road in Singapore, but the fact remains that I cannot do so legally. I have to putter along with my car and spirit both feeling constipated because that's the law. Motorists have to be conscious of abiding by the regulations that have been set down - why should cyclists be any different? In any case, you really brought this on yourself by consistent brainless behaviour (at least by some black sheep). You had the chance to continue riding unregulated, but you blew it by riding irreponsibly. Now zheng hu has to step in and good job too. Edited October 12, 2013 by Turboflat4 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 Why would it be untraceable when everyone has an identity card if an errant cyclist is caught by the cops? Licensing for cyclist is totally impractical because it is an recreational activity done by kids to old folks and you wanna regulate that? I thought the reply from LTA made complete sense. Not only the administration is difficult and cumbersome, but if we want to be a progressive nation, we should use education and traffic enforcement as the means to promote safety rather than to regulate a recreational activity. As I said before, if we regulate this, then what next? License joggers, roller-bladers and pedestrians as well? Regulation is warranted if the activity poses sufficient threat to disruption of usage to an otherwise normal functioning road. There are very few joggers, roller-bladers and pedestrains on the road. They can however be found on the road on rare occasions - pavements blocked by something. Your analogy is seriously flawed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 Why would it be untraceable when everyone has an identity card if an errant cyclist is caught by the cops? Licensing for cyclist is totally impractical because it is an recreational activity done by kids to old folks and you wanna regulate that? I thought the reply from LTA made complete sense. Not only the administration is difficult and cumbersome, but if we want to be a progressive nation, we should use education and traffic enforcement as the means to promote safety rather than to regulate a recreational activity. As I said before, if we regulate this, then what next? License joggers, roller-bladers and pedestrians as well? jogger , roller-bladers, pedestrians, do they conduct their activiy on the road? they only cross the road, they dun jog roll , walk in the middle of the road, i think u are totally off the point, ppl who want to bring their bike to example east coast park to cycle, those of course we dun need to regulate them. (but of course this bring back another problem, i seen alot of time cyclist knock down pedestrians, the cyclist just look fustrated and mumble sorry and ride away, how to even trace him? who pay the the doctor fee suffer by the pedestrians)?? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 (edited) want to use the roads as like a motor vehicle, follow the rules and pay the price like one. ERP also possible as those cyclist inadvertently causes the traffic to slow down as well. If motorbikes pay ERP, why not bicycles as well? LTA can design a more areodynamic one for those pro cyclist. Edited October 12, 2013 by Ngck 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamomatt 2nd Gear October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 Joggers, skaters and pedestrians know how to follow rules. Cyclists don't. Why would it be untraceable when everyone has an identity card if an errant cyclist is caught by the cops? Licensing for cyclist is totally impractical because it is an recreational activity done by kids to old folks and you wanna regulate that? I thought the reply from LTA made complete sense. Not only the administration is difficult and cumbersome, but if we want to be a progressive nation, we should use education and traffic enforcement as the means to promote safety rather than to regulate a recreational activity. As I said before, if we regulate this, then what next? License joggers, roller-bladers and pedestrians as well? 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 Joggers, skaters and pedestrians know how to follow rules. Cyclists don't. Every group sure have some that don't follow rules. I always see pedestrians jay walking, cyclists using the pedestrian path and pedestrian crossings and skaters skating across the zebra crossing also. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 Every group sure have some that don't follow rules. I always see pedestrians jay walking, cyclists using the pedestrian path and pedestrian crossings and skaters skating across the zebra crossing also. Becos of the cyclist speed, they are a nightmare for drivers when they just dash across traffic junction and zebra crossing 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 The first step to a solution is in recognising a problem exist in the first place in my opinion, AND I DARE STATE IT: Cyclists are currently untraceable. Meaning they can pretty much get away with bad behaviour/ rule flouting/pedestrian-road user quick switches...etc. AND THEY KNOW IT! Your own response already acknowledges that there's a problem, just that lack of enforcement dues not curb it And while you may not agree, the other hot cyclist thread now on the forum board is PRECISELY how a video capture can catch an errant cyclist. If that cyclist had some form of mandatory identification on him / his bike, do you think it's not possible to trace back to him? Even if he is not the bikes owner, the owner of the bike would be hard pressed to claim ignorance of whom he/she lent it to (much like how traffic offences with regards to cars are handled) You were the one who replied (meaninglessly) to my post in the first place, how is that a consequence of me debating with you ... siow! And finally, How would you know if I had written in or not??!! Assume .... Assume ... *facepalm* If there is proper enforcement on the road, how would cyclist be untraceable? Every 1 has some form of proper ID on them. If we are relying on video capture, it is like what i said earlier, pure BS. All the problem on the road (regardless which group of users), is cause by lack of enforcement. Every wk, i would encounter driver do not stop at zebra crossing. Should i report them? Lastly, i assume u did not write to my MP. If yes, u could share his response on this matter. I had shared the response i read HOR. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 Please lah. Issue licence, put licence plate, all this will be useless if the authorities continue not to enforce road regulations on cyclists. If they step up enforcement on cyclists, it would not be necessary to go to all this song and dance. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...