Kueijie Clutched December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 Hi guys,I'm looking ard to replace my current ride. 2 options i'm considering now, need some "expert" opinion. lol1) Apr 2006 Toyota Vitz 1.0A78,000km due to OPC$23,800 to convert to normal plate2) Oct 2005 Mazda 2 1.5A79,000km$18,800I would like to understand, which have better FC and would have better chance to last me till 10th year. Quite interested in the Toyota Vitz, but kind of worry abt the accerlation/horse/drag power if i got full passengers on board. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LostInHeaven 1st Gear December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 what car are you currently driving now? and what is its age? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 Purchase price of the Vitz? What is the monthly depreciation of each? Frankly - I wouldn't make a decision until I'd driven both to get a feel for how they are maintained etc, and then I'd get an inspection on the one that seemed the best value for money. And one thing for sure - at 1000cc you can forget abt acceleration. Even "good" for a car of this size is going to be bad. So don't even think about it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 Purchase price of the Vitz? What is the monthly depreciation of each? Frankly - I wouldn't make a decision until I'd driven both to get a feel for how they are maintained etc, and then I'd get an inspection on the one that seemed the best value for money. And one thing for sure - at 1000cc you can forget abt acceleration. Even "good" for a car of this size is going to be bad. So don't even think about it. if he only drives it in town or in HDB estates, the 1000cc should have enough poke to get him reasonably quick from A to B when he belts it a bit harder than a normal driver. But expressway travel is best done avoiding the fast lanes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 Given if both cars are in good condition, I would recommend Mazda 2. No need to think. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 Just remember - when you compare, my first car was a 1969 Morris 1100. It could only hit 100 km/h going downhill. My second car was a 1974 Galant....flat out it could do maaayybeee 140 km/h My third car was an Izuzu Piazza 2000 cc - that also flat out at 140 km/h Speed is very very relative. Even 90 km/h in 20 seconds is good enough to get around if he only drives it in town or in HDB estates, the 1000cc should have enough poke to get him reasonably quick from A to B when he belts it a bit harder than a normal driver. But expressway travel is best done avoiding the fast lanes. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 Given if both cars are in good condition, I would recommend Mazda 2. No need to think. But older Mazda are famous for high fuel comsumption. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 Just remember - when you compare, my first car was a 1969 Morris 1100. It could only hit 100 km/h going downhill. My second car was a 1974 Galant....flat out it could do maaayybeee 140 km/h My third car was an Izuzu Piazza 2000 cc - that also flat out at 140 km/h Speed is very very relative. Even 90 km/h in 20 seconds is good enough to get around Just to compare our experience:- first car 65 Chrysler Hunter 1500cc, repeated trips between Sydney - Newcastle at constant 100kmh... pedal to metal; second and third cars Holden HRs both 2.6L inline6, 120kmh roadhogging semi-trailers on expressways, I also had a Austin 1300cc in sgp paying $500 for it... not much better than your 1100cc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 the HRs are good.... dad had a kingswood for a while....202 inline 6......also had austin avenger as family car.... austin healy or sprite? Just to compare our experience:- first car 65 Chrysler Hunter 1500cc, repeated trips between Sydney - Newcastle at constant 100kmh... pedal to metal; second and third cars Holden HRs both 2.6L inline6, 120kmh roadhogging semi-trailers on expressways, I also had a Austin 1300cc in sgp paying $500 for it... not much better than your 1100cc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 (edited) http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info_photos.php?ID=368246&CUR=1#photo VS http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=376842&DL=1232 The Mazda 2 will definately have a better driving experience as it's a 1.5l with more power on the roads. The Mazda's power-to-weight ratio is not too bad. The Vitz, being a 1.0, definately will feel draggy and powerless. Esp in full load. As the bros above mentioned, 1.0 don think about power, FC or drag. Car can move can liao. FC for Toyota is always know to be better, plus the fact that it's 1.0 makes it even more fuel economical, even if the car is full load. FC of Mazda 2 is very unflattering. If your 2005 Mazda 2 is the Mazda 2 SP, maybe it's abit better but still bad. Prepare to expect around 11 to 12 km/l of FC. What is your priority? The Vitz is OPC but newer, but that also means you need to folk up more to convert to normal. If I'm you and dun mind OPC, I will take the newer Vitz which has more parts available in SG and better FC. Fark the driving experience! If I feel that I need the normal plate I can convert in the future. But take note, the Mazda 2 is more spacious and more pratical, the Vitz have virtually no boot so if you got family and need to full load with lugguage to boot, Vitz is not for you. So what are your priorities? Edited December 5, 2013 by Pocus 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 (edited) But older Mazda are famous for high fuel comsumption. You hear/learn from where? My wife drives the Mazda 2. Easily 12-13km/l. is that no good? My old Latio said to have good FC, I never hit 13km/l before. I used to drive an old Nissan March 1.0A. On sgCarMart ads, dealer say can 17km/l. What a joke. Got 14km/l damn happy liao. My friend drives a Honda Fit 1.3A, he's averaging 13-14km/l. Toyota and Honda "hearsay" very good. Even if it's 14-15km/l, what is 2km/l over a year? For the price premium (compare a similar aged say Honda Jazz, etc.) I think you can pump many years of free fuel. It's not true that small engine may give better FC. In fact vehicle weight and aerodynamics matters more than anything else. Edited December 5, 2013 by Detach8 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 BTW bro the Mazda 2 is a little overpriced. Even the Vitz is overpriced. For a normal plate car like these, you shouldn't pay more than 5k+ for the depre. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 There you go, the magic word. I used to drive an old Nissan March 1.0A. On sgCarMart ads, dealer say can 17km/l. What a joke. Got 14km/l damn happy liao. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 (edited) why not vios? 2005 and better engine power, reliable, below 20k http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/listing.php?RGD=2005&MOD=vios&RPG=20&VEH=0&TRN=2&AVL=2 Edited December 5, 2013 by Thaiyotakamli Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 why not vios? 2005 and better engine power, reliable, below 20k http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/listing.php?RGD=2005&MOD=vios&RPG=20&VEH=0&TRN=2&AVL=2 unless he enjoys sitting inside a boomy tin can. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 unless he enjoys sitting inside a boomy tin can. well at least full load everyone can get inside car without getting down to push car uphill Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 Hi guys, I'm looking ard to replace my current ride. 2 options i'm considering now, need some "expert" opinion. lol 1) Apr 2006 Toyota Vitz 1.0A 78,000km due to OPC $23,800 to convert to normal plate 2) Oct 2005 Mazda 2 1.5A 79,000km $18,800 I would like to understand, which have better FC and would have better chance to last me till 10th year. Quite interested in the Toyota Vitz, but kind of worry abt the accerlation/horse/drag power if i got full passengers on board. Not even a close comparison. Go for the mazda. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 unless he enjoys sitting inside a boomy tin can. Vitz ain't very quiet either Between a Vitz and a Vios, I'd choose the Vios, unless it's the Vitz RS The only problem I have with the Mazda 2 is really the FC. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...