SG conflict with Indo - navy ship name & air space

Darthrevan

actually, i dont see the issue....a name is just a name....history is history....seriously i dont think the younger population will actually remember the incident let alone the names of the commandos.....just let it be loh...why is there to bring back old stories???? now everyone will add pepper and salt to stir things up again.

I junked you for the hightlighted.

Whether you think the naming matters or not is none of my business, but to advocate that history be forgotten, that we actively try to forget history, especially such recent history is unforgivable.

It is only when we appreciate where we have come from, that we can understand where we are going. The bombing of Macdonald House, amongst a whole range of other activities brings us such a greater level of understanding of the motivations of the leaders of the time that to not study it, to not understand it is the act of the willfully ignorant.

The so-called “marines” came here to bomb Orchard Road and resulted in loss of civilian lives. That was an act of terrorism, not military actions.

For such act of terrorism, the two were conferred with prestigious title, with warships named after them back in their home country.

This may encourage more cowards to come here for bomb-planting activities.

We already have ponding, flooding and many water activities in Orchard Road. We wouldn't want to have “fireworks” in the CBD area. So please, don't name the ships after the two.

While history is important, we are also concerned about our future too.

Edited by Albeniz

true...we learnt from history never to repeat our past mistakes...but i dont see whats this got to do with history or sensitivity??? WW2 ended abt 70 years back...so we should still hate the japanese for another 70 years? The commandos were caught and executed, the old man and the indonesian already settled this issue....so by harping on this again makes better sense? so if we name our next submarine " lim bo seng" should the japanese write to our MFA and protest as well? then should mindef give a F*** what they think, its our submarine we can name it whatever we want wat. if singapore is still sore abt this the most make it clear that these ship are not welcome into our harbours or during bilateral exercise these ship are not welcome to join.

seems like you cannot differentiate between aggressors and victims

not going to argue anymore

Relations will always be sour. With many uber rich Indon placing their millions/billions here. This incident would be far from being the last.

Reality of being sandwiched between 2 bigger ah bangs.

One likes to blow ciggie smoke and the other starts farting when you're downwind. We lan lan have to suck it up.

Just make sure they know if they cross that line, they'll get more than a bloody nose.

As long as that equilibrium is achieved, everyone will be at peace.

Edited by Sabian

The so-called “marines” came here to bomb Orchard Road and resulted in loss of civilian lives. That was an act of terrorism, not military actions.

For such act of terrorism, the two were conferred with prestigious title, with warships named after them back in their home country.

This may encourage more cowards to come here for bomb-planting activities.

We already have ponding, flooding and many water activities in Orchard Road. We wouldn't want to have “fireworks” in the CBD area. So please, don't name the ships after the two.

While history is important, we are also concerned about our future too.

2 marines sent here to bomb

that one is call black ops liao

How about our SAF rename our latest and greatest warship to RSS "Macdonald House"?

cannot lah

lagi su say leh [laugh]

I have just decided to name my home toilet bowl "Indo" and look forward to making the daily bombing runs.

From the news, the Indo authority has considered the case closed, saying that foreign countries have no rights to interfere with their decision to name the ships.

By the same token, they should respect your toilet bowl decision and not interfere with your bowel habits too.

How about our SAF rename our latest and greatest warship to RSS "Macdonald House"?

Not Macdonald House. Just name after the name of executor or the one who passed the death sentence.

election coming... SBY needs to ensure his party wins to have good retirement... nationalistic is the simplest.. talk only...

well... if we had laid flowers before... we will lay it again, if need be,...

But if you owe your neighbour a million bucks, you hope he dies suddenly and no one else is aware of the debt.

yeah ..was thinking of the 5 billions that we loan them sometimes ago...don't know if they have finish paying or not...

There's no such thing as forgive and forget in international politics. Your competitors are more than happy if you forget, so they can do it again and again when they get a sense that you accept and agree to this kind of behavior. Why is there to bring back old stories ? Who brought it up ?

Forgive, but never forget.

From the news, the Indo authority has considered the case closed, saying that foreign countries have no rights to interfere with their decision to name the ships.

By the same token, they should respect your toilet bowl decision and not interfere with your bowel habits too.

It sounds so similar in the way they handle our concerns over their haze issue. Such a lack of tact or sensitivity.

There will be karma.

When they have a natural disaster they should also have no right to ask others for help. In fact, if others offer help, they should summon up the same nationalistic pride and refuse on the grounds that it is a domestic matter.

Wow. They actually dig up history to name their navy vessel?

But these 2 so called commandos are merely pawns following orders to detonate the explosives. Who's their commander who gave that order? If they want to name the vessel after sacrificial pawns, let them be.