Dangerous Driver SJX639M

Lkp848

Alot of drivers have this bad habit, they only look at the far front for pedestrian walk towards them, and when they spot non means all clear, just like this case.... Neck too stiff to turn and check...

[nod][nod] [nod] on this statement especially when at a cross junction while making a right turn.

Often drivers only pay attention to opposite lane traffic which normally has the right-of-way but they seldom notice pedestrians crossing the lane they are turning into.

Remember this?

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/elderly-woman-loses-consciousness-after-getting-hit-by-female-driver-at-buangkok

[nod][nod] [nod] on this statement especially when at a cross junction while making a right turn.

Often drivers only pay attention to opposite lane traffic which normally has the right-of-way but they seldom notice pedestrians crossing the lane they are turning into.

Remember this?

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/elderly-woman-loses-consciousness-after-getting-hit-by-female-driver-at-buangkok

Remeber the bus turning right and KILL the pedestrian? It's also another case! Too many already...

Edited by Deckbuild

Remember this?

scary sia~!

Merc clip ai mai?

http://youtu.be/LVLWbe4FE_w

There were 2 occassions that I nearly hit padestrians as well, so have to learn from experience, but just to know if you guys experienced this. 1 was after picking my, so made a slight left to shift the car to the out going lane. Didn't noticed that a pedastrian had also crossed the road and he was ironically in line with the right side frame of the car.. good thing was only starting to move off at very slow speed so managed to stop in time. The other was when I followed the car in front, never realising pedastrians were crossing (totally my bad).. Was absent minded back then.. (To the pedastrian, really really paiseh, will be driving more carefully)

As for my 1st near miss, how do you guys manage to overcome this "blind spot"? Other the just driving slowly..

Btw, partially also due to the lousy exit/entrance design, this is a classic example of why expressway slip road aways jam and got accident, look at the distance btw the entrance where he came out and long q of traffic wanted to exit... Always have some car cut right from entrance and some car cut left to exit the expressway....

There were 2 occassions that I nearly hit padestrians as well, so have to learn from experience, but just to know if you guys experienced this. 1 was after picking my, so made a slight left to shift the car to the out going lane. Didn't noticed that a pedastrian had also crossed the road and he was ironically in line with the right side frame of the car.. good thing was only starting to move off at very slow speed so managed to stop in time. The other was when I followed the car in front, never realising pedastrians were crossing (totally my bad).. Was absent minded back then.. (To the pedastrian, really really paiseh, will be driving more carefully)

As for my 1st near miss, how do you guys manage to overcome this "blind spot"? Other the just driving slowly..

side rant - i nearly got hit by a car outside mount E zebra crossing. driver didnt stop even though i was halfway through the crossing. it was so close his side view mirror brushed against me ... and i was so pissed i punched it.

the guy didnt even stop .. he kept driving like an idiot ... i even managed to catch up to him when he was filtering left towards orchard ... he and his wife pretend never see anything ... and his mirror was still closed and a little slanted. oh well.

Case 1

2nd look at the vid, can see the car was filtering from lane 4 to lane 3 and immediately cut into lane 2, that's why TS can't see him signalling from far as the car was not even in the queue in lane 3, suddenly just cut out to lane 2 after change lane from lane 4, that's made worst as the view by TS was partially block by the vehicle behind that car, that car din even confirm the on coming traffic on lane 2 n just swing out in a sudden.

If TS can see that car signalling, then its fair that he should slow down, but this case leave TS no chance at all but to brake harder cos its all in a sudden.

Case 2

That right turning driver didn't keep a look out for any pedestrian crossing before turning.

When he go nearer his view on the pedestrian was probably blocked by his own vehicle A pillar.

Case 2

That right turning driver didn't keep a look out for any pedestrian crossing before turning.

When he go nearer his view on the pedestrian was probably blocked by his own vehicle A pillar.

"He" was actually a middle-aged short hair specky woman and she should have seen him when she turned her vehicle, provided the situation awareness in her was there. Apparently not unfortunately.

If not for the agility of the black-shirted guy who sprung back upon being shocked by the non-stopping Merc, I would soon pa-ing in a court a few weeks later...

"He" was actually a middle-aged short hair specky woman and she should have seen him when she turned her vehicle, provided the situation awareness in her was there. Apparently not unfortunately.

If not for the agility of the black-shirted guy who sprung back upon being shocked by the non-stopping Merc, I would soon pa-ing in a court a few weeks later...

A-pillar blindspot and a lot of people don't shift their body/tilt their head to ensure this is clear.

Doesn't help that some cars have thicker A-pillars or that people like to put their gps units next to the A-pillar on the right side (sometimes right at their eye level!) and/or put a whole bunch of windscreen labels down the left side parallel to the A-pillar.

Remember people, labels along the top/bottom of the windscreen and put up your gps units in the middle/bottom of the windscreen preferably where it doesn't obstruct your line-of-sight. Don't make your blind spots bigger than they already are.

And what's with people having their gps units active everytime they drive, even on daily commutes they're familiar with?

Live and let live lah. From your position, you can see he signal and with that long queue, expect some to filter out and be prepared to slow down.

I always let people into my lane unless, especially when they signaled, unless you get those type who don't wanna queue up and want to cut into queueing lane.

Then again, if they turn out to be blur fark type, I still let them in.

Our traffic will be a lot smoother if we let other filter as quickly as possible.

Case 1

2nd look at the vid, can see the car was filtering from lane 4 to lane 3 and immediately cut into lane 2, that's why TS can't see him signalling from far as the car was not even in the queue in lane 3, suddenly just cut out to lane 2 after change lane from lane 4, that's made worst as the view by TS was partially block by the vehicle behind that car, that car din even confirm the on coming traffic on lane 2 n just swing out in a sudden.

If TS can see that car signalling, then its fair that he should slow down, but this case leave TS no chance at all but to brake harder cos its all in a sudden.

TS actually can see the SUV coming, it is due to the low video resolution that you cannot see unless you observe carefully.

Not to say SUV is totally not at fault for not keeping a proper lookout but TS could have anticipated since he has a good view of the situation ahead and gracefully give way instead of posting here to complain.

This kind of situation happens everyday on the road, if you cannot live with this your life will be miserable on the road.

Right of way doesn't mean cannot give way.

TS actually can see the SUV coming, it is due to the low video resolution that you cannot see unless you observe carefully.

Not to say SUV is totally not at fault for not keeping a proper lookout but TS could have anticipated since he has a good view of the situation ahead and gracefully give way instead of posting here to complain.

This kind of situation happens everyday on the road, if you cannot live with this your life will be miserable on the road.

Right of way doesn't mean cannot give way.

If thats the case TS should have slow down if he can spot the car signalling from far.

from the clip we cannot tell if the man broke the mirror of his car... he may have hit the man car when he was opening the door.

but on thing for sure traffic police sure call him up for speeding....

Does this contravene careless driving? Can report TP if you like.

I agree with live and let live. I'm just concerned that it might become his habit and caused lives sooner or later.

And yes, there's one too many drivers like that out there.

Does switching on hazard lights means "Thank you"?