Hydrocarbon Turbocharged March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 These people should not be condemned. These are the nice people I would like to make friends with. If you know, intro to me also leh.. My female friends all quite stingy one. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matoonia 6th Gear March 18, 2014 Author Share March 18, 2014 If you know, intro to me also leh.. My female friends all quite stingy one. That's what I thought too. Not so young, single females - shouldnt they be more stingy and save for their future? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OmOm 5th Gear March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 Indeed, all of us are in no position to look down on anyone. We are all suffering, in one way or another. At the end of the day, let us see how we can help one another to understand more about our condition of suffering and its roots so that we can reduce the pain from it. My bad, maybe let me rephrase what I said. I can't survive on $3 a day, and would find even the $5 / day challenge extremely tough, though there are others out there doing the same. I haven't had the misfortune to suffer at that level, and hopefully I never will, but I don't look down on those who are. You're a good man to give him that offer, but the change, both the willingness and determination has to come from him. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 muahahahahahah...knn...pardon the euphemisms. I moody today lah Moody? Like as in PMS type? Hyek hyek hyek Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 That's what I thought too. Not so young, single females - shouldnt they be more stingy and save for their future? Don't know.. Maybe those I know stingy when coming out to eat, want others (guys) to pay, but ownself buy a lot of bags? Indeed, all of us are in no position to look down on anyone. We are all suffering, in one way or another. At the end of the day, let us see how we can help one another to understand more about our condition of suffering and its roots so that we can reduce the pain from it. Can't praise you any more.. I enjoy / learn from most of your posts, just that seldom see you around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 Wah lau. Say pple platinum. It's Centurion lah. Sorry le i layman people so dont know got existence of such card hahaha I really didn't know women can be so addicted to rolling over their credit card bills to buy expensive handbags. Can you imagine how much the roll over interest would be? I wonder which bank has the most credit card loans to these women, I would really like to buy shares in that bank and also buy some shares in those expensive handbag makers. Theres this card called uob lady card 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 Another "Her World" article and you guys take it so seriously? The story writers there have been writing fantastic stories for years. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 (edited) I only have three cards and its sufficient. I wont sign up more and i wont cut any. Actually i wouldnt mind spending $50k $100k using credit card if it was a budgeted purchase. For example, if i buy furnitureand sign off $80k, the only thing is that when the bill comes i will just fully settle it with cash, ahahahahahahahah. Lich people guo ran bu yi yang. I renovate my house 40k need to take loan liao Talking about credit card, i got some prob with stanchart, they never deduct my giro already claim interest from me, very funny Edited March 18, 2014 by Thaiyotakamli Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 Sorry le i layman people so dont know got existence of such card hahaha Theres this card called uob lady card Great thanks. Next recession I will buy a few of their shares. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 Wah lau. Say pple platinum. It's Centurion lah. Yalor, a lot of people think that platinum card is tops. Some even have that hao lian face when they flash their platinum card. Nowsaday, every Tom, Dick and Harry bank invite any Mary, Susan and Jane to apply for a platinum card, sometimes even "upgrading" them. For Amex, they too have the platinum. But the Amex Centurion Gold Charter is their number one, tops card! Truly BY INVITATION ONLY!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 these kinda people have no one else to blame but themselves. To proud to take BMW ? Got debts still go Spa, Massage n Restaurants ? $20k debt cannot pay off ? They are slaves to their vanity 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 However, there is constant pressure by society and from society that drives the individual into trying to keep up with the Joneses. In time, this conspires with envy and jealousy to invoke in a significant percentage of society general unhappiness and severe discontent. Exactly ... and very well put! And that's what the SG Govt has pointed out about the growing dissatisfaction of the sandwiched middle class - who are generally unhappy and suffering increasing discontent! Thus my repeated questions in MCF on why Singaporeans are so obsessed with: - buying/owning cars ... suggesting sometimes stoopid ideas to enable them to satisfy their want (or greed?). Take public transport MRT/bus can? - buying/owning private property ... non-CCR condos also never mind ... so long as don't lose face / or lose to the Joneses? Live in HDB (BTO/DBSS/EC or whatever) can? - aspire toward well-paid top jobs, to belong to the >$500,000 p.a. top 5% upper-middle class, when they know fully well that wealth equality across the board will never be tenable - everybody has a place in society/life Live within one's means can? So, there is a lot of envy, jealousy, disenchantment ... and often times, leading to dissatisfaction and even anger (with life!). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 Yalor, a lot of people think that platinum card is tops. Some even have that hao lian face when they flash their platinum card. Nowsaday, every Tom, Dick and Harry bank invite any Mary, Susan and Jane to apply for a platinum card, sometimes even "upgrading" them. For Amex, they too have the platinum. But the Amex Centurion Gold Charter is their number one, tops card! Truly BY INVITATION ONLY!!! These are the Elitism culture that is slowly but surely making Sporeans to go the way of the Indian caste system. Defining a person status by a piece of Plastic black card ? that's shallow... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 'a publishing executive' on S$5k per month. Ha ha ha. Got good title instead of good salary. But whatever if she can't manage her money then she should sort that out quickly. Will anyone marry her and take on a S$20k debt??? And some more want to boast about it. Strange people we Singaporeans. executive is good title? art DIRECTOR 4k a month and she feels bad her friends dont earn as much as her.. i do feel bad if i had a director title and earns only 4k each month.....she should find friends who are earning more than her so next time they can treat her instead. btw..some old news report that dishwasher already earn more than 3K in Singapore... our table wiping VP salary also not bad [laugh] My bad, maybe let me rephrase what I said. I can't survive on $3 a day, and would find even the $5 / day challenge extremely tough, though there are others out there doing the same. I haven't had the misfortune to suffer at that level, and hopefully I never will, but I don't look down on those who are. You're a good man to give him that offer, but the change, both the willingness and determination has to come from him. can lah, somehow either people blanjah me or i blanjah others, but on company's account [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 (edited) lol , debt is common in a "developed" country due to loose credit and lesser opportunities as we turn from a producing country to one which consumes more than what can produce economically. In short , without foreign investments and tourism income we can only turn to personal consumption to carry on with our gdp. I don't blame the people for getting "sandwiched" and to overspend , i blame the garmen for the loose credit they allow and their "recession and inflation" proof pay structure to ignore what happens to more than 50% of its people. As long as idoits continue to vote for them , they will continue Importing more people into singapore doesn't solve the problem , changing the structure to enable family building should be their priority , the easy way out for them is to import but it doesn't solve the quality issue , neither the social issues. Day or shine , whether if they did a good job , they continue to "reward" themselves for a job well done. This is my complements to you o0o. Edited March 18, 2014 by CH_CO 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 The world today spins on the axis of consumerism. Financial discipline has been cast to the wind. Through mainstream media and the internet, the notion that money speaks loudest is constantly being drilled into the minds of the masses. Where does the sweet spot lie between extravagance and being overly stingy? In between the ears.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 lol , debt is common in a "developed" country due to loose credit and lesser opportunities as we turn from a producing country to one which consumes more than what can produce economically. In short , without foreign investments and tourism income we can only turn to personal consumption to carry on with our gdp. I don't blame the people for getting "sandwiched" and to overspend , i blame the garmen for the loose credit they allow and their "recession and inflation" proof pay structure to ignore what happens to more than 50% of its people. As long as idoits continue to vote for them , they will continue Importing more people into singapore doesn't solve the problem , changing the structure to enable family building should be their priority , the easy way out for them is to import but it doesn't solve the quality issue , neither the social issues. Day or shine , whether if they did a good job , they continue to "reward" themselves for a job well done. This is my complements to you o0o. What a joke. Debt and overspending can easily be avoided by most if they just have PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY. Choosing to blame the government is ridiculous. Veracity of the article aside, look at what the people in the article are spending their money on. Certainly not basic food and lodging. 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 These are the Elitism culture that is slowly but surely making Sporeans to go the way of the Indian caste system. Defining a person status by a piece of Plastic black card ? that's shallow... most of us dun know our true worth and how it is measured. hence, we make up our own warped standards. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...