flashbang Turbocharged February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 Actually when I compare the service done for my Civic by Kah versus that done for my friend's quick service, I still prefer service at the AD. I have been to see what they do, moment by moment, and it's meticulous, and systematic. Plus they clean and wash my car. The 'quick' service is simply an oil change for the outside workshop. No doubt there is a price difference, and you may have to wait for your turn, but the actual service itself isn't long and if you go on a quiet day, it's pretty ok. Are we throwing good money away if we go to the AD for service? That depends on your perspective. My car has been in good running condition, and take their advice on pre-emptive service to prevent breakdowns, and apart from a kaput aircon compressor, which took half a day to fix, nothing has broken down outside of the service intervals. So YMMV. Toyota buyers outnumber the others, and they like predictability. So it's the right car for the right person. And we are very practical people in SG, who enjoy fuss free motoring above all else. See how 'sex' cars like Fiats and Alfas have fallen by the wayside? After warranty, quick service outside is ok. No need pay extra for the same thing, especially when it's only engine oil change which is the most basic job for any mechanic. Same here , I tend to go back to AD for complicated jobs. I recollect a seemingly simple ATF drain and fill job for my IS250 ended up having the quick service shop under filling it by 1 litre, making the car almost un-driveable . When I downloaded and shared the fill process for the A960E transmission, it clearly stated the following critical steps 1) fill until fluid overflows from overflow plug 2) replace the overflow plug and fill in another 1 - 2.5 litres of WS fluid ( depending on type of repair performed on the car) 3) idle the car and let ATF warm up to a certain temperature 4) loosen overflow plug and fill again until overflow. The shop merely performed to step 1 and laughed at the process I provided with the remark " we know what we are doing , have done it for years " In the end, I had the car booked into Lexus and paid a princely sum of $800 for a complete fluid change package. ( they don't sell ala carte ) and that solved the problem quick service shops can handle most but not all jobs in my opinion This kind of complicated job best to go AD. ATF replacement is no longer considered simple job. I think only engine oil, coolant and spark plugs can fall under easy job. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jg2000 4th Gear February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 Same here , I tend to go back to AD for complicated jobs. I recollect a seemingly simple ATF drain and fill job for my IS250 ended up having the quick service shop under filling it by 1 litre, making the car almost un-driveable . When I downloaded and shared the fill process for the A960E transmission, it clearly stated the following critical steps 1) fill until fluid overflows from overflow plug 2) replace the overflow plug and fill in another 1 - 2.5 litres of WS fluid ( depending on type of repair performed on the car) 3) idle the car and let ATF warm up to a certain temperature 4) loosen overflow plug and fill again until overflow. The shop merely performed to step 1 and laughed at the process I provided with the remark " we know what we are doing , have done it for years " In the end, I had the car booked into Lexus and paid a princely sum of $800 for a complete fluid change package. ( they don't sell ala carte ) and that solved the problem quick service shops can handle most but not all jobs in my opinion You are lucky yours is not a CVT else underfilling the CVT ATF could have totally destroyed the CVT making it very expensive to replace. But having said that, even AD mechanics may not be doing the right job. Some have such high turnover that they end up junior trainees doing critical work and if unsupervised may end up doing the wrong thing. Going to the external workshop where "top hands" from the AD left to start own business may be a best compromise. Their workers are usually a stable and experienced bunch who know what they are doing. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 This kind of complicated job best to go AD. ATF replacement is no longer considered simple job. I think only engine oil, coolant and spark plugs can fall under easy job. wah, you like that say all non-AD workshops can close shop liao. Cos they can't change clutch/engine/gearbox/water pump/fuel pump/timing chain etc properly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 (edited) Wah shiok. Blardy C&C MB service centre gotta Q up take number maciam lining up to buy chicken rice liddat (despite having oredi book online service slot) n hv to wait again to see the esteemed SA. Onli given a lousy voucher to hv a slice of cake n kopi (cannot change to peng hor as ice cube is apparently very expensive....) Then hv to stand outside on main road to ownself wave teksi. Such luxury.... small gestures I noticed really make a difference. Example , the staff greet you by name when you arrive , probably they checked your car plate when you enter the parking area and start pulling up your appointment details , which also includes your breakfast option . You are then led to a waiting area where your breakfast is served wah, you like that say all non-AD workshops can close shop liao. Cos they can't change clutch/engine/gearbox/water pump/fuel pump/timing chain etc properly some of the so called " experts" formerly from AD really deserve to close shop judging by the standard of repairs they perform doesn't mean top hand from an AD 20 years ago can still be competent with the brand when their product and technical training and awareness along with the dealer specific diagnostics and special tools may not be up to par with current times. We are often misled by the car logos displayed on their shop signboards or advertisements on social media and forums but having said that , simple and straight forward repairs are definitely do able by the quick service guys. I wouldn't want to spend a few hundred to replace an alternator belt or top up air con gas Edited February 1, 2017 by S4vtec Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 small gestures I noticed really make a difference. Example , the staff greet you by name when you arrive , probably they checked your car plate when you enter the parking area and start pulling up your appointment details , which also includes your breakfast option . You are then led to a waiting area where your breakfast is served Yeah know what u mean. I came from a Volvo b4 MB and the service levels were really top notch too (except no pre-order bf). Greeted by name, dedicated SA, delicious kopi served by the nice auntie, after settle they will either call a teksi to pickup from service doorstep (incl a teksi voucher) or if not too far, they will send in their new S80s. When i first got the MB, I asked who is the assigned SA, they look at me maciam I juz got off the boat. Haha.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 Same here , I tend to go back to AD for complicated jobs. I recollect a seemingly simple ATF drain and fill job for my IS250 ended up having the quick service shop under filling it by 1 litre, making the car almost un-driveable . When I downloaded and shared the fill process for the A960E transmission, it clearly stated the following critical steps 1) fill until fluid overflows from overflow plug 2) replace the overflow plug and fill in another 1 - 2.5 litres of WS fluid ( depending on type of repair performed on the car) 3) idle the car and let ATF warm up to a certain temperature 4) loosen overflow plug and fill again until overflow. The shop merely performed to step 1 and laughed at the process I provided with the remark " we know what we are doing , have done it for years " In the end, I had the car booked into Lexus and paid a princely sum of $800 for a complete fluid change package. ( they don't sell ala carte ) and that solved the problem quick service shops can handle most but not all jobs in my opinion bro can pm me the workshop that's at Synergy@KB? The main reason people go to workshops outside is to save money, not for better service or more expertise. So when we do that, there's always a risk. Marginal buyers will do the minimum to keep their car running. Some of us will spend a lot on heavy add on, go slow bits, but later on scrimp on good servicing.. On the other hand, car enthusiasts will go to great lengths to ensure their car is running well. i beg to differ. i go outside workshops most of the time, not because i want to save money (that is only a "by the way" plus point) 1) i want the flexibility of choosing and bringing my own engine oil - most AD don't allow 2) i want to see what the mechanic is doing and in the process learn more about my car - at AD, my car is out of my sight. 3) i want to go in, service and zao. - at AD, alot of time is spent waiting. 4) i want to just pop by anytime to rectifiy some small issues. need not make appt. but shit, my workshop is at Synergy@KB lol @S4vtec, let me know the workshop name k? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfair 3rd Gear February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 If you all are willing to pay 50-200% more for the servicing, it is your choice. Nothing comes free.If i had the $$ i can get someone like a PA to send the car down for me or upkeep a mistress who will make me coffee and breakfast too.Pay the outside workshop the same amount you would pay AD and they would all remember your name and probably can get a worker to go buy food or send you to work too..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 both my previous 2 car, vios and latio, only went back for the "free" 3 times service (until 10K) and i never went back to AD anymore, service outside workshop since those cars are quite basic (1500cc NA, 4At GB.. how complex can it be right?...).. no issues at all. .. for vios, not even a bulb spoil in 3 years of ownership... really workhorse.. follow by latio, similar .. problem free... only change wear and tear items... expensive stuff like compressor, tangki, spark coil give way only from 6/7th years onward... trade in for mazda 6 at 9.5yrs old.... now, with mazda 6 (7th mth) which comes with many "electronics" stuff, i'm still thinking should i service outside or go back to AD let them chop.... those free 3times/10K service already over... for a start, the GPS already dead... still no time to go back for warranty claim... if i bought an altis instead of mz6, i will service outside after the free stuff..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 Yeah know what u mean. I came from a Volvo b4 MB and the service levels were really top notch too (except no pre-order bf). Greeted by name, dedicated SA, delicious kopi served by the nice auntie, after settle they will either call a teksi to pickup from service doorstep (incl a teksi voucher) or if not too far, they will send in their new S80s. When i first got the MB, I asked who is the assigned SA, they look at me maciam I juz got off the boat. Haha.... i guess they know the strength of the MB brand well enough not to do any frills but do not lose majority of customers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 Yeah know what u mean. I came from a Volvo b4 MB and the service levels were really top notch too (except no pre-order bf). Greeted by name, dedicated SA, delicious kopi served by the nice auntie, after settle they will either call a teksi to pickup from service doorstep (incl a teksi voucher) or if not too far, they will send in their new S80s. When i first got the MB, I asked who is the assigned SA, they look at me maciam I juz got off the boat. Haha.... haha. maybe i'm at the peasant level. I do not need Kopi or cakes or aircon waiting area. What i need is honesty and to do a good job without the need to sell my kids or mother to pay for it. too much bulls**t and lies in the industry and tell you to change this and that. And the most often heard phase is "its like that one!" can never tahan such crap. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 How did it become a Merc service discusson leh.. Anyhow, the two brands cater to different needs. Yes, some will want the frills, a butler concierge approach, and others just want to pay the least for the most service. YMMV... for the Toyota fans who want this, there's always Lexus.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 haha. maybe i'm at the peasant level. I do not need Kopi or cakes or aircon waiting area. What i need is honesty and to do a good job without the need to sell my kids or mother to pay for it. too much bulls**t and lies in the industry and tell you to change this and that. And the most often heard phase is "its like that one!" can never tahan such crap. ya. either "it's like that one" or "it's normal". like every damn fault is "normal". LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
merc280v6 6th Gear February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 (edited) Wah shiok. Blardy C&C MB service centre gotta Q up take number maciam lining up to buy chicken rice liddat (despite having oredi book online service slot) n hv to wait again to see the esteemed SA. Onli given a lousy voucher to hv a slice of cake n kopi (cannot change to peng hor as ice cube is apparently very expensive....) Then hv to stand outside on main road to ownself wave teksi. Such luxury.... Bro what cake & kopi voucher toking you? What wave teksi yourself? Hmmm ... which service center you use? Edited February 1, 2017 by merc280v6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 Wah shiok. Blardy C&C MB service centre gotta Q up take number maciam lining up to buy chicken rice liddat (despite having oredi book online service slot) n hv to wait again to see the esteemed SA. Onli given a lousy voucher to hv a slice of cake n kopi (cannot change to peng hor as ice cube is apparently very expensive....) Then hv to stand outside on main road to ownself wave teksi. Such luxury.... Mercedes benz or mercedes van ? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 Bro what cake & kopi voucher toking you? What wave teksi yourself? Hmmm ... which service center you use? ð While the Alexandra one is closer to home, I only send my car to Pandan Loop. There got a lady making coffee/tea and a full oven of Deli France Danish pastry, curry puff and sausage roll. No limit one ... can ask for more ... no need food voucher lah! Table service some more ðð¼ After leaving the car with SA, the receptionist will call for a teksi pickup ... I relax in aircon sofa comfort until teksi come. You mean the customer service between service centres got so drastic difference one meh? 𤣠MB Centre lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 The main reason people go to workshops outside is to save money, not for better service or more expertise. So when we do that, there's always a risk. Marginal buyers will do the minimum to keep their car running. Some of us will spend a lot on heavy add on, go slow bits, but later on scrimp on good servicing.. On the other hand, car enthusiasts will go to great lengths to ensure their car is running well. Disagree on outside ws is to save $$$$ At outside ws, I can use better parts, eg Brembo rotor. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 i beg to differ. i go outside workshops most of the time, not because i want to save money (that is only a "by the way" plus point) 1) i want the flexibility of choosing and bringing my own engine oil - most AD don't allow 2) i want to see what the mechanic is doing and in the process learn more about my car - at AD, my car is out of my sight. 3) i want to go in, service and zao. - at AD, alot of time is spent waiting. 4) i want to just pop by anytime to rectifiy some small issues. need not make appt. but shit, my workshop is at Synergy@KB lol @S4vtec, let me know the workshop name k? Well you are an enthusiast. I still feel the majority of owners fall into the cost savings group. And they won't be on these forums. We form a small proportion of the car owners in SG. Many look for the cheapest way to maintain their cars, doing only the minimum to keep their cars on the road. That doesn't mean it's right, and we don't represent these folks. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 Now someone might also say their workshop does a fabulous job, better than any AD one.. yes, but we can't be sure as the standard varies. Each AD has a checklist and they need to complete the checks. Good workshops also have this, and I am also keen to know such shops. But the standard varies widely.. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...