Grab/Ryde issues and charges

Yamapi

By right Uber/Grab cannot. Must have booster seat for those under 135cm. Those who accept are taking the risk, but I think so far the authorities seem to be closing one eye. Maybe regulations will change soon for private hire.

Anyway:

http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/writeup.php?AID=315

Thanks for the link, bro.

However there is still no mentioned of the seating capacity for 2 children > 1.35m, who do not require to use a booster seat. This is the grey area not well defined at the moment.

Thanks for the link, bro.

However there is still no mentioned of the seating capacity for 2 children > 1.35m, who do not require to use a booster seat. This is the grey area not well defined at the moment.

I think for those cases the kid will be treated like adult? As far as I know Uber/Grab are not the same as taxis according to LTA. Their rules are more like for private cars.

By right Uber/Grab cannot. Must have booster seat for those under 135cm. Those who accept are taking the risk, but I think so far the authorities seem to be closing one eye. Maybe regulations will change soon for private hire.

Anyway:

http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/writeup.php?AID=315

Couple of weeks ago, I called for an UberXL to carry my wife and four kids (14, 10, 6 and 6).

Wife asked me how come I ordered for XL. Told her they were 5 and plus driver will be more than carrying capacity of car

Couple of weeks ago, I called for an UberXL to carry my wife and four kids (14, 10, 6 and 6).

Wife asked me how come I ordered for XL. Told her they were 5 and plus driver will be more than carrying capacity of car

Edited by Leo72

The uber driver is taking a risk running foul of LTA / TP rule, and your wife is taking a risk on her own safety and your chikdren's safety. Ask your wife safety more important or the cost more important? So you got twin for your wife last birth?

It's not a question of cost. The price difference isn't that much between normal and XL anyway.

Wife's argument is that even with the XL, since there is no booster, she can't belt up the twins anyway. And we don't have spare boosters lying around for the rare times when she takes the kids by private hire. 

They enjoy bus and MRT more and take that more often.

The price between normal and XL is not much difference meh ?

Another issue is the supply of XL cars. Are there as many as the normal cars ? Scarli end up longer wait then might as well call for taxi....

The uber driver is taking a risk running foul of LTA / TP rule, and your wife is taking a risk on her own safety and your chikdren's safety. Also if you order uberXL but the uberXL didn't come with booster seats, the driver is also running foul of LTA / TP rule and putting your children at risk. Ask your wife safety more important or the cost more important? So you got twin for your wife last birth?

Sadly to say nowadays people always cost first.

i think they print money one, can anyhow spend   [sweatdrop]  [sweatdrop]

Uber posts US$708 million loss, finance head leaves - WSJ
01 Jun 2017 07:40AM (Updated: 01 Jun 2017 09:05AM)

REUTERS: Uber Technologies Inc's head of finance is leaving as the ride-hailing company reported continued big losses for the first quarter, the Wall Street Journal reported on Wednesday.

The ride-hailing company's first-quarter revenue was US$3.4 billion, up 18 percent from the fourth quarter, the newspaper reported. (http://on.wsj.com/2rcyDHM)

Uber's first-quarter loss, excluding employee stock compensation and other items, was US$708 million, narrower than the US$991 million reported three months earlier, the Journal said.

Uber's head of finance, Gautam Gupta, is leaving the company in July to join another startup in San Francisco, adding to an exodus of top officials, the report said.

As a private company, Uber does not report its financial results publicly but at times has confirmed figures reported in the media.

Uber was not immediately available to comment.

The ride-hailing company is in the lookout for a chief operating officer to help change the Silicon Valley firm's now-notorious "bro" culture and with the latest exit sets the stage for a second major executive search.

The company on Tuesday fired the technology whiz it had hired to lead its self-driving unit, Anthony Levandowski, after he failed to comply with a court order to hand over documents at the centre of a legal dispute between Uber and Alphabet Inc's Waymo unit.

(Reporting by Subrat Patnaik in Bengaluru; Editing by Sandra Maler and Lisa Shumaker)
Source: Reuters

Go work for LCR so when they lelong lelong can get the best deal...hahaha.

Posted this before:

Hamish Douglass, the co-founder of the Magellan Financial Group with $50 billion under management, thinks ride share service Uber has a less than 1% chance of surviving the next decade.

“It’s constantly losing money and its capital-raising strategy is a ponzi scheme,” he said at the annual Stockbrokers and Financial Advisers Conference in Sydney.

Douglass says Uber is under threat from the arrival of autonomous cars where the ride sharing business has no advantage.

“When I look at Uber … I think of it as one of the most stupid investments in history,” the Australian Financial Review reported him saying. “The probability of this business going bankrupt in a decade is 99%.”

And the competition is coming because the barriers to entry to ride-sharing are low.

“All they (Uber) do is keep increasing their private market valuation and someone always says, I’ll put some money up, because next time they raise, it’ll be at a higher price,” says Douglass.

Uber was founded in 2009 in San Francisco and now operates in 58 countries and is valued at more than $60 billion.

Read more at https://www.business...XD6Vd031fxvX.99 

It's not they print money. It's the investors' money. Why does it matter when it's not your own? Just look at TH. 

what will happen to those cars if they close shop? 

What do you think will happen?

Sadly to say nowadays people always cost first.

Its not sad, its a fact. It all rhymes. 

The price between normal and XL is not much difference meh ?

Another issue is the supply of XL cars. Are there as many as the normal cars ? Scarli end up longer wait then might as well call for taxi....

XL cars are those Honda Shuttle lor. Also got Toyota Wish and Honda Stream.

If you more than 4 pax then best is to call for XL. Please don't overload the car and get the driver into trouble.

XL cars are those Honda Shuttle lor. Also got Toyota Wish and Honda Stream.

If you more than 4 pax then best is to call for XL. Please don't overload the car and get the driver into trouble.

I took a shuttle under uberX not XL.

Those can pick up regular UberX trips also. Just that they have more options with XL as well. I also had a couple of UberX trips with Toyota Wish before.

still got many investors interested to invest......look like washing money from black to white.

When uber close shop, taxi will huat ah ! and increase price.

This is something the taxi companies are holding on for to fight back. I see that day coming [bigcry]Instead of waiting, LTA should now start to regulate what they learn from U/G and implement them for the sake of our public transportation.

If U/G booking system works for consumers, why taxi with bigger establishment cannot work?