Grab/Ryde issues and charges

Yamapi

I wondered if there are provisions in place, when during your trip, the uber or grab car experience a punctured tire or engine failure, will Uber compensate both driver and / or passenger.

What happens when passenger holding on the handle bar from the roof of the car then breaks? Who pays?

Since delay or cancel of booking attracts some form of compensation.

My friend kena before the first one. I dunno what's the official policy, but the Uber driver gave my friend money to take cab and continue the journey (informal arrangement I guess).

If passenger damages the car then the driver can make a report. Uber will then assess whose fault and demand compensation accordingly.

Just want to relate this funny experience I had when I was a Uber driver.

Got a ping from this SYT school teacher at a school in Ubi and she wanted to go back home in Chin Swee road.

When she got on at 6+pm, I chatted with her and said 'teacher nowadays work till so late, you must be tired'. She said 'oh, it's not too bad'.

Halfway thru' the trip on PIE, I looked at the rear view mirror and she was sleeping with her mouth open! 

Wah lau, all the beautiful images of her in my mind went out the window. 

[grin]

Got a ping from this SYT school teacher at a school in Ubi and she wanted to go back home in Chin Swee road.

When she got on at 6+pm, I chatted with her and said 'teacher nowadays work till so late, you must be tired'. She said 'oh, it's not too bad'.

Halfway thru' the trip on PIE, I looked at the rear view mirror and she was sleeping with her mouth open! 

[grin]

You see you wasted an opportunity.

Time and tide waits for no man.

Mouth wide open, still don't know what to do .........

calling Staff69.

You see you wasted an opportunity.

Time and tide waits for no man.

Mouth wide open, still don't know what to do .........

calling Staff69.

Ermmm, you mean I should gently push her lower jaw up to close the mouth right?  [:p]

[grin]

Camping for Part 2 after exiting PIE ....  [:p]

ps ... you still remember blk number ?

Edited by Blueray

Camping for Part 2 after exiting PIE ....  [:p]

ps ... you still remember blk number ?

No part 2.  [:(]

Dropped her off at Blk 13 York Hill. She said thanks and left.

Definitely a humble and decent SYT. Whoever marry her is a lucky guy.  [:p]

Complain back to Uber bro. See what they says.

Never try never know. Just tell them u followed the GPS.

After I replied back, Uber CS says he reviewed and found an incorrect fare adjustment was applied.

They promised to refund me next payment.

This episode makes me think Uber is quick to refund rider, and blame driver first.

If I follow gps and it's still not optimal, I dunno what is.

Although sometimes Waze does do funny route, like making you go around the roads instead of going straight and U-turn.

In which case, I always adjust and do the u-turn instead.

And sometimes it makes you do fantastic thing like coming out of Amoy St and cutting across 5 lanes of heavy traffic in Cross St to China St.

After I replied back, Uber CS says he reviewed and found an incorrect fare adjustment was applied.

This episode makes me think Uber is quick to refund rider, and blame driver first.

Although sometimes Waze does do funny route, like making you go around the roads instead of going straight and U-turn.

And sometimes it makes you do fantastic thing like coming out of Amoy St and cutting across 5 lanes of heavy traffic in Cross St to China St.

Yep bro, Uber always side with rider first.

I think it would be good if we are familiar with the road and apply the relevant sense. Sometimes the navigation system can be a bit dumb.

And I don't think Uber sides rider or driver first. They side whoever complains first, cos they must be seen to do something to address complaints. They will try to keep everyone happy.

In the end it just becomes a "complain here and there" game.

Edited by Benarsenal

recently I book an uber where it stated ETA 3min. As I was in a hurry, i monitor the location of the car and think quite reasonable. After 2min the ETA change to 5min where the car didn't move from last location. After a minutes ETA change to 8min and the car move further away!!

I cancelled the booking and book another one that came in less than 2min. Immediately feedback to uber to waive the cancellation fee.

For male Uber/Grab drivers especially late into the night. I wondered how does one protect / defend themselves from being accused of molest by their rider. Most have cameras pointing outside their vehicle. If one install a cabin camera if angle wrongly may be accused of upskirt video taping.

Its a fine line between a grabhitch or a grabitch experience. The driver and passenger or have a role to play. Actually i prefer passengers to sit at the back.

i wanted to take a Uber/Grab into Mt E yesterday to do my procedure. This was at about 945pm.

UberX price showed 30-40 dollars. Grab showed no taxis available (dun even know whether their server is working properly, I've had lot of problems with their stupid app). Wait at the road for taxi for 5mins and saw like 2-3 others waiting for cab all around.

Hahaha in the end, walked to my car and drove it down.  [laugh]