Dafansu Turbocharged April 14, 2017 Share April 14, 2017 As a uber driver, my incentives are getting impossible to get. If they keep shrinking incentives, then they will keep losing drivers. I'm not at all surprised. They just want to keep bringing in more new drivers, but they don't pay attention to keeping existing ones happy. Without the drivers and the riders, uber is NOTHING. It can have the best app in the world, but it will have no business to it. I think their marketing method is to bring in the mass via various marketing perks like incentives how cheap it is to own a car and how easy to earn extra money etc. But on the long run by keep giving incentives might not be sustainable to them. Once the hype has slowed down, a lot of drivers will suffer. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 15, 2017 Share April 15, 2017 As a uber driver, my incentives are getting impossible to get. If they keep shrinking incentives, then they will keep losing drivers. I'm not at all surprised. They just want to keep bringing in more new drivers, but they don't pay attention to keeping existing ones happy. Without the drivers and the riders, uber is NOTHING. It can have the best app in the world, but it will have no business to it. Since last year the incentives are harder to get already. I gave up trying to get it for the last month and just look for riders with high fares. Back then, still got surge pricing. My acceptance rate is 16%...haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 15, 2017 Share April 15, 2017 Since last year the incentives are harder to get already. I gave up trying to get it for the last month and just look for riders with high fares. Back then, still got surge pricing. My acceptance rate is 16%...haha. I thought they will ban drivers with low acceptance rate or something? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 15, 2017 Share April 15, 2017 (edited) I thought they will ban drivers with low acceptance rate or something?Last month already, who cares? Haha As long as every week make enough for them to deduct the rental of car and they can deduct 20% commission, who are they to complain? Ban me lo. Farked up company, always out to short change drivers. That spokesman Warren Tseng talk a lot of cock, ask him drive for a month first then talk. Talk is cheap. Sorry, it's free. Edited April 15, 2017 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic April 15, 2017 Share April 15, 2017 Uber's revenue hits US$6.5 billion in 2016, still has large loss Ride-hailing service Uber Technologies Inc generated US$6.5 billion (S$9 billion) in revenue last year and its gross bookings doubled to $20 billion, the company said on Friday. Its adjusted net loss was US$2.8 billion, excluding the operation in China it sold last year, Uber said. ..... See more at: http://news.asiaone.com/news/business/ubers-revenue-hits-us65-billion-2016-still-has-large-loss#sthash.mLY70ah2.dpuf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged April 15, 2017 Share April 15, 2017 What so difficult to taper with the decal? In the first place, don't stick it direct to the screen. Get one of those decal holders or just tape it to the screen can already. Don't even need to remove. By the way, what problem does this policy solve huh? Maybe this kind https://www.copybook.com/companies/protectaseal LTA will do the sticking. Any attempt to move it elsewhere will result the whole sticker breaking off and defaced. It'll be hong kan for the driver 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic April 15, 2017 Share April 15, 2017 Since last year the incentives are harder to get already. I gave up trying to get it for the last month and just look for riders with high fares. Back then, still got surge pricing. My acceptance rate is 16%...haha. I guess I'm passed my "honeymoon" 1st month. Now, quest incentive is quite impossible. Expect me to get 20 rides in one day for a miserable $100~$200 incentive. No need to sleep ? But how do you look for "riders with high fares" ? You can't see other than the ping coming in. Surge pricing also a bit funny. I was in Sentosa and it was high surge but they is no riders. The whole area was so quiet. Same as in Yishun, high surge but no riders. Then after a couple of minutes, the surge goes off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 15, 2017 Share April 15, 2017 I guess I'm passed my "honeymoon" 1st month. Now, quest incentive is quite impossible. Expect me to get 20 rides in one day for a miserable $100~$200 incentive. No need to sleep ? But how do you look for "riders with high fares" ? You can't see other than the ping coming in. Surge pricing also a bit funny. I was in Sentosa and it was high surge but they is no riders. The whole area was so quiet. Same as in Yishun, high surge but no riders. Then after a couple of minutes, the surge goes off. Ask us to drive like a dog lor...Knn. Last time when the ping come in, it will show 1.5x, 2.0x.. Now I am not sure bro. Those no surge I don't accept lor...haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 15, 2017 Share April 15, 2017 I guess I'm passed my "honeymoon" 1st month. Now, quest incentive is quite impossible. Expect me to get 20 rides in one day for a miserable $100~$200 incentive. No need to sleep ? But how do you look for "riders with high fares" ? You can't see other than the ping coming in. Surge pricing also a bit funny. I was in Sentosa and it was high surge but they is no riders. The whole area was so quiet. Same as in Yishun, high surge but no riders. Then after a couple of minutes, the surge goes off. Even for riders, nowadays the uber pricing also funny and confusing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged April 15, 2017 Share April 15, 2017 (edited) Ask us to drive like a dog lor...Knn. Last time when the ping come in, it will show 1.5x, 2.0x.. Now I am not sure bro. Those no surge I don't accept lor...haha. Now no more already. All rides are the same. You only know anything when you accept. And also now even if you are in surge area there's no guarantee of getting anything. You're just at the mercy of the algorithm, whether they want to give you a ride or not. It's like some programmer at HQ deciding whether he wants to give anything to you. Edited April 15, 2017 by Benarsenal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 15, 2017 Share April 15, 2017 Now no more already. All rides are the same. You only know anything when you accept. And also now even if you are in surge area there's no guarantee of getting anything. You're just at the mercy of the algorithm, whether they want to give you a ride or not. It's like some programmer at HQ deciding whether he wants to give anything to you. I see, thanks for the update. Gave up driving for them since last year March. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged April 16, 2017 Share April 16, 2017 (edited) It's quite evident from the video that when the decal sticks, it's pretty obvious. Don't think the tape to screen idea will work. Like all mods, do all that u think u can but once u get caught.. Not forgetting that usually our cars are outdoors and are checked for summons. They will also pay special attention to the decals the first few months after implementation.. Offer members of public $50 reward for reporting cars with no decals. Suddenly half the island will be enforcers. You know in China they have (at least used to have) a rule that if the hotel did not register you properly (e.g. never ask for proper ID when u check in), if you report them, the police settle the hotel bill for you. So make similar rule, if rider report the car which pick them has no decal, Uber has to offer the ride free. Edited April 16, 2017 by Ake109 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic April 16, 2017 Share April 16, 2017 Now no more already. All rides are the same. You only know anything when you accept. And also now even if you are in surge area there's no guarantee of getting anything. You're just at the mercy of the algorithm, whether they want to give you a ride or not. It's like some programmer at HQ deciding whether he wants to give anything to you. I drive to a boost area. Took a ride, but no boost. Uber say the ride originate out the boost area, so no boost, even if you're in a boost area. If you're outside a surge area, you took the ride inside the surge area, also no surge for you. They are playing games. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic April 16, 2017 Share April 16, 2017 (edited) Saw a Tribe car altis this afternoon. Driver was driving up the carpark. I was behind the car, can see the left rear tyre was totally flat, and sparks when the rim scratching the ground. I have ever driven a punctured tyre for about 1km to a petrol station repair. The condition of rim not affected and tyre was still serviceable. But what I saw this afternoon, think it was beyond serviceable. Dunno what the driver was thinking or altis was so quiet like Lexus cannot detect the flat tyre and scratching metal sound. Edited April 16, 2017 by Atonchia 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 24, 2017 Share April 24, 2017 if your business is 100% dependent on apps, please dun offend Apple and Android Uber tried to fool Apple and got caught Uber geofenced Apple’s Cupertino headquarters to hide that it was tracking iPhones by Andrew Liptak Apr 23, 2017, 6:31pm EDT Apple CEO Tim Cook threatened to have Uber’s iPhone app removed from the App Store in 2015, when it learned that the ride-sharing company had secretly found a way to identify individual iPhones, even once the app was deleted from the phone, according to The New York Times. The article is a wide-ranging profile of Uber CEO Travis Kalanick, describing him as a leader who is willing to break and bend rules to get his way, even if it means running afoul of one of the world’s largest tech firms. The attitude has led to Uber’s rapid rise, but has caused the company to run into numerous crises. The article describes how Uber faced problems with account fraud while it was trying to expand into China, and devised a way to identify an individual iPhone, even after its app had been deleted from the phone, or if the phone had been reset. The practice, called fingerprinting, is prohibited by Apple. To prevent the company from discovering the practice, Uber geofenced Apple headquarters in Cupertino, changing its code so that it would be hidden from Apple Employees. Despite their efforts, Apple discovered the activity, which led to the meeting between the two CEOs, in which Cook told Kalanick to end the practice. If Uber didn’t comply, Cook told him, Uber’s app would be removed from the App Store, a move that would be a huge blow to the ride-sharing company. According to the article, “Mr. Kalanick was shaken by Mr. Cook’s scolding, according to a person who saw him after the meeting,” and ended the practice. Uber has faced backlash on numerous fronts in recent months, following revelations that the company has used secret programs to evade government regulators and to track rival drivers, tracked customers without permission, and is being sued for allegedy stealing proprietary information regarding self-driving cars from Alphabet’s Waymo. The company has also faced criticism for its toxic workplace culture following a blog post from a former engineer, and company trips to a South Korean escort bar. This latest revelation adds to the mounting PR problem that the company faces, due in part to the leadership style of its CEO. Update: an Uber spokesperson issued a statement to The Verge, : “We absolutely do not track individual users or their location if they’ve deleted the app. As the New York Times story notes towards the very end, this is a typical way to prevent fraudsters from loading Uber onto a stolen phone, putting in a stolen credit card, taking an expensive ride and then wiping the phone—over and over again. Similar techniques are also used for detecting and blocking suspicious logins to protect our users' accounts. Being able to recognize known bad actors when they try to get back onto our network is an important security measure for both Uber and our users.” 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 27, 2017 Share April 27, 2017 (edited) Good article by Christopher Tan. Edited April 27, 2017 by Fcw75 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 27, 2017 Share April 27, 2017 Good article by Christopher Tan. What it says? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 27, 2017 Share April 27, 2017 basically nothing that we do not know. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...