Pocus Turbocharged September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 (edited) No wonder People say, Singaporeans sibei kiasu, until really boh por! Must consider until the last drop of blood and squeeze out the last drop of sweat meh? Want to compare the tyres used? Want to compare the fuel pump from which supplier? Want to compare the starter motor and radiator from which factory or not? Come on lah, its just a bloody B&B car, can afford buy, cannot afford dont buy. If like agent, buy HRV, if like high specs buy PI. Simple thing complicate so much for fark? dont be such sad bunch can? Ok i'm outta here I think it's precisely it's a B&B car that's why people compare like that. You have to understand some of the folks here are financially borderline in terms of car ownership. If may be wiser for some of them not to buy the car at all. That's why they squeezed more. The more financially sound ones are probably alreadyenjoying the rides or asked more relevant questions on maintenance and upkeeping. I also believe a huge bulk of them are first time owners and not sure what to expect (muahahaha!!) So it evidently questions like "whether SOHC or DOHC is more suitable in local roads" will appear. Not everyone treat this a 2nd car leh. Let's cut them some slack shall we. Anyway, for first time buyer and noobs, Mine advise: Go for AD, pay abit more knowing you can just drive the car into the service centre and collect it at the end of the day without worries. Pay abit more knowing that when shit happens, call the dealer for advise rather than hearing 10 advise from 10 different workshops. It's a 100k+ car for 10yrs, not a modded Nintendo Wii. Edited September 28, 2015 by Pocus ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andyngps 5th Gear September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 I think it's precisely it's a B&B car that's why people compare like that. You have to understand some of the folks here are financially borderline in terms of car ownership. If may be wiser for some of them not to buy the car at all. That's why they squeezed more. The more financially sound ones are probably alreadyenjoying the rides or asked more relevant questions on maintenance and upkeeping. I also believe a huge bulk of them are first time owners and not sure what to expect (muahahaha!!) So it evidently questions like "whether SOHC or DOHC is more suitable in local roads" will appear. Not everyone treat this a 2nd car leh. Let's cut them some slack shall we. Anyway, for first time buyer and noobs, Mine advise: Go for AD, pay abit more knowing you can just drive the car into the service centre and collect it at the end of the day without worries. Pay abit more knowing that when shit happens, call the dealer for advise rather than hearing 10 advise from 10 different workshops. It's a 100k+ car for 10yrs, not a modded Nintendo Wii. Even if its my 2nd car i treat it with respect and not to trash it around. I still take care of it like how i took care of my primary car as im a poor car lover...lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jostar888 1st Gear September 28, 2015 Share September 28, 2015 Even if its my 2nd car i treat it with respect and not to trash it around. I still take care of it like how i took care of my primary car as im a poor car lover...lol Car in sinkieland jin expensive so have to maintain for longevity. But i cant said aay the same for exterior care, washing and spending more on polishing. Life is too short to waste time on this. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melvincyc 1st Gear September 29, 2015 Share September 29, 2015 Back then, we could use 110k to buy 2 altis or 2 Lancer, or 2 vios with almost 30k change back. Even a PI Camry then less than 100k. Yeah..the vezel is BNB, but it's ain't cheap. At this price, I can buy a AMG merz or M3 in other ccountries .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andyngps 5th Gear September 29, 2015 Share September 29, 2015 Back then, we could use 110k to buy 2 altis or 2 Lancer, or 2 vios with almost 30k change back. Even a PI Camry then less than 100k. Yeah..the vezel is BNB, but it's ain't cheap. At this price, I can buy a AMG merz or M3 in other ccountries .... Agreed. Actually even camry from bm was only at 80plus k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jostar888 1st Gear September 29, 2015 Share September 29, 2015 Agreed. Actually even camry from bm was only at 80plus k. I remembered there was a time even a mazda 323 cost 120k. Downpayment was at least 30%. When they introduced 0 % Downpayment, anyone can buy a car. 2008/09 had the lowest coe. In fact the most part coe was above 40k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 29, 2015 Share September 29, 2015 Back then, we could use 110k to buy 2 altis or 2 Lancer, or 2 vios with almost 30k change back. Even a PI Camry then less than 100k. Yeah..the vezel is BNB, but it's ain't cheap. At this price, I can buy a AMG merz or M3 in other ccountries .... Back then i could buy a 4000sft semi detach for $2mil. So best to keep in todays context. A B&B car is currently priced between $100k to $130k Accept it. Becos you and i contribute to its price Anyway the point is not too much About the money. The Vezel is commoditised by now so there is no need for us to be overly kiasu and compare everything. Prepare your finances well, get the color of your choice, enjoy it, use it. Dont be a slave to it, bottomline. Sorry , becos some of you really sound like you are perhaps reality is some of you cant truly afford a car. if anyones next post is about haolian etc... Plse save it I think we are way past that by now right? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 29, 2015 Share September 29, 2015 I know i am a rough man, not very high class and speak poorly sometimes. I dont mean to offend but more to stir thoughts for the better I just feel that we are better off in this thread talking more about experiences and sharing knowledge on the car. For example, from the owners, any issues so far? Mechanical problems? What to do? What shop is vezel friendly? What are the essential add ons Group buys on upgrades and mods. Also post more pics to share the subtlr differences in each others cars. Stuff like that. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jostar888 1st Gear September 29, 2015 Share September 29, 2015 I know i am a rough man, not very high class and speak poorly sometimes. I dont mean to offend but more to stir thoughts for the better I just feel that we are better off in this thread talking more about experiences and sharing knowledge on the car. For example, from the owners, any issues so far? Mechanical problems? What to do? What shop is vezel friendly? What are the essential add ons Group buys on upgrades and mods. Also post more pics to share the subtlr differences in each others cars. Stuff like that. Agree with u. No offense taken. Stir some thoughts, pratical talk and sharing information. Not nitty gritty stuff. Some of the things i read here can be either amusing at best or downright boliao. Like u said, its a bnb car, why compare this compare that till the cow come home liao. From some post some ppl want power yet want fc yet want comfort then hiam price again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melvincyc 1st Gear September 30, 2015 Share September 30, 2015 Dun mind me saying and highlight that first, this is a PUBLIC OPEN forum. I dun think it is appropriate to suggest what is, and what is not to be discussed here. The forum caters to the mass audience of ppl of all ages, all walks of life and from different financial backgrounds. Some buyers may be very careful about their purchase and may ask tons of questions, especially the 1st time buyers. We have all done the same in one way or another in our earlier days. Anyway, I dun think its necessary to discuss or to stir thoughts whether someone should afford a car or not. Who are we to judge anyway? I know my low income colleague bought a B&B car so that he can send his aged, hardly can walk mum to the dialysis centre. And another who needs to send both parent to the hospital regularly. Perhaps for those who wants to be more specified in their discussion can join forums where they have specified topics in separate threads (General Discussion, Engine and Mods, Exterior etc), Maybe the HRV/Vezel forum? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
rstopel 1st Gear September 30, 2015 Share September 30, 2015 I know i am a rough man, not very high class and speak poorly sometimes. I dont mean to offend but more to stir thoughts for the better I just feel that we are better off in this thread talking more about experiences and sharing knowledge on the car. For example, from the owners, any issues so far? Mechanical problems? What to do? What shop is vezel friendly? What are the essential add ons Group buys on upgrades and mods. Also post more pics to share the subtlr differences in each others cars. Stuff like that. Bro, just side track a bit, but are you the cigar loving guy who posted quite a bit in SBF some 10 years back? That time you drove Volvo S80 I believe. Had some discussions with you on investment stuff etc.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tolecnal 2nd Gear September 30, 2015 Share September 30, 2015 I think it's precisely it's a B&B car that's why people compare like that. You have to understand some of the folks here are financially borderline in terms of car ownership. If may be wiser for some of them not to buy the car at all. That's why they squeezed more. The more financially sound ones are probably alreadyenjoying the rides or asked more relevant questions on maintenance and upkeeping. I also believe a huge bulk of them are first time owners and not sure what to expect (muahahaha!!) So it evidently questions like "whether SOHC or DOHC is more suitable in local roads" will appear. Not everyone treat this a 2nd car leh. Let's cut them some slack shall we. Anyway, for first time buyer and noobs, Mine advise: Go for AD, pay abit more knowing you can just drive the car into the service centre and collect it at the end of the day without worries. Pay abit more knowing that when shit happens, call the dealer for advise rather than hearing 10 advise from 10 different workshops. It's a 100k+ car for 10yrs, not a modded Nintendo Wii. Well said! Wanna praise but unable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dino-Lee 4th Gear September 30, 2015 Share September 30, 2015 Chill guys, this is only a car forum for all to read, gain knowledge and enjoy. I have been driving my Vezel for 10 months now and still feel shiok every time I start the car. True that sound insulation can be better but we cannot have everything, right? I have been slowly poisoning my car and these latest were fixed a couple of weeks ago. Because my driving is 70/30 highway/city, I am also getting around 16km/l (meter reading). To all the new owners, congrats and get poison! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged September 30, 2015 Share September 30, 2015 wah, the lit reflectors and chrome side-skirt garnish are chio. your rim also quite fierce, but the chrome color a bit strange looking? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged September 30, 2015 Share September 30, 2015 Dun mind me saying and highlight that first, this is a PUBLIC OPEN forum. I dun think it is appropriate to suggest what is, and what is not to be discussed here. But hor, by posting this suggestion that ppl should NOT suggest what should and should not be discussed, you are already suggesting that we should not suggest things to say and not say, i.e. you are going against your own suggestion. Haha, no offence. Anyway i think what T2 mean is to try to keep to the topic about this car (vezel) and not go off course into other topics which is a very fair suggestion. Yes as a whole, MCF is a public and open FORUM but within the FORUM, there are many THREADS and we should try to keep to it. The "2nd Sept COE exercise" thread has now currently gone off course into the age-old argument of cars being a need or want which has been discussed till death. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akszaksz 2nd Gear September 30, 2015 Share September 30, 2015 (edited) But hor, by posting this suggestion that ppl should NOT suggest what should and should not be discussed, you are already suggesting that we should not suggest things to say and not say, i.e. you are going against your own suggestion. Haha, no offence. Bro is this a suggestionception? 1 sentence got 5 'suggest' appear Sounds like rapping anyway, haha Edited September 30, 2015 by Akszaksz 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jayden_koh Neutral Newbie September 30, 2015 Share September 30, 2015 Need some advice from you guys,will the side airbags of the driver and front passengers seats be deactivated if I change it to leather seats?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imac 5th Gear September 30, 2015 Share September 30, 2015 (edited) Chill guys, this is only a car forum for all to read, gain knowledge and enjoy. I have been driving my Vezel for 10 months now and still feel shiok every time I start the car. True that sound insulation can be better but we cannot have everything, right? I have been slowly poisoning my car and these latest were fixed a couple of weeks ago. Because my driving is 70/30 highway/city, I am also getting around 16km/l (meter reading). To all the new owners, congrats and get poison! Agreed with you that Vezel's sound insulation is bad... You can try installing sound insulation for the whole car...should be less than $1.5k. Edited September 30, 2015 by Imac ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...