Cybertech 4th Gear May 17, 2014 Share May 17, 2014 1. If you don't intend to claim your own insurance, then don't have to report to insurance company. As such repair won't cost too much, so it is not worth to claim insurance, or else it will affect your NCD next insurance renewal . 2. You should make police report although the police investigator won't do any investigation for such cases. But in case the car park got CCTV or someone later provided the incident video taken from their car, then this police report may help for the follow up. Anyway, recently my back bumper was hit by a coach in Msia when driving back to Spore, The coach behind couldn't stop in time. As the Msia's driver refused to settle privately, we then make a police report in Msia and then I reported to my insurance company. But didn't take action as the claim process with Msia vehicle is very hopeless one (due to Msia's insurance don't bother with Spore's law), so I can only bite the bullet. Most important thing about my bumper is that, after parked my car under hot sun (it is damn hot this few weeks) for a day, the dented area on the bumper recovered by itself (maybe 95%), so I've save the money for repair. MAybe you can try the same, or use boil water or hot air blower to DIY. Cheers. Seriously even the round reverse sensor also go back to normal? Power of the sun. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Optramagnum 6th Gear May 17, 2014 Share May 17, 2014 If hit kerb sure can feel sth right as the dent so deep though it is plastic , do your guys thk this one still can repair or need to change the whole bumper Yours look exactly as mine after I hit against my front bumper turning along Frankel Ave. . In the end, I went a repair shop besides Singapore Post office, to bend back to original state 45mins job, $50. but the paint, you gotta DIY, sand paper and spray black.. If hit kerb sure can feel sth right as the dent so deep though it is plastic , do your guys thk this one still can repair or need to change the whole bumper Yours look exactly as mine after I hit against my front bumper while turning along Frankel Ave. . In the end, I went a repair shop besides Singapore Post office, to bend it back to original state 45mins job, $50. but the paint, you gotta DIY, sand paper and spray black.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cumzilla 4th Gear May 17, 2014 Share May 17, 2014 topic is misleading, tot u GOING TO (gonna) hit and run 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
lausai88 Hypersonic May 17, 2014 Share May 17, 2014 See how people repair the bumper, DIY: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I5pQa_8oA3w Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderman302 2nd Gear May 17, 2014 Share May 17, 2014 Who use folderable trolley? Aneh car washer? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 17, 2014 Share May 17, 2014 Who use folderable trolley? Aneh car washer? My area the newspaper dispatch guy use it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eric76 1st Gear May 17, 2014 Author Share May 17, 2014 (edited) ok guys noted all comments, be it hit by others or hit by myself on kerb which really i can't recall anything , i thk it's now time for me to find a place to fix it back. any bro have good recomd on shops doing this except one bro's solar method, mine is bm e60 tks Edited May 17, 2014 by Eric76 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 17, 2014 Share May 17, 2014 Just my luck to be a victim of a hit-and-run incident yesterday afternoon at one HDB carpark. Damage is at the right side lower bumper, it's quite serious i thk as the dent is deep, but look not cause by a normal car cos it can't be hit so low, anyone got idea what type of vehicle can cause such damage and before i do anything to my car want to check with all here as got no such experience bf: 1) do I need to report it to the insurance, but i got no infor on the one caused the accident, will i be penalised by the insurance company for failing to report the incident? 2) do I need to make a police report? Appreciate advice from forum bros and comments please. ya looks like u maybe hit the kerb or something? Lower bumper very soft. U hit also dun know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 17, 2014 Share May 17, 2014 If hit kerb sure can feel sth right as the dent so deep though it is plastic , do your guys thk this one still can repair or need to change the whole bumper If internal no damage sud b bale to heat it n pull back. Good bodyshop sud b able to do but they wil likely ask u to change new bumper then they can make more $$$. Claim insurance can claim >$1K even. And maybe they wil repair n claim for a new bumper. Many ws survive by being crooks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
M3oso 1st Gear May 17, 2014 Share May 17, 2014 You mean the heat from the sun did help the partial self-recovery of the dents / scratches? This is possible as i have seen workshop using heat-treatments to 'flatten' about 70% of minor dents on plastic bumpers. Yes, the hot sun help to recover the dent (95%), but not scratches. Some paint did came off but since my car is black and so as the bumper, I didn't even bother to use touch up paint. That's time was about 12:30pm, and I was about to try out the boiling water (thought of using hot air blower if boiling water failed) but surprise to see the sun's power. the reserve sensor also working as per normal. Love my Mazda3. haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged May 17, 2014 Share May 17, 2014 Just my luck to be a victim of a hit-and-run incident yesterday afternoon at one HDB carpark. Damage is at the right side lower bumper, it's quite serious i thk as the dent is deep, but look not cause by a normal car cos it can't be hit so low, anyone got idea what type of vehicle can cause such damage and before i do anything to my car want to check with all here as got no such experience bf: 1) do I need to report it to the insurance, but i got no infor on the one caused the accident, will i be penalised by the insurance company for failing to report the incident? 2) do I need to make a police report? Appreciate advice from forum bros and comments please. If only bumper affected, $100 is good enough to do repair and respray back to original glory. Any good re-spray shop should be able to do that. If you want to claim insurance, the excess could already be more than that. Also have to worry about loading though no fault of yours. Think just forget it lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
M3oso 1st Gear May 17, 2014 Share May 17, 2014 See how people repair the bumper, DIY: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I5pQa_8oA3w Can try this method too, if want to save money and got time to DIY, no harm trying. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged May 17, 2014 Share May 17, 2014 If internal no damage sud b bale to heat it n pull back. Good bodyshop sud b able to do but they wil likely ask u to change new bumper then they can make more $$$. Claim insurance can claim >$1K even. And maybe they wil repair n claim for a new bumper. Many ws survive by being crooks. Not surprised some workshops make their money this way Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slyison 4th Gear May 17, 2014 Share May 17, 2014 I suspect that the dent could be caused by foldable trolley as what other people mentioned and also .... The metal trolley which garang guni man uses to carry newspaper. Let me picture it out for you to visualize : ............. Garang guni man was happily pushing his trolley on a hdb open air car park, pressing his horn looking for potential customer. Suddenly, there's this aunty or uncle shouted for him from one of the block and he thought it was something good and valuable so that's why he " SA GA LIAO" and make a sharp drift of his trolley but but but..... Accident happened! His trolley Kena your car. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lotr 6th Gear May 17, 2014 Share May 17, 2014 For a moment I thought TS is going to do something rash, then realised that he meant "kenna hit and run" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TJX Turbocharged May 18, 2014 Share May 18, 2014 (edited) Will have to be intentional to cause such damage. Usual trolley hit won't cause such dents.. Looks more like damage by kerb.. Edited May 18, 2014 by TJX Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
bhslee 1st Gear May 18, 2014 Share May 18, 2014 (edited) Agreed with the others, it doesn't look like a hit & run. More like hitting a sharp kerb because of the deep dent. Edited May 18, 2014 by bhslee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
lausai88 Hypersonic May 18, 2014 Share May 18, 2014 I suspect that the dent could be caused by foldable trolley as what other people mentioned and also .... The metal trolley which garang guni man uses to carry newspaper. Let me picture it out for you to visualize : ............. Garang guni man was happily pushing his trolley on a hdb open air car park, pressing his horn looking for potential customer. Suddenly, there's this aunty or uncle shouted for him from one of the block and he thought it was something good and valuable so that's why he " SA GA LIAO" and make a sharp drift of his trolley but but but..... Accident happened! His trolley Kena your car. I never see garang guni in car park, they normally park at loading/unloading bay below my hdb block park below hdb block no need to pay parking... I think is likely to be a goondu use trolley to move some big item goods to his van and ....blah blah blah ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...