Young workers want it all!

Jman888

Frankly speaking, I still see a lot of 'long hours' in office because must let boss see 'hardworking' by

1) Waiting for spouse to pick up

2) Surfing net

3) Talking cock among colleagues

4) Just staring into the roof

etc.

So much for long hours.

You all don't want work-life balan meh? and what's wrong with "wishing" not to work on weekends? I think that's totally normal.

Article is shit and trying to push a certain agenda. Writer is also beh kan loser who believes he will get a lousier appraisal if he doesn't work OT.

Edited by Mockngbrd

I think young ppl want work-life-balance and rewards all at once. Whether they work hard or not I dunno but highly unlikely. They can keep dreaming. LoL...

With this kinda mentality, just how far can they go?

If their Father got Money, no need to dream ... 😂

Its crude, but its real ...

last time, the way I do it is that for snr. managers and above, they all have flexi hours or they can WFH.

I don't quite care what time they come or go home as long they get their KPI done.

For the lower levels, especially those earning OTs, those group definitely have to work according to the hours. But we allow time off for these staff if they have some personal issues.

My advise for people who wants work-life balance .....well, work hard and get to the top group. At the top, working hours are longer, but you have more flexibility in managing your own time.

my take is different people set different bar to define what is work-life balance to them.

for someone who is contented with a $3k salary and spends his evenings and weekends with his kids has achieved it by his own definitions.

often than not, people like to associate work life balance with a good paying job, cushy life and lots of time to pursue one's own interests.

perhaps this is what skewed the whole discussion and many failed to appreciate the simplicity of things.

Work life balance is a fancy term coined either by HR consultants or HR practitioners to justify their useless existence :ph34r:

Work is work. If work is not completed on time then it better be done even if late into the night. If work is completed ahead of time then good job and go skive or watch a movie during office hours. The balance can come when one rests in the coffin.

From another old man’s point of view:

We should encourage the youngsters to work hard, be devoted to their work, focus on building career and bright future is waiting for them, pay not high never mind, you will get increment if you work very hard …. blar blar blar …….

If the youngster don’t work very hard with lower pay, how can the older folks enjoy good work-life balance with higher pay?

To all old men/women, let’s all say the same thing to the youngsters.

Edited by LoneCatFish

Work Life Balance is a Luxury, not everyone can afford in Singapore ... Period! [nod]

Yes, the majority of local middle class (the sandwiched class) have got bills to pay ... condo, car(s), parking, ERP, fuel, credit cards, children's education and daily expenses, parental upkeep, marketing, meals out, recreation, vacations, etc etc ...

The majority middle class cannot sustain work-life balance ... something has to give - diminished career prospects, lost opportunity on promotions, significant increments - it's your call.

Well, I see it in such a way. If company is paying me X amount for the hours. I will put in X amount of hours. Unless you are paying me more for the effort. Of coz, at the same time, I do what I am suppose to do.

Why so? Because I want my own time after the X hrs to do my own stuff. Probably try other jobs. Which can bring in more income.

It is like, your employer paying you 3k to work 24/7.. while you can get 2.8k for just working 9-5 outside. I would rather go for the 2.8k for 9-5 and have time after work to do whatever I want.

However, I don't advocate bumming around..

As our world shrinks with technology and interaction between east and west increases, more people are realising that their counterparts overseas seem to be enjoying a better "work/life balance" and arguably a better quality of life than us here in Singapore/Asia.

It's natural to compare, especially with Singapore always being touted as some kind of modern miracle state. Even if I don't bring it up, I often get asked about life and the costs of living in singapore by my clients and counterparts overseas. Sometimes this happens when chatting on the phone and often when I'm travelling for marketing trips or conferences.

Like that lor.

Edited by Myxilplix

As our world shrinks with technology and interaction between east and west increases, more people are realising that their counterparts overseas seem to be enjoying a better "work/life balance" and arguably a better quality of life than us here in Singapore/Asia.

It's natural to compare, especially with Singapore always being touted as some kind of modern miracle state. Even if I don't bring it up, I often get asked about life and the costs of living in singapore by my clients and counterparts overseas. Sometimes this happens when chatting on the phone and often when I'm travelling for marketing trips or conferences.

Like that lor.

One guy say don't aim high

The other guy say work bery hard and aim high

Who to believe? [grin]

You all don't want work-life balan meh? and what's wrong with "wishing" not to work on weekends? I think that's totally normal.

Article is shit and trying to push a certain agenda. Writer is also beh kan loser who believes he will get a lousier appraisal if he doesn't work OT.

+ 5 ( sorry, I cum this morning until dry already )

wanting and able to get one is different.

I agree with what the writer says that when we were young, taking our first job, we fully expected it to be some kind of boot camp, where you have to take some "abuse" in terms of assignments and working hours, so to speak.

It's the same if you switch jobs. Being the new guy means you have to do extra to prove yourself all over again.

I also agree with the writer, having experienced it myself, that many interviewees profess their "passion" for the job, but apparently their passion don't extend beyond 9 to 5! [laugh] Then don't say passion lah...

My own view is that we should put in the hours and effort expected to get the job done, BUT senior management must also ensure that the extra hours are not squandered on unnecessary things!

Edited by Sosaria

I want work-life balance, cos I need to unwind and enjoy family life after office hours.

Only finished enjoying, then will I have the urge to work hard, so as to look forward to the next relax time.

Employers are starting to take notice of this, and have slowly but surely adjusting their priority on this.

We see some companies providing flexi hours so as to accomodate this.

It's beneficial to both parties, employer and employees :)

often than not, people like to associate work life balance with a good paying job, cushy life and lots of time to pursue one's own interests.

So true. Can only choose two! Unless family is damn rich...

I want work-life balance, cos I need to unwind and enjoy family life after office hours.

Only finished enjoying, then will I have the urge to work hard, so as to look forward to the next relax time.

I think it's also important for mental health.

Being a father, for example, tells you that you have a more important role in life than just a company man. You may flop a little on the job and come under pressure, etc. at times, but knowing you have done well in other area, e.g. family, convinces you that you're basically capable.

That's why I see some young singles obsess over small small things at work and feel stressed, because maybe they don't have that family outlet for their mental well-being, and the work is like their whole life.

The only reason this article is published is to f-up new graduates and psycho ppl into thinking FT is cheaper better fasterer and we should welcome them with open arms.

Every generation will also have new grads with dreamy expectations or lazy bums. It's not a new thing. Don't pretend your generation dun have. There will always be those who can and those who cannot make it. Every generation will also always say that the new gen. is lazier or lousier than them. Just that back then, nobody really gave a shiet.

I have met both good and bad interns, the lazy ones, the ASKs as well as the hardworking ones and those with initiative and motivation. IMO, this published article has a hidden agenda and the writer is a dinosaur just trying to feel better about himself and his worklife inbalance.

Edited by Mockngbrd

- For many Gen Y, it is all too apparent, that they are competing with FT who are CBF & here to hit & run.

- the pay increment is not equitable to the additional workload that comes w a promotion just like how incomes has not kept up with rising cost of living.

- Gen Y is also aware that CBF FT(s) are paying down jobs. Eg, a foreign bank pays an India Indian FT 3.6-4k for an AVP (supervisory) position. This position actually yields 5-7k /mth w/o paydown previously.

- In some SME(s), upon promotion, the staff gets a 10% increment from her existing 2k. However, JD increase by 30%.

- Under such a gloomy, pessimistic & depressing job market, it is not surprising that many Gen Y (possibly Gen Z too in the future) decided to choose balance instead as it is a variable that is more within their control.

- From the author's article, I infer of it as a case of Sin progressing from a 3rd world menial/blue collared to a 3rd world white collared city.