Joseph22 Turbocharged May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 (edited) if everyone pay is now 6K then the bench mark will become 12k then enough. survey wise confirm will say need higher salary. who here will go for lower salary one raise hand. Edited May 30, 2014 by Joseph22 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 :o This is SO shocking! I had all along believe our minister that $1,000 is already very happy in Singapore. You just broke my heart depends on what u eat mah, roti in hawker centre or restaurant 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 oiiiiii! U all stop asking increase salary can anot! Ours wont go up for sure but miw sure can up their own salary! Later they up their salary double then u all know! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 Sian. My salary very far away from that figure. :( I'm not exactly spending on a lot of things (given very few commitments, so spend mostly on eating, utilities and petrol) and I already at best only break even each month. If got any sudden big expense then I can definitely feel the impact. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 When I look at the 'no 6k no talk' title, I thought it was the counter offer for the 5k PM compensation. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 depends on what u eat mah, roti in hawker centre or restaurant I think $1k can only eat loti at home loh. Don't even think can go hawker centre. Still want to buy HDB, take MRT/bus to work, pay utility, pay phone bill? Take care of children? School? Books? Uniforms? I think already [dizzy] Nothing left for food Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 When I look at the 'no 6k no talk' title, I thought it was the counter offer for the 5k PM compensation. Great minds think alike $6K in Singapore for 1 head is good enough to save up for retirement. Anything less than that is going to be difficult to retire in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 So it's our fault again for hearing wrongly? [laugh] We are supposed to just say "yes", not even to listen.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 Smlj survey...only 612 people surveyed? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 its not about how much you earn. its about how much you spend. I know 1 guy used to earn about $30K a month but end up not enough. worst, he lose the job and can't cope as his monthly expenses too high already. But it does make a difference. Your spending is limit by how much you earn, provided you don't exceed. Anyway, most importantly, one must be contented :) With contentment, you find happiness :) Nowadays, for married ones, $ goes to maintenance of marriage, eg buying gifts to wifey to make her happy :) For those having kids, $ goes to maintenance of kids, well, self explanatory For those who still single, $ goes to pampering of yourself, eg going spa, fine dining ;) At the end of day, we can't bring $ to coffin upon death, so would be good to contribute back to society, like giving to less forunate ppl :) Help them, give them back their smile :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged May 31, 2014 Share May 31, 2014 But it does make a difference. Your spending is limit by how much you earn, provided you don't exceed. Anyway, most importantly, one must be contented :) With contentment, you find happiness :) Nowadays, for married ones, $ goes to maintenance of marriage, eg buying gifts to wifey to make her happy :) For those having kids, $ goes to maintenance of kids, well, self explanatory For those who still single, $ goes to pampering of yourself, eg going spa, fine dining ;) At the end of day, we can't bring $ to coffin upon death, so would be good to contribute back to society, like giving to less forunate ppl :) Help them, give them back their smile :) agreed. this is how his problem started too as some costs once committed, its very difficult to withdrawn......and I am not referring to big cars or house. Eg, During his hay days, he took care of both his own family (including parents) and his in-laws family. when the big package is gone, he was really struggling to provide the basic needs for both the families. so the lesson learn for me, what if such things happened to me? what is my plan B? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deividz 5th Gear May 31, 2014 Share May 31, 2014 What is one's definition of $6000? Entrepreneur earning $6000 x 12 months = $72000 Salaried worker earning $4500 x 12 months plus 3 months bonus (13th & Performance) plus 12% cpf from employer = $75600 for annual tax declaration. I am blessed that my wife works at a hospital. No need to pay for kids delivery, pay 30% for kids medical bills and subsidised rate for childcare. So is it $6000 gross, net or inclusive of all benefits. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear May 31, 2014 Share May 31, 2014 You earning $5999? Very sad :(There are so many ppl earning less than $6k :(And I am one of them :(I have no choice but to accept my current salary, as I can't leave job at middle-aged.Well, life still go on, just be contented... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear May 31, 2014 Share May 31, 2014 (edited) Ideal salary for living in Singapore is S$6,000: survey http://www.jobstreet.com.sg/career-resources/80-singaporeans-happy-salary/ I wonder what is the survey population size and who the survey respondents are? Single, or household income basis. IMHO, to live the 'basic' Singapore dream, a cluster family of abt 5-6 pax in household, with say, 2-3 school-going children (including domestic helper) should have at least $30,000 p.m. salary, if not higher. Cos realistically, anything less than that level will mean something else will need to be compromised. Just being real, in the context of Singapore today. Edited May 31, 2014 by Astrid 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 31, 2014 Share May 31, 2014 Minister forgets to mention: Praising gahmen will uplift a person's spirit and make him feel happy, money cant buy such happiness. Seriously, whichever minister said $1k is enough, he should do it by example!! y blast tharman for saying that someone with 1k income can buy a 2 room flat? Yes have to be sibei discplined and yes really stretching it. May not have money for emergencies. Super ulu location but the fact is that it's attainable. We all know it takes money to survive in SG. What you want? To use taxpayers money to buy the lower income a flat without paying at all?? Free flat lelong if u are a cleaner, security guard or odd job worker? It's like saying as if in the 80s or 90s (before FT influx and the rise of materialism in SG), there weren't pple living in rental flats? By all means, blast the idiot who says u need to have X amount salary to talk with dignity. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged May 31, 2014 Share May 31, 2014 (edited) I wonder what is the survey population size and who the survey respondents are? Single, or household income basis. IMHO, to live the 'basic' Singapore dream, a cluster family of abt 5-6 pax in household, with say. 2-3 school-going children) should have at least $30,000 p.m. salary, if not higher. Cannot be la...I see many malay families 2-3 kids one shot living in small 3-rm hdb also can somehow make end meets by being as"basic" as possible. Don't think they got 30k pm. Ideal salary for living in Singapore is S$6,000: survey http://www.jobstreet.com.sg/career-resources/80-singaporeans-happy-salary/ The link not working... Can update the link or was is asked to be taken down by someone? Edited May 31, 2014 by Icedbs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic May 31, 2014 Share May 31, 2014 You earning $5999? Hahahhah :) If it's so near, I would just round off to $6k lah Good enought for me and my family to live a decent life in a 3-rm HDB flat :) That's as of now lor ;) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear May 31, 2014 Share May 31, 2014 Cannot be la...I see many malay families 2-3 kids one shot living in small 3-rm hdb also can somehow make end meets by being as"basic" as possible. Don't think they got 30k pm. Living the basic SINGAPORE DREAM. Not living a basic life style. Different. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...