Blackyv Turbocharged May 31, 2014 Share May 31, 2014 Which service sector this falls under? What sector? They are student Ok,.... Come in with a student pass status hor... Hehehe ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 31, 2014 Share May 31, 2014 Haaa bro no wonder 6k not enough, parking 1 month $600.... where u park??? Golden mile car park? ? If piaking one month $600 can understand.... kekeke I also interested to find out which carpark charges $600 a month for parking............. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged May 31, 2014 Share May 31, 2014 few mths ago. my ex boss called me. just hit 40+ and he got retrenched. bullied by ang moh GM. can't find a job with 2 young kids. ask me for help. i did what i could to recommend him for a job in my coy. but somehow can't even get interview! after sending a few times, with no reply, and i keep seeing them hire some ah neh fresh grad from dunno which godforsaken uni. i suspect the new ah neh HR is not forwarding his CVs to the HOD. so the next time i saw a suitable job, i just forward his CV to the HOD directly and just cc the hr. and sure enough. he got the interview immediately. So bros. for those of you with FT HRs. Pls take note if you try to refer anyone in. Go directly to the HOD. i don't know if my story is representative ... or just a coincidence.... but just a reminder to all frenz here. This ah neh bs happens in VN too. When SCB set up in Ho Chi Minh in 2007,country head ah neh, consumer head ah neh, almost all the consumer HOD also ah neh. They are really talented... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 31, 2014 Share May 31, 2014 This ah neh bs happens in VN too. When SCB set up in Ho Chi Minh in 2007,country head ah neh, consumer head ah neh, almost all the consumer HOD also ah neh. They are really talented... haiz. really leh. all the while we're so damm scared of ah tiong... end up it's the ah nehs that is taking over the world Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged May 31, 2014 Share May 31, 2014 What sector? They are student Ok,.... Come in with a student pass status hor... Hehehe LOL.... (but i run out of point to praise you) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 31, 2014 Share May 31, 2014 LOL.... (but i run out of point to praise you) i help you praise him. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic May 31, 2014 Share May 31, 2014 http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/05/31/national-action-plan-on-ageing-age-discrimination/ National action plan on ageing? Age discrimination? May 31st, 2014 | Author: Contributions We refer to the article “Govt plan to engage public on ageing issues” (Straits Times, May 28). National action plan on aging? It states that “A NATIONAL action plan to help Singapore’s seniors’ live meaningful lives as they age is expected to be ready by next year. This “coherent national agenda” will include helping them learn new things, getting the workplace to be more welcoming, and making it easier for them to live with their families. These measures will not just allow seniors to remain active, but also to have “their days filled with excitement”, said Health Minister Gan Kim Yong yesterday. This “Nation for all Ages” action plan he announced in Parliament will also cover employment, volunteerism, urban infrastructure, health care, retirement adequacy and research into ageing. Mr Gan, who also chairs the Ministerial Committee on Ageing, said there will be a series of public consultations, starting from the middle of this year, to find out what people want. He said: “Ageing is a conversation that involves all of us – our aspirations for our silver years, how we hope to live our life to the fullest, how we wish to relate to peers and younger persons, and the kind of society we wish to live in when we age.” What Mr Gan wants to see is a shift in people’s mind sets – “from worrying about the challenges that come from ageing to celebrating longevity.” Ignoring the obvious, important issues? In our view, the most obvious, important and urgent issue that many of our senior citizens face, is the large number of elderly Singaporeans working for very low pay. So many low-pay elderly workers? For example, how many of the more than 110,000 full-time local workers earning less than $1,000 (before the employee CPF contribution) are elderly Singaporeans? We believe it may be the majority of them. Anecdotally, just look at the cleaners at the food courts and hawker centres, toilets, road sweepers, airport trolley handlers, etc. Real wages drop from age 37 to 20% less than when they were age 25? Also, according to the study on retirement adequacy (“ADEQUACY OF SINGAPORE’S CENTRAL PROVIDENT FUND PAYOUTS:INCOME REPLACEMENT RATES OF ENTRANT WORKERS”) commissioned by the Government in November 2012 – the graph on page 6 – the real growth in wages at the 30th percentile of income male workers – starts to decline from around age 37 until by age 65 – they are earning about 20% less than what they were getting at age 25! ADEQUACY OF SINGAPORE’S CENTRAL PROVIDENT FUND PAYOUTS: INCOME REPLACEMENT RATES OF ENTRANT WORKERS. November 2012 Widespread age discrimination? Are there any countries in the world that has such “pathetic” statistics indicating age discrimination in jobs and pay? The reality vs the rhetoric? Instead of nice sounding words like “from one of worry to one of celebration” and “to have their days filled with excitement” – shouldn’t we be at least talking about or addressing the widespread age discrimination in Singapore that may have lead to so many elderly Singaporeans working very long hours for very low pay? This may be especially so now that we are mooting the extension of re-employment from age 65 to 67. Still singing the same song? In this connection, perhaps as long as we keep saying things like “‘S’poreans first’ hiring not good for economy in the long term” (Straits Times, May 28) in Parliament – the continuing influx of cheap foreign labour may continue to depress the wages of elderly Singaporeans who may not have seen any real growth in wages for almost 15 years now, other than ever longer working hours. SY Lee and Leong Sze Hian http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/05/31/national-action-plan-on-ageing-age-discrimination/http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/05/31/national-action-plan-on-ageing-age-discrimination/ 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear June 1, 2014 Share June 1, 2014 $200 for maggi can have very good ones liao lor..............eat maggi every meal..........less than $50 settle liao..... [laugh] Now some instant noodles very expensive. Especially the Japanese ones, about $9-11 for pack of 5. Those cup ones with meat inside can go up to $5+. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 1, 2014 Share June 1, 2014 Now some instant noodles very expensive. Especially the Japanese ones, about $9-11 for pack of 5. Those cup ones with meat inside can go up to $5+. Which brand Instant noodle with 'meat' inside?? and the meat can last for a year? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 1, 2014 Share June 1, 2014 Which brand Instant noodle with 'meat' inside?? and the meat can last for a year? Just buy normal instant noodles and can food lor, army bunk style Cheaper than what noodle with meat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic June 1, 2014 Share June 1, 2014 Just buy normal instant noodles and can food lor, army bunk style Cheaper than what noodle with meat Maybe army can sell their field pack ration? Earn $ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear June 1, 2014 Share June 1, 2014 Which brand Instant noodle with 'meat' inside?? and the meat can last for a year? I think some Taiwan brands. It comes in like a vaccum pack. I've seen those with clams inside as well. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic June 1, 2014 Share June 1, 2014 http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/05/31/national-action-plan-on-ageing-age-discrimination/ National action plan on ageing? Age discrimination? May 31st, 2014 | Author: Contributions We refer to the article Govt plan to engage public on ageing issues (Straits Times, May 28). National action plan on aging? It states that A NATIONAL action plan to help Singapores seniors live meaningful lives as they age is expected to be ready by next year. This coherent national agenda will include helping them learn new things, getting the workplace to be more welcoming, and making it easier for them to live with their families. These measures will not just allow seniors to remain active, but also to have their days filled with excitement, said Health Minister Gan Kim Yong yesterday. This Nation for all Ages action plan he announced in Parliament will also cover employment, volunteerism, urban infrastructure, health care, retirement adequacy and research into ageing. Mr Gan, who also chairs the Ministerial Committee on Ageing, said there will be a series of public consultations, starting from the middle of this year, to find out what people want. He said: Ageing is a conversation that involves all of us our aspirations for our silver years, how we hope to live our life to the fullest, how we wish to relate to peers and younger persons, and the kind of society we wish to live in when we age. What Mr Gan wants to see is a shift in peoples mind sets from worrying about the challenges that come from ageing to celebrating longevity. Ignoring the obvious, important issues? In our view, the most obvious, important and urgent issue that many of our senior citizens face, is the large number of elderly Singaporeans working for very low pay. So many low-pay elderly workers? For example, how many of the more than 110,000 full-time local workers earning less than $1,000 (before the employee CPF contribution) are elderly Singaporeans? We believe it may be the majority of them. Anecdotally, just look at the cleaners at the food courts and hawker centres, toilets, road sweepers, airport trolley handlers, etc. Real wages drop from age 37 to 20% less than when they were age 25? Also, according to the study on retirement adequacy (ADEQUACY OF SINGAPORES CENTRAL PROVIDENT FUND PAYOUTS: INCOME REPLACEMENT RATES OF ENTRANT WORKERS) commissioned by the Government in November 2012 the graph on page 6 the real growth in wages at the 30th percentile of income male workers starts to decline from around age 37 until by age 65 they are earning about 20% less than what they were getting at age 25! ADEQUACY OF SINGAPORES CENTRAL PROVIDENT FUND PAYOUTS: INCOME REPLACEMENT RATES OF ENTRANT WORKERS. November 2012 Widespread age discrimination? Are there any countries in the world that has such pathetic statistics indicating age discrimination in jobs and pay? The reality vs the rhetoric? Instead of nice sounding words like from one of worry to one of celebration and to have their days filled with excitement shouldnt we be at least talking about or addressing the widespread age discrimination in Singapore that may have lead to so many elderly Singaporeans working very long hours for very low pay? This may be especially so now that we are mooting the extension of re-employment from age 65 to 67. Still singing the same song? In this connection, perhaps as long as we keep saying things like Sporeans first hiring not good for economy in the long term (Straits Times, May 28) in Parliament the continuing influx of cheap foreign labour may continue to depress the wages of elderly Singaporeans who may not have seen any real growth in wages for almost 15 years now, other than ever longer working hours. SY Lee and Leong Sze Hian http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/05/31/national-action-plan-on-ageing-age-discrimination/http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/05/31/national-action-plan-on-ageing-age-discrimination/ Agreed on all the points !!! Just wondering why all of us can see where the problems are, and yet they aren't able to? Engaging the public? Maybe they engage their own elites ppl ba? Or even their town councils or those with BBM, PBM, etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 1, 2014 Share June 1, 2014 whether 6k salary tot 6k per month pay tax also not enuf menage yoru expectations. That is the key point. Know how you want to live and to discern carefully between the wants and needs. There must be a fine balance and we have discussed this ad nauseum, between living like a begger and having millions in the bank or living like Throttle2, and having zilch in the bank. Of course Throttle2 sets the benchmark standard of royal living 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 1, 2014 Share June 1, 2014 Maybe army can sell their field pack ration? Earn $ My favorite was noodles and 肉丁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged June 1, 2014 Share June 1, 2014 (edited) its not about how much you earn. its about how much you spend. I know 1 guy used to earn about $30K a month but end up not enough. worst, he lose the job and can't cope as his monthly expenses too high already. wah.. he every night let gals sing his microphone 20x? Edited June 1, 2014 by Chucky2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear June 1, 2014 Share June 1, 2014 I think some Taiwan brands. It comes in like a vaccum pack. I've seen those with clams inside as well. 一度赞!$3+ a pack..exp than makan here lol 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear June 1, 2014 Share June 1, 2014 Look, like it or not, inflation has definitely outpaced wages. 10 years ago HDB flat costs $200k, and chicken rice can be had for $2 or so. Now $3 chicken rice is common, and flat prices are through the roof. Yet salaries have not kept up. Very simple things like that is why we are complaining, cos we can actually see and experience it. u see,the problem is when alot people making alot profit from their hdb they happily keep quiet when comparing their salary to the pace of raising price of hdb,people make noise now,hdb price slow down,another group will start to make noise never ending..lol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...