Tjkbeluga 5th Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Just want to point out that Lee Jia Wei actually did the 'After my career I went back to my country' thingy. You win some you lose some. Gahmen needs to be proactive to spur things rather than just lay back and continue wishing. In 4D term, got buydo got hope, no buydo no hope. I'm not saying that you are but it's easy to just sit back and criticize. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Just want to point out that Lee Jia Wei actually did the 'After my career I went back to my country' thingy. she did try to settle down and engaged with Ronald Susilo, but thing doesn't work out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dojon 1st Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 You win some you lose some. Gahmen needs to be proactive to spur things rather than just lay back and continue wishing. In 4D term, got buydo got hope, no buydo no hope. I'm not saying that you are but it's easy to just sit back and criticize. Hmm... not against gahmen policy in this aspect... thus, not criticizing, Just pointing out that recent history does shows worst things did happened. Didn't want to explode this topic though, would be endless... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 she did try to settle down and engaged with Ronald Susilo, but thing doesn't work out. Chicken & duck can never settle down together. One can't speak English or Indonesian and the other can't spaek mandarin.... Language barrier ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 it was a very exciting match, cheering and sweatdrop at the same time, happy that they can hold on till the last point I was making a lot of loud noise in my Neighbourhood during the Deuce... Long time didn't feel this patriotic to my country already feels damn shiok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Well, I got a 5-points dislikes for this post by and from an anonymous person. No big deal for me for this dislike but what really irked me is the private comment from this anonymous person that follow: "not pure Singaporean team... 100% import... what to proud of?" How naive this thinking is, and how shallow is the comment! This team is playing for Singapore, they are wearing our Singapore Flag on their team jersey, they are sacrificing their daily routine lives with their time, sweat and blood, representing our Singapore, and yet there is an ungrateful ppl who hide behind a monitor trying to sweep away the contributions by our players, with a statement "what to proud of?"! Hey, where are your ancestors from? Singapore? If not, China? Malaysia? India? Are you really a true breed Singaporean? Anyway, if by your comment "not pure Singapore team", then are you implying that we should not be sending our players for competition? So, no more table tennis, no more badminton, no more swimming, no more soccer, etc etc? What a comment, you have huh?! The TT ladies team comprises of Isabelle Li. Your statement of "100% import" is wrong, and "what to proud of?" swept away all the efforts (blood, sweat, time, etc) put in by Isabelle Li, if by your definition, a Singaporean. How ungrateful and ignorant your comment is! Let us give credit to the players when due, pls ! If want to talk abt politics, pls direct at the garmen who implement this recruitment of foreign players policy, though almost all other countries in the world are doing so in various sports (soccer, table tennis, etc etc), and yet they are having support from their countrymen. So, why aren't we? Lastly, I am still happy and proud of our players, whether winning or losing :)) And I am emotionally charged and proud when I hear our national anthem played out in the sport arena, when our players fought hard for the awards :)) Oh yes, if anyone want to dislike this post of mine or any post from me, pls be a Man and reply with your MCF name, and not be like a mouse hidden in the dark with an anonymous name. Thank you I support you and your comments bro!! Well said and yes I too support the National team and whoever wears the flag on their chest. Proud to hear Majullah Singapura in Glasgow!! Owe you a five!! 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Just want to point out that Lee Jia Wei actually did the 'After my career I went back to my country' thingy. The Chinese got a saying," using one bamboo stick to knock over a boat of people". Haters must luv to use her as a classic example. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 The Chinese got a saying," using one bamboo stick to knock over a boat of people". Haters must luv to use her as a classic example. She wasn't paid to do nothing...she did her national service and decided to go back, I would do the same too if I were a foreign athlete because my family is still there...wonder why ppl like to say until like betrayal liddat 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 she did try to settle down and engaged with Ronald Susilo, but thing doesn't work out. Yah it's a pity her departure back to China with husband n kid gave many a more bitter aftertaste toward the others still playing for Sgp team. And will probably have more reasons to condemn n say : All eat enough will go back home country one.Actually govt shd cultivate an industry here for sports so that retiring sportsmen can nurture the future sportsmen. But our system just dangle a carrot for a medal like our ONE OFF Gst rebate vouchers like that. However being Sporeans, bread and butter issues are more important. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged July 29, 2014 Author Share July 29, 2014 Aiyoh don't shoot dislike in this thread le. CWG is called The Friendly Games 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Starting tonight, Table Tennis individual matches begin for both man and woman. Hope to see all Singaporean finals for the man & woman team .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Starting tonight, Table Tennis individual matches begin for both man and woman. Hope to see all Singaporean finals for the man & woman team .... just like malaysia took all the gold for badminton Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Starting tonight, Table Tennis individual matches begin for both man and woman. Hope to see all Singaporean finals for the man & woman team .... I am rooting for our guys and gals :)) These past evenings from 5pm - 9pm, have always stay tuned to okto & channel U, to see the Live actions ! Really shiok and exciting :) The chinese commentators in Channel U really made the whole watching so exciting ! Damned proud of our players ! Come On, and jia you :)) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rm2s 5th Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Yah it's a pity her departure back to China with husband n kid gave many a more bitter aftertaste toward the others still playing for Sgp team. And will probably have more reasons to condemn n say : All eat enough will go back home country one. Actually govt shd cultivate an industry here for sports so that retiring sportsmen can nurture the future sportsmen. But our system just dangle a carrot for a medal like our ONE OFF Gst rebate vouchers like that. However being Sporeans, bread and butter issues are more important. Our current women's team head coach was former SG player, now turned coach and she was from China. When the former coach wanted to leave and she was asked to take over, she obliged and I was very glad. She has done a very good job so far. A lot of the support came from the President of STTA also. I recall during the Olympic in Sydney, she was in semi-finals and I cheered till sore throat. It was such an exciting game. Go Team Singapore !! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 She wasn't paid to do nothing...she did her national service and decided to go back, I would do the same too if I were a foreign athlete because my family is still there...wonder why ppl like to say until like betrayal liddat Jealous mah. I will suppork whoever represents our country be it foreign or domestic. I can only give my support, I no talent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rm2s 5th Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 I am rooting for our guys and gals :)) These past evenings from 5pm - 9pm, have always stay tuned to okto & channel U, to see the Live actions ! Really shiok and exciting :) The chinese commentators in Channel U really made the whole watching so exciting ! Damned proud of our players ! Come On, and jia you :)) Me too. I watched the men table tennis semi-finals till 2 am. Didn't feel tired at all. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 The Chinese got a saying," using one bamboo stick to knock over a boat of people". Haters must luv to use her as a classic example. haters also forget there is an exact opposite example of Ms Jing Jun Hong, who came from China, took up citizenship, played her heart out for her new country and for the first time (I think it was Olympics 2008), nearly got a Bronze medal in TT. I joined many folks from my office to catch the game live during office hours then. And then she retired, and was married to another national team player somewhere along the line, and still continues to contribute to the national TT scene as coach of the woman's team. I wonder why detractors never use that example. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Actually IMO, for those of us complaining on the FT scheme for sports, my take is that our system is to be blamed esp for the guys! I feel that for those guys talented enough to compete at World stage ie Schooling now and perhaps Fandi in the old days, there should be a method of exempting or perhaps deferring their NS by a neutral selection committee so that they could perform at the World stage during their peak years. 2 years in NS would rob them of valuable momentum, training and exposure. It's already tough without the NS/Studies distractions, let's not make it tougher for them and only then can we emerge as a true Sporting nation!! ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...