Baal Supersonic July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 What's the point of having ex-FT winning your gold medals ? It's not yours, but merely for boasting sake. If you talk about boosting sports to world class level, what you need is world class coach to kick butt of the local athletes. If they make it, we can be truly proud. Otherwise, ex-FT sportmen are just easy come, easy go. Yes, this is similar to FT coming here for a few years, get a PME job, leverage on the x-change rates, then : a) return home to settle. b) use the record of having worked in Singapore before to assist with their application to settle/work in a 1st world country. In this case, the medals are imo just for academic purposes. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 Oh looks like she's not at the C'wealth games. Pity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 (edited) In my humble opinion, the idea of getting FT to represent S'pore in Sports is to raise the standards of locals ie exposing them to the higher standards, discipline, mental strength, professionalism and even diet required of world class athletes. S'pore should not lose sight of this objective so locals should be encouraged to match/learn from the FTs. In theory, this should work if all serious sportsmen and the relevant sports associations pull in the same direction. Trouble is some associations get carried away with the success/medals and for the sake of glory use the FT to achieve these goals. This would then be mercenary and will bring no pride to our country. TT and Badminton has slowly inducted locals into the team ie Isabelle, Clarence, Derek and Vannessa. This should be the way forward but abit too slow for my liking. That said not easy to find local talents willing to sacrifice for the sake of Sports. In summary, let's not lose focus on our objectives and to support the FT whilst ensuring more locals benefit from playing with them! Majullah Singapura!!! Balanced POV I am just rather curious why the association did not include Isabelle Li and Pang Xue Jie in the women's and men's teams respectively, after giving them the experience at previous SEA, Asian and Commonwealth level competitions. . Edited July 30, 2014 by Toothiewabbit 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 (edited) Yes, this is similar to FT coming here for a few years, get a PME job, leverage on the x-change rates, then : a) return home to settle. b) use the record of having worked in Singapore before to assist with their application to settle/work in a 1st world country. In this case, the medals are imo just for academic purposes. Yes, many of them use SG as a stepping stone. They are not interested in planting their roots here, NS liability, etc. Who would ? Edited July 30, 2014 by Kb27 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 yes. but somehow they end up marginalising the locals. every foreigner in the first eleven is one lesser singaporeans. how many singaporean born are in the ping pong team? how many are even in the B team? what development are you talking about? i agree man. they are only here for the money. just see for yourself. even for those successful retired athletes, how many stay in sg after retirement to coach and groom young singaporeans? all go back to china. They are not marginalising the locals, in fact, ask ourselves, are our locals good enough ?! We have Isabelle Li in women TT, this is in fact proof that we do accept locals, but they must be good enough. Else, any tom, tick and harry can go into TT, or for that matter, any other sport. Do you want to see our "haven't good enough locals" competing? We cannot say they are here for money, if they are not good enough, they won't win any medals and thus won't win any money too. If by your argument, can we also say that locals are in for the money too?! And how many of our locals actually stayed back to coach and groom our young singaporeans? Not many, right? I really wonder why some of the same ppl that criticise these foreign borned players actually adore Abbas Saad when we won the Malaysia Cup?! Anyway, a nice write-up here below, and I won't comment anymore on this issue liao However, I respect all comments here, for only with all these comments, then can we move forward as a Nation :) ------------------------------------------------------- [Every time our paddlers win a medal, there will be a huge outcry, calling it fake, undeserving, some even call it a national shame. Their reason is simple, if we don't have the talent good enough to win medals at major games, t...hen forget about the medal. Such argument makes sense, because people don't really care we didn't win in so many games our athletics have been participating in. But then when it comes to Tao Li, there isn't as much outcry. She was from Wuhan. Some said she worked very hard - but the same can be said for the paddlers. Some said she looks and speaks like a Singaporean - so, the line is drawn whether they look like us, talk like us? How about Abbas Saad. He was born a Lebanese, moved to Australia and played for the national team, before becoming a Singapore citizen. Clearly an imported sports talent. Anyone unhappy with him? I'm sure people were cheering for him when he scored a hat-trick against Pahang to win us the 1994 Malaysia Cup. Do you say he was different because he wasn't motivated by money, like the paddlers? To that, I would like to remind all Abbas was convicted of match-fixing, and banned for 14 years. So, not for money? I brought his case up to remind us that we should wear the same set of spectacles when criticising the paddlers. So I can't help but conclude that people are upset with the paddlers because China produced so many talents in this particular sport that they made it looked so easy to win medals, and thus so easy to win the incentive money. People see China not producing many talented swimmers, so deduced that Tao Li must have become a talent only because she is trained here, which we know it is not true as she is trained in the USA. I am sure our country leaders also wish we have more local bred sports talents, but since we have clearly a shortage, we welcome them as long as they are willing to don our uniform and win us medals. It is the second best option we have, and we shouldn't opt out of this. It is a much better situation than to invest in them, and yet they win us nothing, right? And mere talent will not bring medal. Talent, hardwork, sacrifice, training, opportunity, incentives, all play a part. So, since the paddlers delivered, let's be more gracious in congratulating them, or at least, not whacking fellow Singaporeans who like the Pioneer Generation who came here seeking a better life but end up building a better life for everyone.] 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 Is our rower Saiyidah Aisyah taking part this time? Do they have rowing events? She is one person I'm really proud of. Righteous Glory Rower Saiyidah Aisyah on winning gold for Singapore: This means the world to me By Justin Ong Posts By Justin Ong | Fit To Post Sports – Tue, Dec 17, 2013 12:32 PM SGT Singapore rower Saiyidah Aisyah celebrates the nation's first-ever individual gold at the SEA Games. (Singapore … REPORTING FROM MYANMAR She was so fatigued that she had to be helped into a chair, but there was no rest for Singapore rower Saiyidah Aisyah. Barely a moment later, she found herself whisked onto the podium, gold medal strung around her neck and standing to attention as “Majulah Singapura” blared from the speakers. Aisyah stands on the champion's podium as the Singapore national anthem is played. (Photo courtesy of the SSC) The 25-year-old sobbed openly as she sang the national anthem with heart swelling and legs wobbling. Not from the pain of a grueling 2,000m row in the lightweight single sculls event, but the joy of securing Singapore’s first ever individual gold in rowing at the Southeast Asia Games. Singapore last earned a gold medal in 1997 through the female doubles pair of Lim Tech Yung and Toong Hui Lynn. Aisyah’s race saw her pull across the finish line in 8:08:94s, after a thrilling last quarter where she put in a late surge to catch, and then overtake, the leading pack. “This means the world to me,” she told reporters as she choked back tears. “I’m really, really proud to represent my country and win gold.” Belief Aisyah embraces Singapore rowing president Nicholas Ee as she emerges victorious from the women's 2km single sculls … For Aisyah to be overwhelmed was perfectly understandable. As Singapore’s only competitive female rower and its sole representative at the Games, her gold provided sweet victory over trying circumstances. A three-time bronze medallist since the 2009 Games, Aisyah has been funding her own training and competition expenses throughout the year, and has practiced solo since the 2011 edition. The student development manager at Ngee Ann Polytechnic recently won silver at the Southeast Asian rowing championships in May. She then moved to Sydney to train under coach Alan Bennett for the past three months, and clocked regular races on the local rowing circuit. The conditions in Sydney also helped brace her for the strong crosswinds and choppy waters at the Ngalike Dam in Myanmar. With her preparations in place and race times steadily improving, Aisyah arrived at the SEA Games filled with quiet confidence. “I knew that no matter what, all the hard work had already been done earlier,” she told Yahoo Singapore. “In the end, it was belief that won the race.” Racing her own race Aisyah pumps her fist into the air after winning the female lightweight 2km single scull rowing race at the SEA … Lining up at the start next to Aisyah were two Olympians in the form of Thailand’s Phuttharaksa Neegree and Myanmar’s Shwe Zin Latt. Although she surprised herself by taking the lead at the start, the Singaporean was soon trailing Phuttharaksa, Shwe and Indonesia’s Maryam Makdalena Damoi by the midpoint of the course. Still, she focused on racing her own race, and when she spotted the Thai rower losing steam at the 1500m mark, Aisyah kicked into gear and went hard for the finish. She eventually powered into the lead with 250m to go and wound up two seconds clear of silver-medallist Maryam. Fighting on Aisyah celebrates her victory in the female lightweight 2km single sculls rowing race at the SEA Games in Myanmar. … After the dust settles around her historic win, Aisyah will return to a country where the status of her sport remains uncertain. According to Singapore Rowing Association president Nicholas Ee, he was told that when the Sports Hub opens in April 2014, there would be no room for rowing, despite an aquatic centre dedicated to sister sports like kayaking and dragon-boating. Nevertheless, Aisyah is determined to row on, with the August Asian Games in Korea her next target. After that, it’s the 2015 Singapore SEA Games – provided the sport is included. Last week, the Singapore National Olympic Council excluded rowing from its list of 30 confirmed sports for the SEA Games. Nearly every other nation in the region had appealed for its inclusion, but SNOC pointed to the lack of a 2,000m course in Singapore as the prevailing factor. “Rowing must be included in 2015!” she exclaimed, emotions running high right after her race. “It’s an Olympic sport… and here I’ve proven that hard work can achieve success (in the sport).” Aisyah later admitted that knowing she might not compete in 2015 had “definitely” fired her up for Tuesday’s race. But in the end, her big goal remains the Olympics: a dream she constantly wears close to her heart in the shape of a pendant bearing the Olympic rings. She confessed that she’d bought it off eBay – yet it is clearly a trinket that carries far more value to her. When asked – in jest – if she would only take it off when she reached the Olympics, Aisyah nodded yes, dead serious in her affirmation; and clearly dead set on achieving what she wants. They are not marginalising the locals, in fact, ask ourselves, are our locals good enough ?! We have Isabelle Li in women TT, this is in fact proof that we do accept locals, but they must be good enough. Else, any tom, tick and harry can go into TT, or for that matter, any other sport. Do you want to see our "haven't good enough locals" competing? We cannot say they are here for money, if they are not good enough, they won't win any medals and thus won't win any money too. If by your argument, can we also say that locals are in for the money too?! And how many of our locals actually stayed back to coach and groom our young singaporeans? Not many, right? I really wonder why some of the same ppl that criticise these foreign borned players actually adore Abbas Saad when we won the Malaysia Cup?! Anyway, a nice write-up here below, and I won't comment anymore on this issue liao However, I respect all comments here, for only with all these comments, then can we move forward as a Nation :) ------------------------------------------------------- [Every time our paddlers win a medal, there will be a huge outcry, calling it fake, undeserving, some even call it a national shame. Their reason is simple, if we don't have the talent good enough to win medals at major games, t...hen forget about the medal. Such argument makes sense, because people don't really care we didn't win in so many games our athletics have been participating in. But then when it comes to Tao Li, there isn't as much outcry. She was from Wuhan. Some said she worked very hard - but the same can be said for the paddlers. Some said she looks and speaks like a Singaporean - so, the line is drawn whether they look like us, talk like us? How about Abbas Saad. He was born a Lebanese, moved to Australia and played for the national team, before becoming a Singapore citizen. Clearly an imported sports talent. Anyone unhappy with him? I'm sure people were cheering for him when he scored a hat-trick against Pahang to win us the 1994 Malaysia Cup. Do you say he was different because he wasn't motivated by money, like the paddlers? To that, I would like to remind all Abbas was convicted of match-fixing, and banned for 14 years. So, not for money? I brought his case up to remind us that we should wear the same set of spectacles when criticising the paddlers. So I can't help but conclude that people are upset with the paddlers because China produced so many talents in this particular sport that they made it looked so easy to win medals, and thus so easy to win the incentive money. People see China not producing many talented swimmers, so deduced that Tao Li must have become a talent only because she is trained here, which we know it is not true as she is trained in the USA. I am sure our country leaders also wish we have more local bred sports talents, but since we have clearly a shortage, we welcome them as long as they are willing to don our uniform and win us medals. It is the second best option we have, and we shouldn't opt out of this. It is a much better situation than to invest in them, and yet they win us nothing, right? And mere talent will not bring medal. Talent, hardwork, sacrifice, training, opportunity, incentives, all play a part. So, since the paddlers delivered, let's be more gracious in congratulating them, or at least, not whacking fellow Singaporeans who like the Pioneer Generation who came here seeking a better life but end up building a better life for everyone.] this is precisely the mercenary corporate singapore which people dislike 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 In my humble opinion, the idea of getting FT to represent S'pore in Sports is to raise the standards of locals ie exposing them to the higher standards, discipline, mental strength, professionalism and even diet required of world class athletes. S'pore should not lose sight of this objective so locals should be encouraged to match/learn from the FTs. In theory, this should work if all serious sportsmen and the relevant sports associations pull in the same direction. Trouble is some associations get carried away with the success/medals and for the sake of glory use the FT to achieve these goals. This would then be mercenary and will bring no pride to our country. TT and Badminton has slowly inducted locals into the team ie Isabelle, Clarence, Derek and Vannessa. This should be the way forward but abit too slow for my liking. That said not easy to find local talents willing to sacrifice for the sake of Sports. In summary, let's not lose focus on our objectives and to support the FT whilst ensuring more locals benefit from playing with them! Majullah Singapura!!! When Gov donates money to some sport's associations, what they just want to see are results for the money they spend. So in order to match the KPI, import talents lor ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 Balanced POV I am just rather curious why the association did not include Isabelle Li and Pang Xue Jie in the women's and men's teams respectively, after giving them the experience at previous SEA, Asian and Commonwealth level competitions. . Agreed on your curiosity and that's why I say abit too slow for my liking. Isabelle, PXJ in TT and Derek in badminton should have been blooded by now. That's why I feel some of the associations got carried by the sight of medals and dare I say it, $. Sometimes we have to take 1 step backwards to go 2 steps forward and my take is the associations should take a chance on the locals even if it means losing out on medals as the exposure would stand them in good stead for future games! Anyway that's the objective right? 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 They are not marginalising the locals, in fact, ask ourselves, are our locals good enough ?! We have Isabelle Li in women TT, this is in fact proof that we do accept locals, but they must be good enough. Else, any tom, tick and harry can go into TT, or for that matter, any other sport. Do you want to see our "haven't good enough locals" competing? We cannot say they are here for money, if they are not good enough, they won't win any medals and thus won't win any money too. If by your argument, can we also say that locals are in for the money too?! And how many of our locals actually stayed back to coach and groom our young singaporeans? Not many, right? I really wonder why some of the same ppl that criticise these foreign borned players actually adore Abbas Saad when we won the Malaysia Cup?! Anyway, a nice write-up here below, and I won't comment anymore on this issue liao However, I respect all comments here, for only with all these comments, then can we move forward as a Nation :) ------------------------------------------------------- [Every time our paddlers win a medal, there will be a huge outcry, calling it fake, undeserving, some even call it a national shame. Their reason is simple, if we don't have the talent good enough to win medals at major games, t...hen forget about the medal. Such argument makes sense, because people don't really care we didn't win in so many games our athletics have been participating in. But then when it comes to Tao Li, there isn't as much outcry. She was from Wuhan. Some said she worked very hard - but the same can be said for the paddlers. Some said she looks and speaks like a Singaporean - so, the line is drawn whether they look like us, talk like us? How about Abbas Saad. He was born a Lebanese, moved to Australia and played for the national team, before becoming a Singapore citizen. Clearly an imported sports talent. Anyone unhappy with him? I'm sure people were cheering for him when he scored a hat-trick against Pahang to win us the 1994 Malaysia Cup. Do you say he was different because he wasn't motivated by money, like the paddlers? To that, I would like to remind all Abbas was convicted of match-fixing, and banned for 14 years. So, not for money? I brought his case up to remind us that we should wear the same set of spectacles when criticising the paddlers. So I can't help but conclude that people are upset with the paddlers because China produced so many talents in this particular sport that they made it looked so easy to win medals, and thus so easy to win the incentive money. People see China not producing many talented swimmers, so deduced that Tao Li must have become a talent only because she is trained here, which we know it is not true as she is trained in the USA. I am sure our country leaders also wish we have more local bred sports talents, but since we have clearly a shortage, we welcome them as long as they are willing to don our uniform and win us medals. It is the second best option we have, and we shouldn't opt out of this. It is a much better situation than to invest in them, and yet they win us nothing, right? And mere talent will not bring medal. Talent, hardwork, sacrifice, training, opportunity, incentives, all play a part. So, since the paddlers delivered, let's be more gracious in congratulating them, or at least, not whacking fellow Singaporeans who like the Pioneer Generation who came here seeking a better life but end up building a better life for everyone.] Forgibe me.. I not veli the smart.. how does playing TT and seeking better life end up building better life for everyone? all the choices and reasons I see are all about politics. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 Watched the mountain bike X-country cycling last night! Wah the Kiwis damn good. Snatched 1st and 2nd spot with the last burst of fire! Good dah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 Righteous Glory Want to praise but cannot. Posted something similar last year. There's glory in losing as the true blue Singapoream as long as he/she has put in his/her best. http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2692423-in-search-of-true-blue-singaporean-glory/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ExigeTan 3rd Gear July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 The swimmers and shooters will be coming home tomorrow if you would like to meet them at the airport and cheer on their success Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zakkwylde 5th Gear July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 In my humble opinion, the idea of getting FT to represent S'pore in Sports is to raise the standards of locals ie exposing them to the higher standards, discipline, mental strength, professionalism and even diet required of world class athletes. S'pore should not lose sight of this objective so locals should be encouraged to match/learn from the FTs. In theory, this should work if all serious sportsmen and the relevant sports associations pull in the same direction. Trouble is some associations get carried away with the success/medals and for the sake of glory use the FT to achieve these goals. This would then be mercenary and will bring no pride to our country. TT and Badminton has slowly inducted locals into the team ie Isabelle, Clarence, Derek and Vannessa. This should be the way forward but abit too slow for my liking. That said not easy to find local talents willing to sacrifice for the sake of Sports. In summary, let's not lose focus on our objectives and to support the FT whilst ensuring more locals benefit from playing with them! Majullah Singapura!!! Let me air my point of view. It's true to say there is no short cut to success. Let me cite an example from our neighboring country. Anyone heard of Nicol David? FYI she is the world's leading woman squash player in the world. I think she started out as a 12 year old unknown competing on the world stage. Should I say she has been around for 15 years doing what she has been doing on the world circuit. It was not all rosy for her to rise to be the no1. Only after more than 13 years she is where she is now and fully deserve to be. My point is, we should sent out locals to compete on the world stage. If we keep on competing among ourselves, we would not be progressing much. There should be some sort of a long term sponsorship from a branded company to fund our locals for training and overseas stint. Success don't come overnight. Persistence and hardworking will get you there. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 Let me air my point of view. It's true to say there is no short cut to success. Let me cite an example from our neighboring country. Anyone heard of Nicol David? FYI she is the world's leading woman squash player in the world. I think she started out as a 12 year old unknown competing on the world stage. Should I say she has been around for 15 years doing what she has been doing on the world circuit. It was not all rosy for her to rise to be the no1. Only after more than 13 years she is where she is now and fully deserve to be. My point is, we should sent out locals to compete on the world stage. If we keep on competing among ourselves, we would not be progressing much. There should be some sort of a long term sponsorship from a branded company to fund our locals for training and overseas stint. Success don't come overnight. Persistence and hardworking will get you there. Good point bro! Yes I know the story of Nicol David and she has been at top of women's squash for a few years now and Malaysia is certainly proud of her. Actually you can say the same for Lee Chong Wei as well. Whilst I agree with your point, it must be said that S'pore environment unfortunately pales in comparison with Malaysia ie with the emphasis on studies/NS for guys, hurdles are already created. I always respect those parents/children in S'pore who forked out time, money and even defer their studies in the pursuit of sporting excellence and hopefully more to follow!! Good luck to all our aspiring sportsmen!! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dojon 1st Gear July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 Isn't it ironic that when the national anthem is played.... none is capable to sing along? Comparing to the World Cup teams whom sang their lungs out when their anthem is played. Is the feeling really the same if L.Hamliton had migrated to SG recently and whenever he won a Grand Prix Majulah Singapura is played during the prize presentation ceremony ? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 i can only say, different sport need different type of training, personal timing or target some time can be achieved by technology or overcome psychological hurdle. some sports need to train with a better sparing partner, table tennis, badminton, tennis are some just of them. Either you play with a better opponent and learn from them, if not you will never be able to get into a world class league. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 i can only say, different sport need different type of training, personal timing or target some time can be achieved by technology or overcome psychological hurdle. some sports need to train with a better sparing partner, table tennis, badminton, tennis are some just of them. Either you play with a better opponent and learn from them, if not you will never be able to get into a world class league. I like to be the massager for the ladies team to tone down their body after a game ... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 I like to be the massager for the ladies team to tone down their body after a game ... they also must use PROFESSIONAL massager ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...