Coltplussport Turbocharged August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 (edited) Got lah, hk's mtr got some problems recently. http://gothamist.com/2014/07/17/ex-mta_ceo_jay_walder_leaves_hong_k.php But as a whole, i do think HK's mtr is better run than our mrt. I thought marlboro went to hk previously to learn from them (and other countries?) on the best practice, then dhoby ghaut station got high rise building atrium (now under capMall) and employ ah saw for retail/ rental income. but that's mid to end 90s I think our SMRT really didn't managed their train and track well when that saw was CEO. This new guy seems better, but we'll see la. Another thing is NEL is never too over utilize, wonder what happen this time. Edited August 22, 2014 by Coltplussport ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 sometimes, don't really understand what these schoolarsss are thinking. Or is it they have sulphurs of money to spend. So chin chin chai chai just do it to appease the citizen. just like those marshallers during the peak period. Is there really a need to have them or to create job for them? All commuters have a pairs of eyes to see the crowd level or which exit/entrance shorter quee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 It is not giving up, it is being patient, being positive. Everyone can see the problem now, so I think they are trying to solve the underlying problem so that such things don't happen again. And to go to the root of the problem takes time. I can see road widening on major expressway, more mrt station and lines to make singapore more integrated. I can see they give free travel for morning commuters, which is quite dumb, but you know they are trying to buy more time for all the upgrades. we know solve the root problem takes time. but if they have progressively update us how they intend to solve the problem with logical solutions, I believe people will not be so pissed off. I don't think you can really say people are not being patient and positive.. how to be patient and positive when we all know its getting over crowded until the public transport system is like protesting on its own already.. but on the other hand, the drive they are trying to push was to a 6.9m population where like some of us speculated that it could actually mean a 10m.. prices were driven up while maintenance was discovered to have not performed up to standard.. you tell me, when you see more shit that is still going to hit the fan.. are you going to be patient? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 we know solve the root problem takes time. but if they have progressively update us how they intend to solve the problem with logical solutions, I believe people will not be so pissed off. I don't think you can really say people are not being patient and positive.. how to be patient and positive when we all know its getting over crowded until the public transport system is like protesting on its own already.. but on the other hand, the drive they are trying to push was to a 6.9m population where like some of us speculated that it could actually mean a 10m.. prices were driven up while maintenance was discovered to have not performed up to standard.. you tell me, when you see more shit that is still going to hit the fan.. are you going to be patient? question is, can you don't be? not everyone can afford normal plates you know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 question is, can you don't be? not everyone can afford normal plates you know. lol.. that's why people all start to KPKB already mah.. if can easily find alternative, only idiots like Willy will kpkb.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 Got lah, hk's mtr got some problems recently. http://gothamist.com/2014/07/17/ex-mta_ceo_jay_walder_leaves_hong_k.php But as a whole, i do think HK's mtr is better run than our mrt. I thought marlboro went to hk previously to learn from them (and other countries?) on the best practice, then dhoby ghaut station got high rise building atrium (now under capMall) and employ ah saw for retail/ rental income. but that's mid to end 90s Perhaps he learnt only the retail part but not really interested in the maintenance dept. The last GE they always harp on track record track record... Now their track problem has really hit a record. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 The way they do this is effectively bring the crowd outside the station instead of letting too many ppl cramp up the platform. This will more or less "solve" the ppl having to wait a couple of trains in order to board at peak hour. They are no doubt the same "genius" who came up with ERP. Bringing the congestion to other roads by erecting a gantry here & there but do not solve anything. LoL... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 we know solve the root problem takes time. but if they have progressively update us how they intend to solve the problem with logical solutions, I believe people will not be so pissed off. I don't think you can really say people are not being patient and positive.. how to be patient and positive when we all know its getting over crowded until the public transport system is like protesting on its own already.. but on the other hand, the drive they are trying to push was to a 6.9m population where like some of us speculated that it could actually mean a 10m.. prices were driven up while maintenance was discovered to have not performed up to standard.. you tell me, when you see more shit that is still going to hit the fan.. are you going to be patient? I also don't like so many foreigners in singapore, I hate it when visiting Chinatown. I also hate it when all the food stall in kopi tiam is managed be foreigners who doesn't even take pride in their work. I cannot imagine what it is like if population reach 6.9million. But I know 1 thing, singapore don't have any natural resources. I don't know how to keep singapore competitive, so I trust our government to do it. For the little bit of unhappiness about train breakdown, I will just forget about it. Remember, it just train breakdown, and it happen in many countries. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 I also don't like so many foreigners in singapore, I hate it when visiting Chinatown. I also hate it when all the food stall in kopi tiam is managed be foreigners who doesn't even take pride in their work. I cannot imagine what it is like if population reach 6.9million. But I know 1 thing, singapore don't have any natural resources. I don't know how to keep singapore competitive, so I trust our government to do it. For the little bit of unhappiness about train breakdown, I will just forget about it. Remember, it just train breakdown, and it happen in many countries. every singaporean understand that we can never shut ourselves up like what fatty kim did because we depends on other countries to survive. I think we should stop discussing politics also otherwise tio warning liao :( but what I can say is it is not just a train breakdown.. you see other developed countries where the cost of living is as high as ours.. their train service got break down so often macam doing break dance meh.. pple comprain not just because breakdown.. is because breakdown liao still price hike... at the same time want to add more load to it.. when your car break down often.. you think its wise to drag the engine lagi higher? some more got other pent up frustration.. how do you expect the citizens to not be unhappy.. it is not irrational that they are unhappy was what i am trying to say. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andylkkg 4th Gear August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 Simi lai eh? TP's death squads izit??! Can be, up to your imagination. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Valx 2nd Gear August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 They should do something like the one motoring website livecam which can see expressway traffic etc ma. Seriously u walk till there red light then u need go take cab all stuck there. Imagine if u see before you walk to MRT u can just take cab at your house downstairs. I think the camera will be more efficient. http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/on_the_roads/traffic_cameras0/woodlands.html 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 every singaporean understand that we can never shut ourselves up like what fatty kim did because we depends on other countries to survive. I think we should stop discussing politics also otherwise tio warning liao :( but what I can say is it is not just a train breakdown.. you see other developed countries where the cost of living is as high as ours.. their train service got break down so often macam doing break dance meh.. pple comprain not just because breakdown.. is because breakdown liao still price hike... at the same time want to add more load to it.. when your car break down often.. you think its wise to drag the engine lagi higher? some more got other pent up frustration.. how do you expect the citizens to not be unhappy.. it is not irrational that they are unhappy was what i am trying to say. I think people get unhappy too easily. I don't see my father getting so unhappy last time when we were poor and living hand to mouth. Now our life is so much better than what my parents are getting, but people actually complain more, everything also want to voice out. Is is that your life so f**k up, or is it simply because we like to complain too much? We always say the strawberry generation are spoilt, but 1 thing I see even in a car forum(rich man), we are just as spoilt. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 everyone knows how to solve the problem. that is control population, and IMPROVE public transport system. Overhaul if necessary. problem is, are they willing to do it? Not They but We, Singaporean. If we want to do it, will we dare to do it in 2016 before they get more FT turned NC then our voting power will be diluted? Seriously, if opposition can put aside their differences and speak as One, maybe Singaporean might just take that leap of faith and rock the Ocean Liner. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocketmanic August 23, 2014 Share August 23, 2014 human traffic light make sense, keep order & safety, just that how to solve the waiting crowd time, like maybe use alternating station stop trains Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic August 23, 2014 Share August 23, 2014 i suspect they already up to their necks and cannot up the train frequency already is it a case of: shortage of driver shortage of train state of tracks i dont know but i think they really cannot up the train frequency already, thats why chut all these crap moves like enttertainer is mrt, free wifi and now this bulllshiiit red light if their bloody trains cannot take the loads, then dont let so many people in Freakin well said. I think worst than cargos, shipments can still be planned in advance. animals should be more correct , trying to board the Noah's Ark.........now then they realize the we are overpopulated, still talking about 6.9M or 10M then the MRT and buses dimension must be increase to cope with it. Not even animals. Just economic digits.......5.4/6.9/9.6. = thum drive - portable HD 500GB ......1 TB. Still cannot = ZIP the darn file...... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic August 23, 2014 Share August 23, 2014 Waiting money. Much more useful for the traffic light to be outside hawker centres, where we have a choice to eat there or not: Green : many empty tables Amber : walk around you will find an empty one Red : you have to stand beside a table waiting for others to finish their food Black: Go somewhere else! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 23, 2014 Share August 23, 2014 Waiting money. Much more useful for the traffic light to be outside hawker centres, where we have a choice to eat there or not: Green : many empty tables Amber : walk around you will find an empty one Red : you have to stand beside a table waiting for others to finish their food Black: Go somewhere else! maybe good to put up the parking system at hawker centres..........show how many empty seats..........green light means empty...............red light means occupied................ ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...