Another pedestrian jaywalk, driver tio penalise case...

Tigershark1976

I agree... "A" pillar blocking our view is something a pedestrian or non-driver will understand.

Their first thot is 'windscreen so big, driver must b blind not to c me'.

That is why whenever drivers are turning they should slow down and constantly watch out for pedestrians. I still see many drivers turning right at high speed when they see no oncoming traffic. Totally don't slow down.

Some time, i don't sympathize these drivers because drivers nowadays drive with their balls/boobs.

Speed up to traffic light junction & brake.

Full throttle on turning right junction when light turns green.

Hog lane 1 of expressway.

The more kuku users we have on the road, the more we have to be careful. Don't hesitate to use brake.

I ever horned a PRC cyclist cycling across pedestrian crossing on RED MAN. I hold my horn until he stops in the middle crossing (in front of traffic light).

Use horn extensively since our traffic is worse than 3rd world.

Not to forget the FW drivers who bring their habits/customs/behaviors from Chinese and Indian roads, plus ang mo soccer mums in SUVs, all very dangerous.

Recent years my car horn has been well used too! You honked PRC cyclist till stop, I honked AM cyclist who rode straight through a red light into my path till he stopped.

When you are driving, its your responsibility to watch out for pedestrians/any obstacles on the roads. Even if they are there illegally. This is emphasized many times in driving school as well. Even if the light is in your favour, still must proceed cautiously and look out for pedestrians.

yeah bro, but as a driver, we know that there are many times where situation is beyong our control.

Take my friend for example, he was at AMK, saw the traffic light green, just happily cruise at 60km/hr and he notice a girl at roadside on her phone.

He slow down just in case she jaywalk but the girl didnt, as he get closer, the girl finally decided to jaywalk and dash out....... even if driving at 40km/hr, how to brake in time??

In the end, the girl broken her leg and my friend tio charge... after getting lawyer to fight still kena 12 demerit point and insurance kena claim kao kao...

So? fail to keep a look out? might as well say just happen to be at the wrong place & wrong time....

I agree... "A" pillar blocking our view is something a pedestrian or non-driver will understand.

Their first thot is 'windscreen so big, driver must b blind not to c me'.

I drive old car....the pillar not so obtrusive, the same cannot be said about newer vehicles, really have to lean forward to check and eradicate all blindspots.

yeah bro, but as a driver, we know that there are many times where situation is beyong our control.

Take my friend for example, he was at AMK, saw the traffic light green, just happily cruise at 60km/hr and he notice a girl at roadside on her phone.

He slow down just in case she jaywalk but the girl didnt, as he get closer, the girl finally decided to jaywalk and dash out....... even if driving at 40km/hr, how to brake in time??

In the end, the girl broken her leg and my friend tio charge... after getting lawyer to fight still kena 12 demerit point and insurance kena claim kao kao...

So? fail to keep a look out? might as well say just happen to be at the wrong place & wrong time....

LTA might as well dun draw any pedestrian crossings on the road. Where the pedestrian stop and intend to cross automatically become the pedestrian crossing and vehicles have to stop and let them cross.

So called first world modern city with archaic laws.

Ur friend unlucky lo. I got the same thing happen to me. The guy step off the kerb just as I was driving past him. Knocked him down and he fractured his skull. End up got a warning after I showed my video proving that he stepped off just as I was passing by. Luckily I noticed him preparing to cross so already slowed down and moved alittle further away from him. Or else he would most likely be dead already.

good for you...and up again for situational awareness. AS drivers, that should be one of the top priorities, if not THE most

Always prepare to or horn when you saw someone have the intention or attempting to Jay walk when you drive closer to them, I do that always, even more so if head down on the phone. Preemptive strike.

That's why I'm very free with the horn. Don't care if people think you're a siao lang, give you a f**k face look or the finger. Just blare your horn when a pedestrian even looks like he/she might be thinking of crossing. Flash your hi beams for added effect. And don't look like a gentle guniang - arrange your face into the "gangster who's quite prepared to run your sh*t over" look. :D

Can't stop the ones who have dementia or are actually trying to commit suicide, but it could have stopped this kind of siao char bor.

This case can happen to anybody - both deceased or driver. You never know how your brain works when you're 70plus. It's a very unfortunate case. I bet the ah pek driver already traumatised enough. After 5 years suspension, I doubt he will retake his practical test.

Im wondering how to make our Gov wake up their mind. Its not the 1st time I came across such news, in fact, such case happened to 1 of my close buddy at AMK.

It obvious case that its the pedestrian fault and why driver tio charge until so jialat? Is Gov trying to encourage the pedestrian to be more careless as they are protected by law no matter what?

I undestand that the jaywalker already deceased and I shouldnt rubbing salt on others wound but I really pity the driver... he is the actual innocent fellow here.

I hope government could be more fair when handling such cases. Dont give people the wrong impresssion and continue to try their luck on the road.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

source: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/fine-driving-ban-for/1330614.html

SINGAPORE: A 77-year-old retiree was fined S$7,000 and banned from driving for five years on Tuesday (Aug 26) for causing the death of a pedestrian through his negligence.

Willie Chan York Jen pleaded guilty to causing the death of 75-year-old Mr Mohamed Ibrahim Yusoff while driving along Lorong 2 Toa Payoh at the cross junction of Lorong 6 Toa Payoh on Dec 21 last year.

At about 5.45pm that day, Chan was driving along Lorong 2 Toa Payoh and heading towards the Pan Island Expressway (PIE) on his way home after playing badminton with friends. He stopped at a red light while travelling on the four-lane road at Lorong 2 Toa Payoh. When the traffic light turned green in his favour, he proceeded to drive straight across the cross junction.

He did not see Mr Ibrahim, who began crossing the road when the red-man traffic signal was displayed. Chan failed to keep a proper lookout and Mr Ibrahim was hit by the front right corner of his car.

Mr Ibrahim sustained head injuries, and was bleeding from the mouth and became short of breath. He fell unconscious and was taken to Tan Tock Seng Hospital, where he died later that night.

Chan could have been jailed up to two years and/or fined for causing death through a negligent act.

I believe the prosecution will argue each case based on the circumstances at the time of the accident. In this case, a life is lost though not entirely the driver's fault. If it is just a normal injury, I believe the judge will mete out the appropriate punishment.

If it is a case of brazen jay-walking and supported by in-car video, the verdict will be quite different.

Pedestrians make mistakes....We don't...They survive

Pedestrians make mistakes.... We don't anticipate... They die.

Crucially.. We don't die.. Always assume the guy is xiao one..

The guilt of killing someone is more painful than 7k ah... drive safe everyone

If one avoid pedestrian and slammed into the tree and gets killed?

Pedestrain simply walk away and driver paid with his/her life.

Thanks for your sharing your experience.

Moral of the story is:

Unsure?

HORN LOUD LOUD

i am not joking. That's what i do always.

i am always extra alert when there are nearby pedestrians standing by the edge of the pavement or on the road divider. if their body language even suggest that they are trying to jaywalk, i will preemptively give not one, but several honks. i'd rather they notice me approaching and feel pissed about being honked at, than not notice me at all.

my estate is full of senior citizens. there's one ultimate old guy who will cross the traffic junction diagonally, and totally be in his own world without looking left or right. for this kind of "gone case" jaywalker, no amount of honking will work, so have to be really super alert.

Edited by Jellandross

I have also seen in few instances secondary schools kids also oblivious to the road and dare to challenge the traffic by jay walking. It is high time to start again from the schools.