E-class vs 5-series vs A5 & A6

LiuDeHua

F10 LCI will take at least 2 years from now to get changed. E is expected by 4Q 2015 in Singapore

Price-wise, all 4 about the same mah. $250K to $300K...

I heard new E-class coming out early 2015? What about BMW 5-series?

Currently I am more inclined towards 5-series.

My tips for you:

1. Test Drive all the cars (apple to apple route) and models you want. Take your wife or friend who can give feed back on Body Roll, passenger comfort etc.

2. Short list 2 and die die negotiate with ADs

3. Based on 1 and 2, choose one, buy and live happily ever after.

Easy right?

Of the 3, only E class or 5 series imo. I'm not convinced about Audi's reliability nor it's driving quality. BMW may have its fair share of reliability issues but at least it drives tremendously well and so at least worth it to take the risk on reliability. E class for comfort and better reliability than 5 series. So, eventually it all boils down to what are your priorities.

See next year, maybe new model come out

But if really want to consider must down to E class or 5 series. Wont go wrong with these two.

If prefer drive choose 5 series

If prefer reliability choose E class like me

E-Class. GS and Genesis isn't too bad either.

Genesis, drive 10 years or until it breaks down

Power xia. I agree with all your statements.

I was previously driving a 2006 BMW 523. So many small problems...

Bulbs keep blowing, then engine check light on, then transmission, then then then I sold it.

Drive was excellent though. Esp love the handling.

Previous GS was damn nice and classy for its generation.

What's not good about the E-class and Audi?

Audi design so so, doesnt excite me much unlike 5 series or E class.

Wait for new E to come out, maybe end of next year.

Ever consider XF?

You need to test it yourself. Will get very different conclusion if going for different variant.

At the entry level, 520i is probably the best choice as a balance of trim, and drive. BUT C&C can be quite aggressive in throwing discount such that e250 is also similarly priced...personally I feel the 5er is the more refined among it's peers.

At mid range level, unlilkely to go wrong with 535i or a6 3.0t. A6 has good interior.

Note that 1.8 a5sb and 2.0 a6 are fwd cvt...might as well just go for the lexus es. A5sb has pretty stiff suspension for a family car.

Really, if you don't like to spend time visiting service center or workshop, just get a camry and be done with it...this year alone, I have visited the service center 5 times with my f10. 2 for maintainance work, 3 for software/hardware fault!

Edited by Zyklon

reliability and durability wise, E-class not doubt, driveability should be BMW, but after 5 years you may be WS constant visitor, unless your backside itchy again, before 5 years you change car :D

Audi basically out of picture, a lot feedback its reliability issue, such as eat engine oil, and encountered its sibling VW DSG problem etc

reliability and durability wise, E-class not doubt, driveability should be BMW, but after 5 years you may be WS constant visitor, unless your backside itchy again, before 5 years you change car :D

Audi basically out of picture, a lot feedback its reliability issue, such as eat engine oil, and encountered its sibling VW DSG problem etc

What you just said basically was what I commonly heard well...

For Audi, beside those problems you mentioned, I would also like to add that it's looks just doesn't grow on me. It always look good in the beginning but after sometime I find I get bored after looking at it for a while...But for E class, only the advantgarde will do for me and not the exclusive which I cannot stand it as well...

new e class won't come so early, probably coming out early 2016 instead of 2015

I am considering between these few cars for purchase in 2015.

Mercedes-Benz E-Class Saloon

BMW 5 Series Sedan

Audi A6

Audi A5 Sportback

Can bros here tell me which one you'll recommend and why?

Important to me is :

1) driverability. ie, handling and power must be good.

2) as little maintenance problems as possible. I hate to go to the workshops to repair stuff, even if they are minor. Very time-wasting.

If you like a car to be "gentle", then mercedes is the car for you. Rev seldom goes over 4k unless you floor it. And if you always drive in comfort mode, you will always feel that you are 1-2 gears higher than what you want to be in. Not so good when u will to overtake or change lanes from a dead stop. You can overcome this problem by using the downshifting, but the change isn't instantaneously so expect the power surge to be abrupt.

Just my 2 cents.

Thats still above 300k

Cos u havent include renewal of coe

By the way very bo hua hor pay 300+k can only sit 2 people

What you just said basically was what I commonly heard well...

For Audi, beside those problems you mentioned, I would also like to add that it's looks just doesn't grow on me. It always look good in the beginning but after sometime I find I get bored after looking at it for a while...But for E class, only the advantgarde will do for me and not the exclusive which I cannot stand it as well...

Audi look no longer nice

Merc has been doing well in this even lexus are better than new audis

If you like a car to be "gentle", then mercedes is the car for you. Rev seldom goes over 4k unless you floor it. And if you always drive in comfort mode, you will always feel that you are 1-2 gears higher than what you want to be in. Not so good when u will to overtake or change lanes from a dead stop. You can overcome this problem by using the downshifting, but the change isn't instantaneously so expect the power surge to be abrupt.

Just my 2 cents.

This is the prob of merc, not responsive enough for hard drive.

Bmw better option if u love to play punk on the road hahah

Driving an E W212 now. Used to be driving cars with monstrous power... I think the E still has reasonably good power from a meagre 1.8 (latter FL models is 2L). I have tuned mine up with just exhaust and air intake mods. Lub an ECu and already pushing 430+ nm. Stock is 270. Lower the damn car, 20 inches rims, the stance will be very chic.

BTW, MB reliability is there. Parts are cheap and not so much electronics like the beemer.

See next year, maybe new model come out

But if really want to consider must down to E class or 5 series. Wont go wrong with these two.

If prefer drive choose 5 series

If prefer reliability choose E class like me

Genesis, drive 10 years or until it breaks down

Audi design so so, doesnt excite me much unlike 5 series or E class.

Wait for new E to come out, maybe end of next year.

Ever consider XF?

Edited by Achtung

Thats still above 300k

Cos u havent include renewal of coe

By the way very bo hua hor pay 300+k can only sit 2 people

Audi look no longer nice

Merc has been doing well in this even lexus are better than new audis

This is the prob of merc, not responsive enough for hard drive.

Bmw better option if u love to play punk on the road hahah

knn who talk about renew coe? just drive as it is la...

MCF style leh..ppl ask for opinion of car...sure ot somebody come out say y not top up a bit for this or that...i first one to type here!

knn who talk about renew coe? just drive as it is la...

MCF style leh..ppl ask for opinion of car...sure ot somebody come out say y not top up a bit for this or that...i first one to type here!

Haha might as well buy bus can fetch whole kampong lol

Driving an E W212 now. Used to be driving cars with monstrous power... I think the E still has reasonably good power from a meagre 1.8 (latter FL models is 2L). I have tuned mine up with just exhaust and air intake mods. Lub an ECu and already pushing 430+ nm. Stock is 270. Lower the damn car, 20 inches rims, the stance will be very chic.

BTW, MB reliability is there. Parts are cheap and not so much electronics like the beemer.

Urs E250?