What to do after driving through flood?

mcf

Immediately after drive thru should pump brakes to ensure are dry. If water enter cabin...I got no advice.

I think pump brakes procedure only applies for those with drum brakes. Car with full disc brakes don't need to do this as the water cannot get stuck in the discs.

Not only wheel bearings. Compressor and alternator if they are mounted low will be affected. Try very hard never to let the car swim. It just kills everything faster even if you don't see any immediate failures.

Agreed. Save that perhaps couple of hours but risk huge repair bills.. Better don't.

In SG flash floods don't last too long anyway. Put on hazard light and wait it out.

First time drove through flood. Super angry that the car behind make me go through the flood by horning me.

Now horn sound muffled prob need to send for servicing.

Can claim insurance?

First time drove through flood. Super angry that the car behind make me go through the flood by horning me.

Now horn sound muffled prob need to send for servicing.

Can claim insurance?

claim from the car that honk you

Can't see the car plate

Anyway if Nea announce that traffic is passable can claim against them if it's damaged from passing the

Wet terrains?

I think the pros drivers will avoid Bukit timah when it rains.

Can reparing a flood damaged car cost more than the car itself? For my exclusive agent it's possible they told me

For those who accidentally drive into flood (where it is too late to reverse)... just drive as fast as possible... never stop.... if your car stall, dont ever restart the engine again. Just let it be. Otherwise, your engine will up the lorry instantly.

The water went into the combustion chamber from your air intake and once you restart the engine, and your piston will try to compress the water instead of air/fuel mixture and.... kaaboom... there goes your camshaft, piston, piston arm & etc...

In such situation, your own safety is 1st prority, there are cases where driver flush by strong current during rain storm. Once you are sure that its safe, push your car to a higher ground if possible. Otherwise, run for your life 1st.

Edited by Tigershark1976

Can't see the car plate

Anyway if Nea announce that traffic is passable can claim against them if it's damaged from passing the

Wet terrains?

I think the pros drivers will avoid Bukit timah when it rains.

Can reparing a flood damaged car cost more than the car itself? For my exclusive agent it's possible they told me

Passable for what type of cars??

For those who accidentally drive into flood (where it is too late to reverse)... just drive as fast as possible... never stop.... if your car stall, dont ever restart the engine again. Just let it be. Otherwise, your engine will up the lorry instantly.

The water went into the combustion chamber from your air intake and once you restart the engine, and your piston will try to compress the water instead of air/fuel mixture and.... kaaboom... there goes your camshaft, piston, piston arm & etc...

In such situation, your own safety is 1st prority, there are cases where driver flush by strong current during rain storm. Once you are sure that its safe, push your car to a higher ground if possible. Otherwise, run for your life 1st.

Even if i m in this situation, i will sit out until water recedes.

I always slow down when going thru flood. My dad told me to speed up instead. If you stay too long in the water it will cause car to die. Just dash through. Den do the usual intermittent braking to clear out any excessive water which might be there.

In driving school the instructor told me to maintain a speed so that the water doesn't splash up over the bonnet. If manual car also can change to lower gears and rev higher so less chance of water entering through the exhaust.

den must complain about my dad liao... his 50 years of driving no use... haha... no la but i think its up to individual... for me my mentality is to get the shit out of there... I dun want risk my car dying on me

Dun dash - just a slow steady speed.

Go read 4WD forum will give you speed guide.

Be in lowest possible gear and maintain steady speed a little above idle.

On being "made" to do something you don't want by a honking car...

Good lesson - someone horning you should NEVER make you do something you are not comfortable with, no matter what it is...

whether turning left on red, going faster, entering flood waters, rushing to park, I dun care - do not ever be bullied into doing sumthing you don't wan't by a horn

Good lesson - someone horning you should NEVER make you do something you are not comfortable with, no matter what it is...

whether turning left on red, going faster, entering flood waters, rushing to park, I dun care - do not ever be bullied into doing sumthing you don't wan't by a horn

If it's a bull chasing behind with its horn, I bet you will do anything [:p]

Anyway I think of honking as a way of saying excuse me as long as it is no more than a few taps, just like when someone blocks your way while walking.

Fully agree except this:

no matter what it is...

if ambulance honk, please give way lah [bigcry]