Local gaming team forced to pull out of world tournament

ins1dious

I am a gamer (casual) so I might be biased but I think it should be treated the same as any other sport like soccer. If a parent can allow their child to play soccer the whole day then that same parent should allow their child to play computer games the whole day.

Like I mentioned, if deferment can be granted for a singer singing for his own fame then this should be treated in the same manner. It is about fairness.

Haha. You forgot South Korea!

tough to find many parents allowing kids to play soccer the whole day. but kids hiding in the room, parents may close one eye... at least the kid is at home and not getting in trouble outside, so they think.

I am all for equal treatment. if there is a chance the kids can win some money or glory, as a parent, I will tell them to do it. if they have done it and they are not up to the mark, its an experience and they can try harder or decide if they have other interests. afterall, only the best make money, the rest spend money.

deferment from exams; I will just tell the kids to do another semester if they want it so bad.

deferment from NS; this one got DB, so too bad... unless can drop citizenship if the kid wins glory and don't have to come back. just like the Alvin piano guy? or so many others...

sometimes not about fairness. its about the cost and the potential gains. if bill gates waited to start his company until after college, maybe things will be very different.

I was told by someone in the know (during my time) that commander (office/sgt) selection is based on the following:

1. Pre-enlistment computerised evaluation test (high importance)

2. SIT test

3. Peer evaluation

4. At least a silver in IPPT (of course you need to be PES A or B to get this IPPT silver in the first place)

I think those obese guys did not get a silver in their IPPT so they could not be commanders.

I think still the same now?

number 1 I don't remember doing it in my time..

Yalor. I mean, any country where gaming has actually become a TV spectacle has to have some standard.

their tourney are more exciting then Michael Jackson concert...

If u go youtube and see their star craft year end final...

I hear in football brazil also hard to beat especially on their own soil but hor......

That why I say hard to beat didn't say cannot beat mah.

Edited by Joseph22

eSports has become a mainstream event. The last International was shown live on ESPN and had over 20 million viewers on twitchTV as well.

And as T4 posted, Riot Games managed to get LoL approved as a professional sport so US visas for contenders are given the same status as pro athletes.

It's also very lucrative. Riot Games made almost a billion dollars last year by in-game purchases in LoL. Activision Blizzard made about 700m on World of Warcraft and Valve made about 300m on in-game purchases in DotA 2. There are tons of other big name multiplayer franchises I'm not going to bother listing.

Even standalone games are huge businesses. Activision Blizzard has made over 10billion on the Call of Duty series alone. This is the biggest entertainment title of all time... including movies, music etc.

Games when creating is an art;

is a competitive sport;

can be a big business.

I hope we can recognise this and encourage the youngsters here to play, create and sell big games here.

eSports has become a mainstream event. The last International was shown live on ESPN and had over 20 million viewers on twitchTV as well.

And as T4 posted, Riot Games managed to get LoL approved as a professional sport so US visas for contenders are given the same status as pro athletes.

It's also very lucrative. Riot Games made almost a billion dollars last year by in-game purchases in LoL. Activision Blizzard made about 700m on World of Warcraft and Valve made about 300m on in-game purchases in DotA 2. There are tons of other big name multiplayer franchises I'm not going to bother listing.

Even standalone games are huge businesses. Activision Blizzard has made over 10billion on the Call of Duty series alone. This is the biggest entertainment title of all time... including movies, music etc.

is a competitive sport;

can be a big business.

I hope we can recognise this and encourage the youngsters here to play, create and sell big games here.

We need to have audience.. I am willing to be audience...

is a competitive sport;

can be a big business.

I wouldn't be surprised if one day technology got so advanced that doing NS is all about controlling a drone first person shooter. LOL

Well, singing is look upon as an 500 year old art, but gaming is look upon as....well...just playing.

I think the day our society accept gaming as a professional sport, will be the day we accept gay marriages. [grin] [grin] [grin]

If in terms of investments, I will probably invest in virtual world compared with actual world.

Look at the recent companies, facebook, supercells etc generated billions worth from the virtual world.

Then look at singing, down trend industry due to virtual world when everything can be downloaded and millions lost.

We want people to think out of the box yet red-tape them.

Well, singing is look upon as an 500 year old art, but gaming is look upon as....well...just playing.

I think the day our society accept gaming as a professional sport, will be the day we accept gay marriages. [grin] [grin] [grin]

I understand what you mean. The world may recognise eSports and LGBT issues but we don't. Call it being conservative, call it being a prude or call it being a luddite.

But one is a question of morality where higher emotions come to play....

I think the legitimacy of eSports is easier to tackle even in our conservative society.

I wouldn't be surprised if one day technology got so advanced that doing NS is all about controlling a drone first person shooter. LOL

I've read before that the US army already use games like CoD for some training. Probably not a mouse and keyboard setup... I'll see if I can find that article. It's a couple of years old.

I understand what you mean. The world may recognise eSports and LGBT issues but we don't. Call it being conservative, call it being a prude or call it being a luddite.

But one is a question of morality where higher emotions come to play....

I think the legitimacy of eSports is easier to tackle even in our conservative society.

I've read before that the US army already use games like CoD for some training. Probably not a mouse and keyboard setup... I'll see if I can find that article. It's a couple of years old.

I don't think there are many country that accept gaming as a sport.

last time I can complete nintendo super mario with 1 life, also no prize!

nowadays champion can get $5M, why not? study finish poly can earn $5M or not?

I'll preface this by saying I'm not a gamer - so please bear that in mind, and do forgive me if I have got something wrong, or if my understanding is wrong.

Please also do understand, while you may not agree with me, my understanding of the issue will be by no means unique amongst people of a certain age.

To my mind, the chief concern with "gaming" would be one of definition - what constitutes international competition, and what constitutes representing your nation.

For e-games, I can't come up with (or if you prefer, do not understand) a decent definition. Is it be "class" of games (i.e FPS?) or by something else? And then beyond that, if you are talking about "strategy" games - wouldn't it be unique / specific to the game? Doesn't each MMPORG have different rules and scenarios? Different controls and set-up?

Does that mean for each different game there is a world championship? How do you then decide which are "worthy" and which aren't?

Wouldn't it shift as gaming fashions shift?

I also see "gaming" as an "intellectual sport" - the closest recognised comparison I could draw would be Chess - where there are international contests. However Chess is one game - for the category "gaming" how do you decide which is the "one" worthy game?

Should there be more than one voted worthy? How do you decide that - by audience? By prize money? by participants?

Imagine this - comparing online gaming to board games

Would you be willing to say (for the sake of the argument) that someone should be allowed to defer for

a) Monopoly championships?

b) Rock paper scissors championships?

c) Scrabble Championships?

d) International Bridge Tournament?

For physical sports it is easy - we are used to things like Soccer, Rugby, Pentathlon, etc etc

I don't have an answer for this...unfortunately

The US does

The official League of Legends eSports tournament League Championship Series has been recognized as a fully professional sport by the U.S. State Department.

For the first time, players from outside the United States can move to the U.S. under specific visas, which are provided for pro sports players coming to America to work. Previously, overseas LCS players had to go through a complicated series of applications to play professionally in the United States.

If by accept, you mean a national association in each country, I doubt it...

But some gamers wear their national flags in pride as well. IG from 2012 and Newbee from 2014 are the Chinese winners of The Internationals.

It's all about how we encourage people.

post-46412-0-66879100-1418375100_thumb.jpg

post-46412-0-46920600-1418375128_thumb.jpg

If by accept, you mean a national association in each country, I doubt it...

But some gamers wear their national flags in pride as well. IG from 2012 and Newbee from 2014 are the Chinese winners of The Internationals.

It's all about how we encourage people.

My son was involved in one when he was in sec 4 and i reminded him about his incoming exam.....he was confident about both. He said winning team will play in the world's final in an all expense paid in Japan. I wanted to object but he was really keen.....so i made a deal with him about his studies. They came in 2nd and didnt get to go Japan and after all they went through (waking up early in the morning the money and effort) what they won for 2nd prize was less than their transport to and fro to the game's venue.......hahaha! Funny thing was he did well for his N levels but got complacent for his o levels.

I am a gamer (casual) so I might be biased but I think it should be treated the same as any other sport like soccer. If a parent can allow their child to play soccer the whole day then that same parent should allow their child to play computer games the whole day.

Like I mentioned, if deferment can be granted for a singer singing for his own fame then this should be treated in the same manner. It is about fairness.

Haha. You forgot South Korea!

im also a gamer.. even with a toddler. in tow.. [sunny] sometimes tio nag.. [lipsrsealed]

the thing is play soccer whole day .. not possible to run for 90mins continuous UNLESS its virtual aka FIFA 15 type..

pah game can 24 hours.. and then for a few days continous.. no need eat, no need rest.. aka SHIT bucket..

just have a pail for your shit n pee can liao.. no need to go to work,.. basically camp in front of the tv/ monitor.. few weeks later i think your neighbours should smell some weird smell can call for ambulance liao..

like everything in this world.. moderation is key..

also later eyesight sure up lorry if keep staring at PC..

My son was involved in one when he was in sec 4 and i reminded him about his incoming exam.....he was confident about both. He said winning team will play in the world's final in an all expense paid in Japan. I wanted to object but he was really keen.....so i made a deal with him about his studies. They came in 2nd and didnt get to go Japan and after all they went through (waking up early in the morning the money and effort) what they won for 2nd prize was less than their transport to and fro to the game's venue.......hahaha! Funny thing was he did well for his N levels but got complacent for his o levels.

boys are more competitive in nature than girls .. thats why sometimes it could be a good thing to have banter and target..

I can smell you among all these pile of postings saying bad things about me.

He thought december you should be hibernating 😄😄

I was told by someone in the know (during my time) that commander (office/sgt) selection is based on the following:

1. Pre-enlistment computerised evaluation test (high importance)

2. SIT test

3. Peer evaluation

4. At least a silver in IPPT (of course you need to be PES A or B to get this IPPT silver in the first place)

I think those obese guys did not get a silver in their IPPT so they could not be commanders.

i cannot rememebr whether they got silver or not.. but #1 says it all...

just their way of segregation..

SIT test can do well too .. for certain persons.. but being obese.. erm.. odds are not in their favour

I will try to answer...

I'll preface this by saying I'm not a gamer - so please bear that in mind, and do forgive me if I have got something wrong, or if my understanding is wrong.

Please also do understand, while you may not agree with me, my understanding of the issue will be by no means unique amongst people of a certain age.

To my mind, the chief concern with "gaming" would be one of definition - what constitutes international competition, and what constitutes representing your nation.

For e-games, I can't come up with (or if you prefer, do not understand) a decent definition. Is it be "class" of games (i.e FPS?) or by something else? And then beyond that, if you are talking about "strategy" games - wouldn't it be unique / specific to the game? Doesn't each MMPORG have different rules and scenarios? Different controls and set-up? Yes, just like we have different physical sports that require specific training and skill, so will eSport games. Big difference will be like you mentioned... First Person Shootout (FPS) vs Real Time Strategy (RTS) vs Multiplayer Online Battle Arena (MOBA)

Does that mean for each different game there is a world championship? How do you then decide which are "worthy" and which aren't? ​There are plenty of physical/intellectual/skilful sports that aren't counted as Olympic/World games. Examples like Squash, chess, billiards. Or how about bowling/pool. If you can have curling for the winter sports, why not bowling for the summer? So some choices have been made because of the reach and size of each sport before they are represented in the Olympics. I would assume we can do something similar for eSports as well.

Wouldn't it shift as gaming fashions shift? Maybe. But some of these games played competitively are decades old. The engines may have been updated, but the games and the rules have largely remained the same. FPS games like Counter Strike, RTS games like Starcraft and MOBA games like League of Legends (LoL), Defence of the Ancients (DotA)

I also see "gaming" as an "intellectual sport" - the closest recognised comparison I could draw would be Chess - where there are international contests. However Chess is one game - for the category "gaming" how do you decide which is the "one" worthy game? Well... eSports as another poster mentioned, requires quick reaction and quick thinking. It is not purely intellectual. It also involves tremendous team play to win a game.

Should there be more than one voted worthy? How do you decide that - by audience? By prize money? by participants? Surely any game/sports can only be worth pursuing if its popular. So by that... it needs an audience and prize money and participation. eSports are popular as they are exciting and they are filled with drama. The recent view of 20 million for DotA and 30 million for LoL shows that it can be wildly popular

Imagine this - comparing online gaming to board games

Would you be willing to say (for the sake of the argument) that someone should be allowed to defer for

a) Monopoly championships?

b) Rock paper scissors championships?

c) Scrabble Championships?

d) International Bridge Tournament?

well you can ask.... but they aren't very popular are they. Or maybe they're not very exciting. Maybe that's why Chess isn't an Olympic event.

For physical sports it is easy - we are used to things like Soccer, Rugby, Pentathlon, etc etc

I don't have an answer for this...unfortunately

Edited by ins1dious

For e-games, I can't come up with (or if you prefer, do not understand) a decent definition. Is it be "class" of games (i.e FPS?) or by something else? And then beyond that, if you are talking about "strategy" games - wouldn't it be unique / specific to the game? Doesn't each MMPORG have different rules and scenarios? Different controls and set-up?

Does that mean for each different game there is a world championship? How do you then decide which are "worthy" and which aren't?

you are looking at it the wrong way....... many type of games = many different type of sports

every sport itself has a different championship themselves and some sports make it to the olympics or Asian games or SEA games while some don't...

so how come all sports can have different championships according to their own rules but gaming cannot have many different type of games and championship with their own rules

you defined every type of different sport i.e soccer, swimming, rugby, etc as different sports but actually they are only 1, sports... but when it comes to gaming.. you lump all into 1, gaming.

why the difference?

so how do we currently decide which sport is worthy and which aren't when they are so many different sports under 1 SPORT