Auto Tailgate/boot

bambind

BMW ... The Ultimate Driving Machine ... 😄

How come my bmw dun have? [:|] [:|] I go ask my SE [grin]

Gd qtn. U go check out OK.

So far, only new Nissan X-trail hv this function n new Kia Sorento also hv (according to website).

Nissan QQ don't hv.

Only SUV.... I dun drive one [:(]

They should make it a standard feature for all cars. SUV owners are not the only one who carry a lot of things <_<

I face the same issue as you.I simply leave the groceries on the ground to free one hand, shut the boot and then pick up the bags of groceries from the ground.

when its raining, one hand holds umbrella, the other holds grocery bags, floor/ground is wet ----> auto boot better [thumbsup]

Need to unlock the door first or it just opens when you put the foot below?

any tom dick harry also can put his foot below and open the boot?? [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop] (maybe you are standing near the car with your car key inside your pocket but talking to your friend without looking at the boot, tom may just sneak in and put his foot to open and snatch things from the boot)

Only SUV.... I dun drive one [:(]

They should make it a standard feature for all cars. SUV owners are not the only one who carry a lot of things <_<

I agree w u cos everyday got to open sesame for custom officers very sian.

Why everyday leh? You go MY everyday ah? :huh:

Electric tail gate is a very useful function cos some SUV door is set extremely high at fully open position. Not very friendly to those that are short. The newer ones can even calibrate the height of open position.

This is one of those elements I will consider for my next car.

Next people will ask for auto door/s opening!

auto sliding doors has been available sometime now when back then the Toyota Alphard hits our road those days back has the function. Now days u can find this in most new sliding model MPV.

this function is very useful if u have kids / old people. technology if available to us must not be missed out,it must have some use for it if not designer won't waste time doing it.

simple things in life now days like tv remote why want one when tv can control .....question we must ask ourself as we are moving with technology. So don't be little things in life we are all guilty in using them one way or another.

This tread is really degrading into sour grape...

Electric tailgates existed for decades...today, it is almost standard on entry level premium sedan...5series, e class, gs...

And no, don't worry, your tail gate will not open without a keyfob. It is about as dangerous as having a boot open button on your boot cover.

As for electric door on sedan...rolls royce is press button...some taxis also have auto door...

Electric tailgates existed for decades...today, it is almost standard on entry level premium sedan...5series, e class, gs...

And no, don't worry, your tail gate will not open without a keyfob. It is about as dangerous as having a boot open button on your boot cover.

As for electric door on sedan...rolls royce is press button...some taxis also have auto door...

HK taxis have auto passenger doors long long ago [grin]

anyone know where to install off market auto tailgate,like those on BMW or Merc?

What is your car model?

From my knowledge, usually this is a factory spec, not available aftermarket, so bad news ie cant be done.

This options can cost between a few hundred dollars to a few thousand dollars extra.

However, for alphard/vellfire/estima - some installers in KL (sunway area) do provide these installation. I think its around RM5K (although i doubt they will change the remote key to include this additional function).

Yes, its not essential, but personally love this function, good to have and always cause excitement to the kids. Different cars have different function. Basic one is a button on the bootlid, press to close. Most able to use the remote key or/and dashboard button to open it. Not many allow these button (on remote key and dashboard) to close it too.

Yes, not all bmw or all merc have, depends on model and specs.

Some examples

- mercedes S class S300L 2006 from C&C - not available

- mercedes S class S300L 2012 from C&C - standard.

- mercedes S class S350L 2006 - standard.

(mercedes also have lock function autoboot - ie press the button will lock the car too - provided keyless key nearby)

- E class taxi - not available

- E class (later model) - most have.

- lexus RX300 - not available

- lexus RX400h - standard

- New lexus ES - only the hybrid luxury standard, the other 3 versions none, not even those with moonroof.

- Harrier elegance - not available

- harrier Premium - standard

- Alphard from Borneo motors - none have

- Alphard/Vellfire PI - most 3.5L or 2.4 ZG edition - standard.

- Previa - only latest batches have, older from Borneo motors none, not evey keyless entry/start button

- Estima - most G model and latest Estima aeras standard.

Also yes, newer cars have power boot/auto tailgate/electric that is "handless", sensor below boot - kicking or swiping movement will activate it eg S class, BM 7, A8.

When buying new cars from Parallel import, this is one of a feature that sometimes left out, so cheaper cars from PI can be due to lower specs/or lower omv/tax.

Edited by alphard96

Not the one where you shake your foot and the boot opens 😄😄

You are suppose to kick the CAR ... If still cannot then Clap your hands and chant ... 芝麻开门 ... 😂

The newer ones can use your feet to signal under the rear bumper, and it will open automatically.

well.. it's the newer car models.. so just buy new car! Problem solved.