Recommendation for Spectacles

Atrecord

Last December, I initially wanted to use back the old frame with updated lenses but the price quoted by owndays was $90. Their one for one promo inclusive of lenses was $98. No brained liao. I heard the one for one promo is still available...I stand corrected though.

Do a comparison for here and JB first.

I went to ask about transition lens last year at a few shop in KSL mall and the cheapest was RM2500...knn. See singaporean good to makan. I wanted 1.74. 

I made at Kwong Shin for about $520.

Can you send me the ezbuy link please?

I used to go oakley service center at centennial tower to replace. But no longer working nearby, so it's a hassle as they operate only office hours.

m.ezbuy.sg/category?ezspm=4.20000000.2.0.0&keywords=Oakley%20crosslink&sortdesc=true&sortkey=Latest

I bought the $6.88 one. Around 10 days delivery.

m.ezbuy.sg/category?ezspm=4.20000000.2.0.0&keywords=Oakley%20crosslink&sortdesc=true&sortkey=Latest

I bought the $6.88 one. Around 10 days delivery.

Thanks. Can't praise you yet

Hi can pm address and price paid? Thanks in advance.

It was a shop in Aeon Bukit Indah

http://www.mog.com.my/

AEON Bukit Indah

Lot F41, 1st Floor, AEON Bukit Indah Shopping Centre,

No.8, Jalan Indah 15/2, 

Bukit Indah 81200 Johor Bahru.

Tel : 07 - 236 9909

I think I paid about RM390 or something, I remember less than S$150.

I asked local shops, they want $300.

For those who are currently wearing glasses, if you go JB, make an extra pair for yourself.

It's really "dirt cheap" there compared to here.

Edited by Kb27

i made my glasses (me and the wife) recently at thomson plaza.

Got to know the optometrist from HWZ forum. He's very young but earnest, good customer service, polite and willing to explain a bit more. He even drew diagram to show me how transitions work.

Prices i would say ok bah. Mine was $400. My wife was $300.

Mine is titanium MIJ frame + hoya lenses. 

One thing i like about him, he doesn't have this lao jiao know it all airs that i don't really like from a lot of optical shop people. I've been wearing glasses since i was 4 years old, so all kinda optometrist or optician i also see before.

It was a shop in Aeon Bukit Indah

http://www.mog.com.my/

AEON Bukit Indah

Lot F41, 1st Floor, AEON Bukit Indah Shopping Centre,

No.8, Jalan Indah 15/2, 

Bukit Indah 81200 Johor Bahru.

Tel : 07 - 236 9909

I think I paid about RM390 or something, I remember less than S$150.

I asked local shops, they want $300.

Thanks for the info.

My JB spectacles lens also Hoya, made in Japan, not some lousy cheap quality crap. [laugh]

i was considering to make in JB but i don't really have the time to go in twice in like 2 weeks or what.

[thumbsup]

You making progressive lens ? If not, usually it's 1-hour service these days ?

nope. I never go owndays, all these shops lah.

Just the traditional optical shops. They don't do the lenses in house one. It must be ordered and delivered by their supplier. About 2-3 working days.

i was considering to make in JB but i don't really have the time to go in twice in like 2 weeks or what.

[thumbsup]

I think I've posted above that I've used Vision Optic at Holiday Inn Plaza in JB.

Very good guy who takes his time with the eye tests.

Anyway I was in UK recently and decided to get an overall eye inspection by an Ophthalmologist/Optometrist .

He was very impressed by the quality of the lenses in the glasses I bought in JB and said they were higher quality than most of the lenses you could buy in the UK.

I think I've posted above that I've used Vision Optic at Holiday Inn Plaza in JB.

Very good guy who takes his time with the eye tests.

Anyway I was in UK recently and decided to get an overall eye inspection by an Ophthalmologist/Optometrist .

He was very impressed by the quality of the lenses in the glasses I bought in JB and said they were higher quality than most of the lenses you could buy in the UK.

I don't think they use Japanese lenses that much over there.

My friend lived in Uk for 1 year, he said very cheap to make glasses there. Maybe price of JB here.

Personally i just feel that MIJ frames are just better. My last 3 frames have been MIJ ones. All titanium.

And they are probably been the best frames I've ever owned. 

My friend lived in Uk for 1 year, he said very cheap to make glasses there. Maybe price of JB here.

Personally i just feel that MIJ frames are just better. My last 3 frames have been MIJ ones. All titanium.

My first post is 53 above.

The UK guy I saw said he was so jealous of the titanium frames I got from the guy in JB he wanted to buy them from me.  ha ha.

No one here went to a wholesaler shop in ubi?

Good price. Lens from Japan (not hoya)

If Without progressive +transition..can take in an hour

I used qoo10, because sometimes have $10 coupon. Did a photochromatic lens and frame for  less than $130.  This guy operates from a office in Jln Sultan complex. Lots of selection of frames. Friendly patience guy, really can take your time there. Didn't top up $55 for the real transition, coz I brought my transition lens to compare with his photochromatic, I find his photochromatic can go darker under same lighting. Rate of change, transition is only slightly faster, don't think it's worth that $55 extra.

I also tried Owndays transistion, and find it weak(not dark enough) under local bright sunlight. I return it for a refund, and the hunt for my new spec from the above qoo10.

https://www.qoo10.sg/item/LOWEST-PRICE-SPECTACLE-COLOR-CHANGING-PHOTOCHROMIC-LENS-ONLY/443707848?banner_no=1305330

Edited by Ender

i made my glasses (me and the wife) recently at thomson plaza.

Got to know the optometrist from HWZ forum. He's very young but earnest, good customer service, polite and willing to explain a bit more. He even drew diagram to show me how transitions work.

Prices i would say ok bah. Mine was $400. My wife was $300.

Mine is titanium MIJ frame + hoya lenses. 

One thing i like about him, he doesn't have this lao jiao know it all airs that i don't really like from a lot of optical shop people. I've been wearing glasses since i was 4 years old, so all kinda optometrist or optician i also see before.

Similar to you, i have been wearing glasses since 4.

As i have high astig for my left eye, i stick 1 optician.

I have been using transition lens for some years.  I don't find it dark enough for me especially in Singapore.

Now, i have prescription polarizing sunglass.

I stick to Seiko and Nikon. [laugh] Normally last more than 5 years. Current Seiko already 6 years.

Tried continental frames before, just cannot make it, no matter how they asianize their design and build.

Is this Pearl Optical shop @ PPC cheap and good? Always see droves of people (at least five) in their shop at any one time.